We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Po Boy”

Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood.
Reserve with OpenTable
Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,071 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, International, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Central and Main
Description: A local eatery with a passion for stunning seafood, creative cocktails, fine wine, and service with style. Duval's uses the freshest product the market has to offer, sourcing the finest ingredients from local fisherman and farmers. Duval's offers free patron shuttle service, food delivery, and $5 Happy Hour 7 days a week.
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Stopped in for lunch and had the Shrimp Po Boy, which was fantastic. It came with tasty fries and a cajun slaw. The staff was very friendly and Cathy did an excellent job.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuvalsFLS, Owner at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear that your Shrimp Po' Boy was "awesome"! The Po' Boys we offer at both lunch and dinner have been a crowd favorite since we opened. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Cathy. She is a new member on our staff and we are very happy that she joined our team.

Regards,

Josh Halbrucker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

856 - 860 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

The atmosphere, food and service were outstanding. We had Cobia which was out of the world. Pam was our server and she did a superb job and has a great, friendly personality! An added bonus was the awesome salt rub in the bathrooms that you can purchase. I purchased one! We will definitely be back and we will ask for Pam!

2  Thank Srqkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuvalsFLS, Owner at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

Keith,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience and thought everything was outstanding. We are glad that you enjoyed the scrub, ever since we started working with Olivea (the local company that provides the scrub) and brought it in, it has been a huge hit! I will be sure to pass along your compliments to Pam, she is a valued member of our team and we are lucky to have her. She goes above and beyond to ensure her customers happiness! We hope to see you for another outstanding meal in the near future.

Best,

Josh Halbrucker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

Delicious seafood (shrimp, lobster and meaty stone claw crabs) wonderful ambience (we ate outdoors) and fantastic service by Pam and Cathy.

1  Thank BABSLUVSGREECE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuvalsFLS, Owner at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are ecstatic that you thought both your food and service was outstanding. I will be sure to pass along your compliments to both Kathy and Pam, they are valued members of our team and we appreciate them greatly. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Sarasota.

Regards,

Josh Halbrucker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

Downtown Sarasota seafood mecca with great service.
The menu is varied - the flavors consistent throughout
worth going to

1  Thank discerningtraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuvalsFLS, Owner at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your recommendations and appreciate your patronage. Hope to see you soon!

Regards,

Josh Halbrucker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

First of all, you should ask for Pam. Because she knows her customers and her menu and she makes your experience personal, from the moment you sit down. Shrimp Po-Boy -- excellent. Salads -- fresh, crisp and innovative without being foodie nuts. This is a nice menu with lots of fresh seafood and plenty of options for nearly any palette. A soothing turquoise interior. Intimate but not fussy. I will be back for sure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank rodentplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuvalsFLS, Owner at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. That Shrimp Po' Boy that you enjoyed is our #1 seller during our lunch service, we are very happy that you enjoyed it. Pam is an absolute gem and we are happy and lucky to have her as a part of our team. Feel free to request her as your server on your return visit. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Josh Halbrucker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood. also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing