We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happy Hour!”

Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood.
Reserve with OpenTable
Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,101 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, International, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Central and Main
Description: A local eatery with a passion for stunning seafood, creative cocktails, fine wine, and service with style. Duval's uses the freshest product the market has to offer, sourcing the finest ingredients from local fisherman and farmers. Duval's offers free patron shuttle service, food delivery, and $5 Happy Hour 7 days a week.
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Great experience here during Happy Hour, especially with the servers Lily and Allie. They were so helpful, attentive, and personable. The mussels were delicious (make sure you dip the bread into the broth!). The outdoor seating was also great as well. Highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Megan M,

Thank you for the 5 star review and thank you for joining us at Duval's for Happy Hour. Lilly and Aly will be thrilled to hear of their job well done and we hope to see you again soon!

Steve Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 212 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

From the moment i walked in on an unusual Monday evening i was gratefully welcomed and greeted and asked by the sweetest hostess if i prefer bar or table. Then i met Emilia a charismatic bartender that prepared 2 delicious mojitos all of them with a smile on her face. Can't beat when someone enjoy what they do. Staff was engaging yet gave you plenty of space to enjoy your dinner. Blackened Ahi Tuna that deserved me requesting to extend my complements to the chef. They made my visit a pleasure and relaxing one after a long day of work which was exactly what i needed. I would definitely recommend. Superb service. Very friendly and welcoming staff and permises were very clean and in order. A MUST visit if you ever come to Sarasota.

Thank Renato N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Renato N,

Thank you for joining us at Duval's and thank you for the excellent review. We are ecstatic that you enjoyed a 5 star experience with Amelia at our bar and we hope to see you for more delicious mojitos.

Cheers!
Steve Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We had a very enjoyable dinner at Duval's in downtown Sarasota as we are continually looking for another go-to restaurant in the area. Overall, it was a very nice meal. With a reservation for later on a Sat., our table for two was ready and we were seated right away. The interior reminded both of us of a typical NYC restaurant. Not cramped, but rather small with tables close together. As a result, sound level was moderate due to conversations from other tables, but nowhere near a problem level.

The food was very good and the service was outstanding. My wife is a small eater and ordered the shrimp/crab cake combo as an entree. I ordered the fresh catch red snapper. Both were very good. The best however was the calamari appetiser, which was truly outstanding.

They have an impressive wine list, though we just had cocktails. It's a very good restaurant - a nice night out and a far cry from most of the touristy spots around. We plan on going back when we have visiting friends next month.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HBeachTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

HBeachTraveler,

Thank you for dining at Duval's and thank you for taking time to write this review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your dinner and service (especially the calamari) during your visit and we look forward to seeing you next month!

Steve Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

This was my second visit to Duval's for lunch with a friend and I was a little hesitant to try it again as my first visit's meal was not all that great, but am glad I gave it another try as the food this time was really good. I had the blackened shrimp Po Boy sandwich and wedge salad. The shrimp were seasoned perfectly and were decent sized. I sampled my friend's black bean soup which was also excellent, should have taken some soup to go. ;) Staff are very friendly and Pam, the manager, made sure we had everything we needed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Mel W,

Thank you for joining us for lunch at Duval's and thank you for taking time to write a review. We are elated that you were willing to give us another chance and try one of our award winning po' boys! I will pass along your kind words to Pam and our staff and we hope to see you for many more to come.

Steve Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Been there twice in about 3 weeks (I'm from CA, in Sarasota on extended business). Had the bouillabaisse both times. That should say something, I would think?

It comes with mussels, fish, half a lobster tail (scallops too? Not sure). The sauce is tomato-ey and rich. Fairly thick, not really soupy. 2 slices of garlic toast. $34.

Also had a glass of red wine, pinot noir.

The bill was $46, I left $55 to include tip. So, pretty fair price for a quality meal.

Duval's is on Main Street, downtown. Bars and music venues are on that street, so when you are done with dinner you can stroll to within a block or two.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, General Manager at Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood., responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Robert H,

Thank you for joining us at Duval's during your visit to Sarasota and thank you for the great review. Our bouillabaisse is definitely a crowd favorite and we are thrilled that you were able to enjoy it... Twice! We very much look forward to seeing you again next time you visit our beautiful city.

Steve Powell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood. also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Duval's Fresh. Local. Seafood.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing