We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST seafood dinner I’ve ever eaten! Without a doubt…”

Rusty Bellies Waterfront Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View details, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: My husband Jack and I, along with our daughter and son-in-law, welcome you to Rusty Bellies Waterfront Grill. Opened in June of 2005, Rusty Bellies is an achievement of three generations worth of goals spanning some thirty years. We are a family owned and operated establishment. Our family came to Tarpon Springs in the 1970's. My parents, Joe and Sue Reis, began the business by purchasing several boats, including a shrimp boat. Before long they had purchased the boat yard and developed the seafood business. In 1985, Jack and I took over operations, and it wasn't long before Jack began refurbishing boats. In 2002. we launched our shrimp boat, Julie Ann. The Julie Ann produces fresh gulf shrimp for Pelican Point Seafood and Rusty Bellies. Jack has since finished refurbishing the Redman, a grouper fishing boat, and the Crabracadabra, a stone crab boat. To this day the Julie Ann, Redman, and Crabracadabra are still family owned and operated by the Russells. Rusty Bellies Waterfront Grill is named for our family's love of fishing, namely gulf grouper fishing. A "Rusty Bellie" is the nickname given to the large male gag grouper. A "Rusty Bellie" generally ranges between twenty and sixty pounds, and is typically caught by the true at heart fisherpersons. As you look around our restaurant you will see photos of family, friends, and local fisherman that bring the freshest seafood to our dock. The menu gives credit to many of our fishermen by naming the dishes after their beloved boats. Of course, there are too many boats to give credit to each, but keep in mind their dedication to providing FRESH FLORIDA WILD CAUGHT SEAFOOD. It is an honor that we continue what our family began many yeas ago. We value our guests, and we are honored to have you dine with us. Please sit back and enjoy the view and allow us to prepare the freshest seafood, including gluten fee options available for you. Julie and the Russell Family.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped in at Rusty Bellies at the end of the night expecting to have some pretty good seafood. What we got was INCREDIBLE seafood. We are visiting from AZ and and eating seafood all across Florida. Stephanie was our waitress and her suggestions were right on target for us. We have eaten a lot of incredible seafood so far, but we were absolutely stunned at how flavorful everything was at Rustys. Like the difference between using margarine or using organic butter. If you know the difference in tastes then you’ll understand what I mean while I rave about Rustys food. Their fried oysters were perfect and if you like mussels, definitely try theirs…by far the best ive ever tried. Honestly I wish we weren’t so far away from Tarpon Springs or else we’d eat at Rusty Bellies every day. Thank you Stephanie for your great service.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Gulleygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, General Manager at Rusty Bellies Waterfront Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Fantastic to hear that you had an incredible experience! Thank you for the 5-stars. I will make sure and share this with Steph. Please do come back and see us soon. Thanks,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (3,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 3,664 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rusty Bellies is one of our GO TO places in pinellas county! Their food is always fresh! Everything is always consistent and that is hard to find! I highly recommend the fish spread as an appetizer, their tacos are amazing, but their deserts are even better! When you go ask for Stephanie! She is the BEST WAITRESS I HAVE EVER MET!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maggiecY2269CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, General Manager at Rusty Bellies Waterfront Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the 5-stars! I am glad to hear that we are your go to in Pinellas. I will make sure and share this review with Steph. Please come back soon,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Steph provided EXCELLENT Customer Service. It was our first visit but definitely not the last. The Garlic Shrimp and the Wings she recommended from the appetizer menu were DELICIOUS! Steph even recommended we sit at her "favorite high table" outside. The evening breeze was great coming off the water and the one-man-band was great too at 6pm. The atmosphere gave us a feeling of comfort and relaxation. Everyone employee wore a mask.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LightPacker800318
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, General Manager at Rusty Bellies Waterfront Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Awesome to hear that Steph gave such great service. Thank you for the 5-stars. I am glad we made you your experience comfortable while here. Please come back and see us soon. Thanks,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the minute we entered the door until we left, every person gave us fantastic service. Our waitress, Nicole was the BEST! she gave us the best recommendations as to what to try for our first visit....and trust me, it will not be our last! Service, food, atmosphere, and drinks were all over the top great! Go to Rusty Bellies and ask for Nicole! You won't be sorry!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank janetdU4511YI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, General Manager at Rusty Bellies Waterfront Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review. We are lucky to have Nicole and I will make sure and share this review with her. Look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As a family we decided to come down to Rusty Bellies for a beautiful view and some lunch. I ordered the grouper dinner with Brussels sprouts/ corn casserole and it was absolutely delicious!!! I am pleasantly surprised with my experience our server Damn was fantastic. She gave excellent food suggestions and exceptional service. One of the things she recommended to eat was dessert: the coconut cake. It was moist, not overly sweet and super fluffy. I would definitely come back and eat at this restaurant again… 10/10 would recommend

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 950brianam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjamin L, General Manager at Rusty Bellies Waterfront Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for coming down for lunch. I am happy to hear that Dawn was able to provide with amazing service. I will make sure and share this with her. Please do come back and see us soon. Thanks,
Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rusty Bellies Waterfront Grill also viewed

 
Tarpon Springs, FL
Tarpon Springs, FL
 

Been to Rusty Bellies Waterfront Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.