We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We learned so much”

Sailing the Sunset - Sailing School
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sailing the Sunset provides an outstanding sailing adventure in the sailing venues of the Florida Keys , the Great Lakes, and the Virgin Islands. Life on a sailboat is much bigger than just sailing with snorkeling, kayaking, fishing, star-gazing , great food, and all-inclusive packages. Count on a boatload of fun, and personal inspiration that changes you for the better.
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We spent 5 days on Selah with Bob and Ann obtaining our 103 and 104 ASA certifications. The boat was beautiful as was the surroundings. Bob and Ann were patient and knowlegable and offered constant encouragement along the way. Their humor and friendliness made it all so much easier. We enjoyed wonderful food with amazing views. We hope to see them again in the future!

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 5 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

Great experience. Both Bob and Ann show expertise and patience in teaching and also hosting. Well worth a look.

Date of experience: March 2013
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I recently spent a week with three friends learning the "ropes" with Bob and Ann aboard their 42 ft Catalina sailboat. Only two of us actually took lessons while the other two who were experienced sailors came along to enjoy the ride. Bob and Ann simply do it all - not are they patient and thorough instructors, they cook(amazing meals), guide and even provide superb entertainment from time to time. They will MAKE SURE you gain the knowledge and experience to pass whatever sailing course you decide to take. Better yet, you will have fun and lots of laughs! Don't worry about 6 people on board for a week, there is lots of room. The boat is clean and superbly maintained. It really began to feel like home after just a couple of days. Tired of sailing - then time to swim, snorkel, kayak, or go ashore for a land lubber experience. Best of all you will arrive as a client but you will leave as a friend. Get out to sea with Bob and Ann! 5 "likes" from me!

Date of experience: February 2013
Thank Rick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My wife and I and two friends arrived on a Monday evening, We were greeted heartily by Bob and Ann, affectionately now called BOBANNA. After a great breakfast late next morning we headed out to sea.
Thanks to Bob and Ann's great seamen ship we spent the rest of the week sailing, motoring, snorkeling and discovering KEY places in the keys. Ann is a wonderful cook, we had Mahi-Mahi,Grouper, meatloaf, burgers and that was just dinner. My wife said she had the best time ever on any course and I was pleased that she took away a better sense of what a pleasure sailing can be thanks to Bob and Ann's thoughtful and calming style of teaching. We so enjoyed Selah 42 and Bob and Ann and the whole trip that we may just put a boat in the keys some day.

Date of experience: February 2013
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Captain Bob demonstrates patience and provides excellent instructions for sailors of all levels. He provides instruction that is enjoyable and challenging all at the same time. I feel I am a much better sailor after spending 4 days under his guidance.

Date of experience: July 2012
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sailing the Sunset - Sailing School also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing