We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Florida Keys Wild Bird Rehabilitation Center
Open today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Great little visit!

Great little place. Takes about 15 minutes to walk through. If you like birds, this is a cool... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
P1601NVmarcm
via mobile
Pretty Neat Bird Rehabilitation Center

Very cool place to stop off and visit if you like birds. I always think it’s pretty neat that there... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
fit4ever40f
,
Ocoee, Florida
via mobile
Read all 1,542 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Key Largo
from US$58.67
More Info
from US$32.83
More Info
from US$60.52
More Info
from US$55.00
More Info
Reviews (1,542)
Filter reviews
1,542 results
Traveller rating
971
438
113
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
971
438
113
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great stop blue jay great place to visit well worth the stop quick stop self guided florida keys fish donation pelicans cages sanctuary injured volunteers donated raptors facility
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,542 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very small bird sanctuary can be done in 15 mins. Donations only. Large iguanas running around. The pelican enclosure was closed.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Brandi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeepThemFlying88, Manager at Florida Keys Wild Bird Rehabilitation Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

The Iguanas are there, but they aren't ours! Unfortunately, they have invaded the Keys. The Pelican Pond is undergoing a much needed $100,000 renovation to make it a happier place that is even friendlier to the environment .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was a pleasant stop on our trip toThe Florida Keys. The sanctuary is a humane, natural refuge for birds needing care. Gratitude to all who help to make the lives of these birds better and more comfortable. Only a donation is required and you can move along the cages at your own pace.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank bzhashim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeepThemFlying88, Manager at Florida Keys Wild Bird Rehabilitation Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your nice words! This is our "public" face. Our hospital is much more hectic with about 1000 avian patients treated (behind the scenes) every year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2021

This was a great little stop on our recent trip to the Keys. Nice wooden walkways through the caged area. Saw a variety of birds and the kids enjoyed it.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeepThemFlying88, Manager at Florida Keys Wild Bird Rehabilitation Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your visit and your nice review. Those wooden walkways will (hopefully) be a part of a renovation project in 2021. We strive to make it better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2021 via mobile

We stopped in on our way down to the lower keys... happily donated as they help these poor birds and give them forever homes... they were feeding them during our visit and there’s a lovely patch of beach and shore at the end... loved the hawks and owls... recently a pelican was injured (criminally ) and it was absolutely horrible... found this organization as they are taking efforts to try to help... if you’re driving down to the keys... stop by...take a stroll... enjoy and donate!!

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank patriciabcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeepThemFlying88, General Manager at Florida Keys Wild Bird Rehabilitation Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2021

Thank you for your recommendation. In addition to the Sanctuary where you visited, we have a full time Avian Hospital that treats about 1000 birds per year. We successfully return a large percentage of our patients to the wild. We often Feature "Freedom Friday" on our Facebook page. Freedom Friday releases show the effectiveness of our rehabilitation programs!
We are so happy you enjoyed your visit. We have many many more good experiences than bad!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2021

This is a very interesting place to stop to see and learn about all kinds of birds and other wildlife. It's not fancy, but you can tell that it is a true passion of the owner who is doing what they can to save birds, and without the huge budgets. Stop, learn, donate.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank michigander311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeepThemFlying88, General Manager at Florida Keys Wild Bird Rehabilitation Center, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2021

"Stop, Learn, Donate" Well done! Thank you! We are a 501(c)(3) charitable foundation and the "owners" are all of you who contribute and enjoy the facility. The majority of our staff are interns who are here to build their experience working with wildlife. We all are so happy you enjoyed your visit! There are changes and upgrades in the works, so please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews