We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
63
25
7
17
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
25
7
17
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holiday inn gas grill washer dryer jeffrey shala dock fishing dolphins vacation rental cookout intercoastal
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2018

We stayed at Whispers Resort from 1/3/18 to 2/2/18. We checked reviews on Whispers Resort website, and most comments seemed good. After arriving and seeing how dirty this place was, we than checked unbiased reviews. We contacted owners who seemed pleasant. We explained we were shocked with the accommodation and did they have anywhere else to move too. None were available for 1 month, and we would not be able to move. After looking at other unit it was just as bad. Asked about other property owned by them, No to this they were not Pet Friendly. They seem to hold this over your head having a pet. Knowing it would be impossible to find a place at this late time in Treasure Island. They know this and get away with taking high rates for unacceptable accommodations. While there for 4 weeks we searched around and found a beauitul Pet Friendly Condo for $500. Less than the $4,300. They charged our credit card. So we than asked them to clean the floors and bathroom again. This was done with a cheap foam mop. Told them the refrigerator was discusting. They offered a newer refrigerator in the laundry room. But she could not do it with her back. She offered a hand truck that my husband used to move it in and take out other one. We called about (Palmettos) Roaches multiple! He came and sprayed while I left with dog. This did nothing my dog kept finding more and believe she ate one and was sick for a week. I believe floors have never been scrubbed in years. We bought cleaning products heavy duty mop and washed 8 times, and water was still dirty. They advertise a feather bed. NOT! Covered in ripped plastic, black specs underneath Discusting! I did not trust that the sheets were washed, so I paid in their coin operated laundry room (which also had roaches) and washed their sheets & Towels, purchased new sheets to have a double layer. Didn’t get much sleep. The couch in advertised pictures was vinyl ( which I could have washed) was a blue uncomfortable dirty material couch. Electric in this place, outlets loose some not working. No outlet in bathroom, had to buy extension cords & surge bar. Water heater kept going off , had to reset circuit behind picture frame. Ceiling above bed kept chipping off and flaking on headboard & bed. Pots & Pans chipped (cancer causing) porcelain. Yes we went out and bought pots and frying pan. Coffee pot never scrubbed until we got there. So we spent a lot of money on purchases and time cleaning to make our stay bearable. Had to wash all our belonging to hopefully not bring any unwanted friends back to our clean home. They asked for a review when we got home. We sent a lot of this information and they never posted it to their site. So I went ahead and contacted the BBB Of Clearwater. They refuse any refund, and believe they are trying to keep with Florida Old World Charm. My response is you can do this, but have these places CLEAN ROACH FREE & Electric up to Code, if your going to charge top dollar for this dump. Lesson Learned for us, but hopefully this will help others looking for a nice clean Pet Freindly Lodging. We went on to visit relatives in Cape Coral and stayed at a Holiday Inn PetFreindly Immaculate.

Stayed: January 2018
8  Thank Mombacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

We happened upon this amazing resort, by happy accident! During our hurricane in September, with four little dogs, we're having a problem finding a place to stay.
(Most places were actually charging people 100.00, per dog, per night, even durring the state of emergency.) Whispers resort did not over charge us at all! They are dog lovers and owners themselves.

This beautiful resort is perfect for relaxing, sunning by the pool, fishing off of the dock, chatting with new friends in the beautiful garden courtyard and enjoying the perfectly decorated rooms.
Each room has it's own identity and floor plan, and it's own back door to a cute sitting area with a table.
I think they have kept it a secret for a reason! It's not a party place at all, it is a lovely quiet retreat.
It's centrally located, close to everything and yet quiet and on the intercoastal.
We will definitely be going back again, and again, just to enjoy the beauty and calmness of the Whispers Resort, and to visit with the lovely owners, Jeffrey and Sharda.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheshirebrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

Our stay in The Whispers Resort was awesome, our special thanks to you Jeff and your wife!! We had a great time. I loved your Bike too. We will plan to come again soon. Thank you again. George & Melinda Forster

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brandon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Treasure Island for our summer vacation. Whispers resort was such a beautiful venue. The gardens were Lush and tropical. The sweet we stayed in was comfortable and offered every amenity away from home. The location was close to the most exquisite beach, stores, restaurants and supermarket.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rozgoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Whispers Resort was an excellent choice. We love the old Florida charm; Whispers did not disappoint. We had a marvelous time, whether hitting the beach all day or spending the evening on the docks with the other guests. Jeffery and Sharda were wonderful hosts, our unit was clean and pleasant. The walk to the beach was short and there are many other amenities within walking distance. Thank you for a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whispersresort, Owner at Whispers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Hi Kelly,

The most rewarding aspect of our commitment to keeping Whispers as an Historical Florida Resort - is definitely meeting wonderful guests like you and Mark.

Its great to see people on vacation who leave all their "baggage" at home and just come and have a great time, relax and soak in all the wonderful things that Florida has to offer.

It was a pleasure meeting you both and we are very grateful for the way you cared for your condominium - The Artist Suite Suite.

I am also glad that we were able to re-accommodate you after your forced cancellation due to Hurricane Irma.

Nothing worse than planning a getaway and having to cancel and not know if you would be out of pocket.

So glad that we could help make it happen for you!

I hope that you will come back and see us again.

Best wishes

Jeffrey and Sharda





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews