We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Gulf-front Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bilmar Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I made reservations here based on recommendations on Trip Advisor. I was a little nervous, as the property is older. I didn't have to worry. Our gulf-front room was spacious, quiet (despite being above a pool and Sloppy Joe's), and had the most beauful views of the sunsets you can ever imagine.
There was a slight problem with our reservation when we got there, but the incrediby friendly and helpful staff took care of it right away. They even called us later to make sure we were satisfied with our room.
Once we parked in their lot, we never had to move our car again. Two restaurants (both pretty good with wonderful staff), an incredible beach, Publix next door, Walgreen's across the street and lots of restaurants within walking distance made it a perfect location.
We had a fantastic, relaxing stay at the Bilmar, and would absolutely go back there anytime. I highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: The gulf-front studios are wonderful. They are spacious and have private balconies. Rooms are quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank obxlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,644 - 1,648 of 2,176 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

First off, we are locals living in the Tampa side of the bay. We love to go to the Bilmar, and enjoy weekend trips during the slower season. To look at the Bilmar, most would just pass it by, as we did for many years. Last summer we booked it for my son's graduation escape, and were amazed. The rooms were unbelievable, all re-done with everything you you need. They have 2 pools, and hot tubs, and Bazzles has great food. We tried to book it for a few days this week during Spring Break, and no room at the inn. We stayed down the road a bit and it just wasn't the same.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BidDaddy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed in the Palms Building (The "high rise"). I first want to say, the room was CLEAN. I really appreciate that fact. I would recommend the Delux Studio because there was a little more square footage to this room and it has a balcony. The views of the ocean from the balcony, especially at night were fantastic. Mornings were relaxed because we bought breakfast food at the Publix grocery store just down the block and were able to eat in rather than going out for every meal. Dishes, silverware, and cookware were all provided. We never used the two burner stove but it was nice to have the option. The room has a few flaws. For example, there was a pretty large gap between the door and the door frame in our room and the bathroom is very small. But, all in all, the room was a good quality and the price was very competitive.

Staying on the beach gave us the option of letting someone stay in the room while the others went down to the beach without worrying. It's a nice option for teenagers who like to sleep in. No one was ever too far away. Each person had a room key and could come and go to our location on the beach as they pleased. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. The hotel has towels to check out for either the pool or the beach. This was very convenient. You could trade in for new towels when ever you liked.

I hope to stay at the Bilmar again. It was a comfortable and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Stay in the Palms Building (High Rise) they have balconies. The views are excellent at night. Get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TCT94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Staff was very friend and helpful. The service for breakfast was very slow. We found it quicker to go next door to the Thunderbird hotel for breakfast. We found the wireless internet to be hit or miss. The told a few times that had to reboot the system. A rental car or taxi is a must. They advertise a bus service that is supposed to run every 20 minutes however our experience was more like an hour plus on three different days. While a Florida vacation show not include a ton of tv watching it would be nice at bed time. The TVs in the room are small and don't have HD service.

Room Tip: I would shop around a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EDWARD J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Bilmar Beach Resort for your Treasure Island Get Away and for sharing your experience with other travelers. I have shared your observations with my team and assure they will be addressed to enhance the experience of all of our guests.

Many guests find the county Trolley system and the free beach taxi service to be an effective way to go short distances up and down our beach communities but both services do get pushed to the limit during the peak spring break season. Another option is to rent a car for just a day or two from area companies so you can venture out without having your vehicle parked a whole week while enjoying the immediate area.

I am happy to report that we have begun upgrading our TV’s to 42 inch LCD (vs. current 27 inch LCD). We have completed the Deluxe Studios and plan to continue the upgrade in the Gulf Front and Pool Side Efficiency rooms. Also our Free Internet service has had repairs done to correct a bad fan that was causing the system to have occasional failures. I understand the importance of staying connected and assure you we will monitor this service and continue to make the improvements necessary.

On behalf of the entire Bilmar Team; thank you again and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Sincerely, Clyde Smith – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The location is perfect, Publix a couple blocks away to stock up since our room had kitchenette, great view, and enjoyed the cleanliness. There is a beach boardwalk that we enjoyed walking/jogging on each day. The staff was very friendly. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: we were in the penthouse of the palms building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jr905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
1.3 km away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,805 reviews
0.9 km away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
696 reviews
0.7 km away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#23 of 48 in Treasure Island
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
227 reviews
1.1 km away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#32 of 48 in Treasure Island
291 reviews
1.2 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilmar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilmar Beach Resort

Address: 10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#8 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: RM634 - RM1,518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bilmar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bilmar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilmar Beach Hotel Treasure Island
Bilmar Beach Treasure Island
Bilmar Hotel
Bilmar Beach Resort Treasure Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing