We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sequoia Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel des Deux Forts(Salins-les-Bains)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Des Bains(Salins-les-Bains)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Au Bon Accueil(Salins-les-Bains)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Maison Zugno(Barretaine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
6
17
13
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
17
13
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2009

The Sequoia is, once again, not in Arbois proper but rather 6-7 winding kilometres out of town, in the countryside next to a small castle. It's not hard to find at all, but a car is essential.

The place's interiors is built like an old mountain lodge, except everything is new and very clean. For some reason, they gave us their biggest room so lots of space and extremely cosy with timbered walls, stylish and roomy bathroom and a comfy bed. Restaurant service was unfortunately closed "our" evening but later we chilled in the leather sofas with a beer and a book - very relaxing.

Staff were great, personal, kind and helpful (and the house bulldog is cute!). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and it will only get better since from mid-July there's also a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KMKTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

When you first approach this hotel, it looks as though it is actually the old stable block of the nearby chateaux. On closer inspection however, the truth is revealed - that the entire contruction is actually newly built. In some ways this is good, as it has been done recently and so everything is new - on the other hand some of the finishing is not great, which kind of spoils the effect as it becomes increasingly obvious that this a new copy of an older building.
The general location is Ok - its in a nice village, quite close to Arbois and the staff are friendly. My wife and I spent a very nice night here, and in general I would recommend it as an alternative to staying in Arbois if you don't mind the 10 minute drive.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Suffolk3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

The Sequoia Hotel is located in a small village called La Châtelaine, (10 km from Arbois). You access it easily by driving up a smaller mountain road from Arbois city center. Here you will get a great view of the beautiful landscape.

The hotel is located next to the family castle. There is a big garden with wild animal surrounding the property. It really felt majestic to enter, (see photo). The hotel itself is quite new. Each room has a unique design. We had reserved a “small” double room, which I thought was big compared to a lot of other hotel rooms I had stayed at. in France. Overall, the hotel is very well kept and clean. You can feel that it is with proud the family runs it just by a lot of small quality details.

My boyfriend and I wanted to discover more about the JURA wines and that is why we wanted to go to Arbois. The wines from this district are very special and the aim was to stay at a “vineyard a like” but with a reasonable price. They owner then offered a win tasting of five typical local JURA wines. One cremate, (similar to champagne), two white and two red. We sat in front of the fire place enjoying the wines together with a small plate with local cheese, ham and sausage. It was really nice and interesting.

Since we arrived outside the session, (March – October), all the near by restaurants was closed. Because we didn’t want to drive back to ARBOIS the owners offered to make some cold food, (see photo). It was declivous!

Waking up in the morning it was really quiet and when looking out of the window there where a dear standing 100m away.

The breakfast is almost continental, (but without the warm food). I especially appreciated the coffee which you made you self.

I think it is a great hotel and warmly recommend it. It is rated with 3 stars but I would easily give it 4 starts. The staffs were so kind & service minded, good standard, very clean and definitely worth the money! We paid 79€ for a double room and 9,50€ each for the breakfast. The wine tasting was 5€ per person. The staff also speaks english.

The only minus is their webpage, (http://www.hotel-sequoia-jura.com/), which I find a bit difficult to use.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank KRDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews