We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vogel State Park Campground
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn(Blairsville)(Great Value!)
US$119
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ridges Resort & Marina(Young Harris)(Great Value!)
US$169
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Chatuge Lodge(Hiawassee)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Murphy(Murphy)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
36
20
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
20
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvogel state parkcamp storefire pitblood mountainnorth georgiatentssitescampingcampgroundtrailerhikewaterfallcreekwoodsswitchbacksfreedombackcountry
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2017

This was my second time camping here. As always, the area is absolutely beautiful and the staff is always helpful. We stayed at a "back country" campsite R. It is not truly back country, as you can see from my pictures, because you can pull your vehicle right up to the site ! It does not have water or power, however, there is a water spicket with potable water right across the road, maybe 20 feet away or less. The site itself is awesome, its large enough to comfortably put 2 tents, although park rules only allow 1 large tent and 1 small on backcountry sites, but the rangers are always very accommodating if you call ahead and ask nicely. There is a very large creek that runs right along the site, and with all the recent rainfall we have had it made for very pleasant background noise throughout the evening. There is lots of hiking in the area. We opted to do the hike to Blood Mountain. Took us roughly 2.5 hours to get there (4.3 miles) and about 2 hours to get back. Not including your leisure/snack time at blood mtn peak. you are looking at about 5 hours for a 8.7 mile hike. We kept up a fair pace and didn't stop much on the trail. It is almost entirely uphill going there, so bring plenty of water and plan for a good workout.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Haley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

This is a neat North GA campground. The lake has a waterfall trail and a really cool view of Blood and Slaughter Mountains. It was really picturesque paddling kayaks at the foot of those mountains.

We only went for a weekend trip, but we will be back for a longer trip to hit some more of the trails nearby.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank matt d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

We just spent a week camping as Vogel. The park is beautiful, the facilities were clean, and the staff was courteous and helpful. Would definitely camp here again. The were many activities that kept the kids happy, including biking, hiking, and mini golf. We hiked to the waterfall, which was lovely. We also used Vogel as a base for many day trips, including Tallulah Gorge, Amicalola Falls, Desoto falls, Helton falls, Smithgall woods, and Duke Creek Falls. Blairsville is a short drive up the road if you need supplies. We are already looking forward to coming back to Vogel.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

We wanted to fit in one last trip before we winterized the RV, so we plotted an adventure to the Georgia mountains. Trouble is, as you know we are in the midst of a drought and there are several big wildfires in the mountains of Georgia, Tennessee, Kentucky and North Carolina. So the smoke haze that has been felt in Atlanta and the stories of evacuations in the mountains made us rather skeptical we should be heading into trouble.

But it seemed that our destination, Vogel State Park, was in-between the major fires and might be worth a visit. Off to the mountains we went and what fun it was to drive the many switchbacks of the curving ascent to Neels Gap and Vogel State Park, the oldest of Georgia’s state parks. There were maybe only a dozen campers in a gorgeous rhododendron-filled glen, but we definitely did see the haze of smoke as we walked around Lake Trahlyta and the campground to get our bearings. Staff at the camp store warned us about the resident bear, so we were hopeful for a late-night sighting. Plenty of trails for hiking, including portions of the AT.

Campground staff and hosts were very helpful and friendly, the campsites were all clean, level and plenty roomy. Several were clustered together, which would be ideal if you had a group of friends, many had room enough for a tent plus trailer or camper. Restrooms and showers were clean. Cottages and cabins looked like good choices for a visit.

AdventureswithDougandJackie.wordpress

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DougandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We spent a week here in mid September. It felt 20 degrees cooler than at home in Toccoa, GA. The park is beautiful and well maintained. The lake there is small and quiet, perfect for not so adventurous kayakers.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews