We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Lewisville(Maryculter)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
248
133
53
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
133
53
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresidents loungebanks of the riversteeped in historywedding venuemaster of ceremonieswedding coordinatorbeautiful hotelwonderful weddingminute drivefull scottishpoachers pocketlog firebeautiful roomfirst classovernight staybit datedthe ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Almost don't want to share this incase they suddenly up the price..
We found it fabulous in location and lovely staff. Particular mention to the very Aberdonian bar lady ; just back from her own holiday... she's a credit... love her realness..
Breakfast rivals anywhere charging x 10..
Overall 10/10..

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Blomk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley M, Manager at Maryculter House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear Blomk

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us.

Yes we have a wonderful Team who all try to be as helpful as possible to all of our guests.

We hope you will be back to visit again soon

Kind regards
Bev Mackinlay
Sales Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Regular visitors here especially since our wedding in 2012. Another good stay, staff in good form as always. Had a lovely riverside view which I don’t think you could ever get bored off.
We had dinner in the poachers pocket which was excellent. Breakfast wasn’t the greatest some items finished and a bit greasy for me but good for the hangover!!

For first time ever I was left thinking the rooms could do with a bit of a touch up just minor things really.....picture frames were broken, the heater was coming off the wall, wee scratches and chips here and there enough to be noticeable anyway. Hopefully they continue with the decor from the poachers pocket and take that through rest of hotel as would make a big difference.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bazil79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley M, Manager at Maryculter House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear bazil79

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

We welcome your feedback and this has been noted

We hope you will be back to stay again soon

Kind regards
Bev Mackinlay
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Our two night stay in Maryculter House Hotel was delightful. The room was large enough, the bed very comfortable, tea and coffee making facilities adequate, the shower excellent. Our only 'problem' was WiFi reception but it may have been a blip in the system.
We had chosen a room overlooking the river for which you have to pay a little extra but that was a really good decision because the view is just lovely. There were 2 excellent radiators which took the chill off the room quickly and efficiently - outside the temperature was about 2/3 degrees.
The staff are extremely warm, welcoming and pleasant from the minute you check in throughout you stay. We didn't have a formal dinner but ate in The Poachers Bar/ restaurant- very good indeed. Breakfast was excellent - a huge full Scottish plateful, if that was your wish.
There are two obvious major bonuses with the hotel - its location just across the river from Peterculter from where you can drive ( or catch one of the very regular buses) to Aberdeen AND its own amazing history which is founded on the Knights Templar. The visitors' lounge is at the heart of the building and it date back to 1225 - a beautiful room which would be fabulous with the fire burning in the gigantic fireplace.
There is also what appears to be a walled garden which contains relics of the order of the Knights.
Outside space is lovely, especially in the summertime, I imagine.
All in all a great place to stay.
The hotel caters for a lot of weddings - and no wonder - so bear that in mind when booking.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the river preferably an upstairs one since then people are not walking along the river bank past your window!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley M, Manager at Maryculter House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Maureen S

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and you had time to relax in our Residents Lounge surrounded by all of the Knights Templar history and dine in our Poachers Brasserie overlooking the famous River Dee.

We are a popular venue for Weddings but we do look after our other guests too, as the wedding party are usually in our Ballroom and other guests are able to relax in the Residents Lounge and both of our restaurants well away from the Wedding party.

We hope you will return to stay again sometime soon.

Kind regards

Bev Mackinlay
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

The best hotel I have every stayed in. Room was amazing, meal was amazing, staff are so friendly and helpful. Gemma was outstanding and went above and beyond to help us. The view we had from our room was breathtaking.

Room Tip: The river view rooms/junior suites are beautiful.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley M, Manager at Maryculter House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Dee D

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon

kind regards

Bev Mackinlay
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

This is a different style accomodation with a lot of history. The rooms are large, service great and restaurant was also very nice. The place is beautiful and houses also. Breakfast was ok. This place is popular for weddings so it might be noisy on weekends.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Vidarpedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley M, Manager at Maryculter House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Dear Vidarpedia

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, yes we are surrounded by history dating back to the 13th century.

We do host weddings, especially at the weekends, but the wedding ceremony, meal and dance is held in separate rooms from where our other hotel guests can relax in the bar, residents lounge and 2 restaurants.

We hope to welcome you back again soon

Kind regards
Bev Mackinlay
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews