We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but only just”
Review of Hotel Merdeka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Merdeka
Ranked #3 of 7 Madiun B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 September 2014

Second time I have had to spend time in Madiun and sorry but can't really recommend this hotel, arrived late at night after long car trip from Surabaya and was to tired to change.
I think this hotel was outdated when the built it , strange decor and musty smell, drains in bathroom also smell a little. Limited cable TV but I was so tired so slept well at least very quiet night.
Breakfast really limited and no option for expats, so checked out hungry, would really like some help in finding a good hotel option in Madiun as its a charming city, so peaceful and way less hectic than Jakarta, and its lovely to see children riding to school on bikes .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

I believe at one point the hotel was the finest hotel in Madiun. And the managament USED TO do many upgrades to make the hotel up to date, but their effort stopped sometime in early 1980s. So the design and furnishing of the hotels are dating back from early 1980s. Even the door of one room does resemble my grandmother's house!
There are patches of modern element, such as LCD flat screen TV, LED lamps, card key doors, but other than that you would find funny leftovers from bygone era. Even the elevator reminds me with the old Hotel Indonesia elevators which I used to rode back in 1983!
With the arrival of a more modern competitor nearby, this hotel definitely had to be knocked down and replaced with newer building.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bagus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed one night in this Hotel last weekend due to a big family gathering and a wedding. I made a last minute reservation through agoda, and quite happy that at least I still managed to get a room albeit the price. Needless to say, everything is basic - and the basic level is on the mediocre side. Basic beds, basic amenities, basic bathroom... They do have fox movies on their tv channel though, which we found as the only entertaining thing about the room. The hot shower takes time to heat up, so you'll need to wait approx 5 mins until you got your hot water - and you need to keep the shower running while waiting - what a waste of resources.

This hotel has room service, pools, breakfast provided - all which me and husband decided to skip.

Anyhow, since we had families from all over the country who were coming over for the wedding and they were staying on different hotels, I and mr husband get to see what other hotel in madiun looks like...and somehow we're still grateful we stayed in Hotel Merdeka.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Old hotel with high price. My oldest kid (10 yo) couldn't sleep, she said its spooky and i felt the same especially at the bathroom.
Just stay over for a night, didn't plan before because we're too tired after 6 hours drive and my friend said that this hotel is the best in town.
The best is only the location in the heart of city, between some shopping center.

Room Tip: No good room, Please stay just for emergency case
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I came to madiun for work duty and i planned to stay in Merdeka hotel because my friend told me this is the best hotel in town. Actually, i thought this is spooky hotel that i ever visited because the all coridor, the room, and loby is dark & too quiet. Dont ever try stayed at this hotel if you just came alone :P. Overall, The room is less hygienic, wide enough, the staff is quite friendly & helpfull, and the breakfast quite yummy. for the location, Merdeka hotel is quite strategic. You can reach shopping center, bank, atm, or gift shop by walking around.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olvaolva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madiun
1.6 km away
Aston Madiun Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 km away
Hotel Setiabudi Madiun
2.8 km away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 6 in Madiun
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 km away
Amaris Hotel
Amaris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ponorogo
34 reviews
0.2 km away
Amaris Hotel Madiun
Amaris Hotel Madiun
#1 of 7 in Madiun
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merdeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merdeka

Address: Jl. Pahlawan 42, Madiun 63121, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Madiun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madiun
Price Range: RM76 - RM101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Merdeka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Merdeka Madiun is a two star heritage hotel that strategically located in downtown Madiun. Easily accessible by all vehicles and close to several shopping centers. With friendly service and the food is typical Hotel Merdeka Madiun, guaranteed you are happy to stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Merdeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing