We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Merdeka
Nearby Hotels
US$32
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$26
US$24
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$7
Booking.com
View Deal
US$29
US$25
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$32
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
3
6
18
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
6
18
8
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Spooky ? Yes. Comfortable? meh. Food? Can't really say, the foods are not refilled. The staffs are excellent and attentive. My issue in this hotel is only one, which is the spooky ambience around the hallway and that's really unpleasant, lights up ,please ?!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLadyAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 December 2016

Thank you so much for staying and please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2014

This one is a difficult hotel to review. For about $25 you can get a twin room with ensuite bathroom, airconditioning, television, access to swimming pool, free wifi in the hotel lobby, free breakfast and parking. I found the sleeping area quite adequate with comfortable beds, clean sheets and no bugs. The aircon worked wonderfully, even on a steamy wet night. The staff are friendly and efficient and the lobby is spacious and comfortable to sit in. The wifi in the lobby is fast and the swimming pool is good to cool down in on a hot day. The hotel is also in a good location so you can walk to the big park in the centre of the city for plenty of food options.

The hotel is definitely dated and in need of a bit of work. It is as though someone said "this was the best hotel so we won't change anything". The toilet (western toilet) in my ensuite didn't flush. But having a western toilet in a hotel is a good start and I could use the water hose to manually flush the toilet.

I probably wouldn't pay more than the $25 a night for the cheapest room because then I wouldn't be happy with the quality. But for a twin room it is okay value for the price.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first because some stink of cigarette smoke. If the one you are shown does stink just say so and the concierge will find you another room.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2014

Second time I have had to spend time in Madiun and sorry but can't really recommend this hotel, arrived late at night after long car trip from Surabaya and was to tired to change.
I think this hotel was outdated when the built it , strange decor and musty smell, drains in bathroom also smell a little. Limited cable TV but I was so tired so slept well at least very quiet night.
Breakfast really limited and no option for expats, so checked out hungry, would really like some help in finding a good hotel option in Madiun as its a charming city, so peaceful and way less hectic than Jakarta, and its lovely to see children riding to school on bikes .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I believe at one point the hotel was the finest hotel in Madiun. And the managament USED TO do many upgrades to make the hotel up to date, but their effort stopped sometime in early 1980s. So the design and furnishing of the hotels are dating back from early 1980s. Even the door of one room does resemble my grandmother's house!
There are patches of modern element, such as LCD flat screen TV, LED lamps, card key doors, but other than that you would find funny leftovers from bygone era. Even the elevator reminds me with the old Hotel Indonesia elevators which I used to rode back in 1983!
With the arrival of a more modern competitor nearby, this hotel definitely had to be knocked down and replaced with newer building.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bagus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed one night in this Hotel last weekend due to a big family gathering and a wedding. I made a last minute reservation through agoda, and quite happy that at least I still managed to get a room albeit the price. Needless to say, everything is basic - and the basic level is on the mediocre side. Basic beds, basic amenities, basic bathroom... They do have fox movies on their tv channel though, which we found as the only entertaining thing about the room. The hot shower takes time to heat up, so you'll need to wait approx 5 mins until you got your hot water - and you need to keep the shower running while waiting - what a waste of resources.

This hotel has room service, pools, breakfast provided - all which me and husband decided to skip.

Anyhow, since we had families from all over the country who were coming over for the wedding and they were staying on different hotels, I and mr husband get to see what other hotel in madiun looks like...and somehow we're still grateful we stayed in Hotel Merdeka.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews