We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a surprise.”
Review of Hotel Merdeka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Merdeka
Ranked #3 of 7 Madiun B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Well before we got there we were all warned that this place was the "pits" and bottom of the pile.
I do not think that this hotel is on the "tourist trail". It was bigger then I expected.
Now I always have an open mind when I get to a hotel. And it was no where near as bad as we were told.
Check in for our group was a little bit slow but we got there. The reception area was OK.
I forget the room that I had but it was not to bad. It was basic but everything that you need for a one stay was there. As usual we start with the bed. A double and not bad at all. I had a good nights kip. as with most hotels there was or rather is a longish table / work area on the wall opposite the bed. A good size which was good. A small TV was above this but no channels in English. There is a fridge - working. A kettle also provided although it did not want to boil completely meaning that I had to use my own one. A couple of chairs and a small table as well. A good sized wardrobe. The bathroom was as expected. The shower was quite big and it was a good one. Obviously a toilet and a wash basin. One or two toiletries provided but nothing out of the ordinary. Then for a hotel of this class you would not expect anything more.
The room was clean. Also it was a smoking room. And power points in the right places.
the restaurant is referred to as a coffee shop. The service was very very slow and totally disorganized. I waited for 50 minutes for one of my courses. Never did get the second course. They just don't seem to be able to deal with a small group of about 14 people all at once. And they ran out of beer!! The food was OK though.
So for a one star or may be just maybe 2 star it was all right.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank countessfoxylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 November 2016

Thank you so much for staying and please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2016

Spooky ? Yes. Comfortable? meh. Food? Can't really say, the foods are not refilled. The staffs are excellent and attentive. My issue in this hotel is only one, which is the spooky ambience around the hallway and that's really unpleasant, lights up ,please ?!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLadyAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 December 2016

Thank you so much for staying and please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2014

This one is a difficult hotel to review. For about $25 you can get a twin room with ensuite bathroom, airconditioning, television, access to swimming pool, free wifi in the hotel lobby, free breakfast and parking. I found the sleeping area quite adequate with comfortable beds, clean sheets and no bugs. The aircon worked wonderfully, even on a steamy wet night. The staff are friendly and efficient and the lobby is spacious and comfortable to sit in. The wifi in the lobby is fast and the swimming pool is good to cool down in on a hot day. The hotel is also in a good location so you can walk to the big park in the centre of the city for plenty of food options.

The hotel is definitely dated and in need of a bit of work. It is as though someone said "this was the best hotel so we won't change anything". The toilet (western toilet) in my ensuite didn't flush. But having a western toilet in a hotel is a good start and I could use the water hose to manually flush the toilet.

I probably wouldn't pay more than the $25 a night for the cheapest room because then I wouldn't be happy with the quality. But for a twin room it is okay value for the price.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first because some stink of cigarette smoke. If the one you are shown does stink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2014

Second time I have had to spend time in Madiun and sorry but can't really recommend this hotel, arrived late at night after long car trip from Surabaya and was to tired to change.
I think this hotel was outdated when the built it , strange decor and musty smell, drains in bathroom also smell a little. Limited cable TV but I was so tired so slept well at least very quiet night.
Breakfast really limited and no option for expats, so checked out hungry, would really like some help in finding a good hotel option in Madiun as its a charming city, so peaceful and way less hectic than Jakarta, and its lovely to see children riding to school on bikes .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I believe at one point the hotel was the finest hotel in Madiun. And the managament USED TO do many upgrades to make the hotel up to date, but their effort stopped sometime in early 1980s. So the design and furnishing of the hotels are dating back from early 1980s. Even the door of one room does resemble my grandmother's house!
There are patches of modern element, such as LCD flat screen TV, LED lamps, card key doors, but other than that you would find funny leftovers from bygone era. Even the elevator reminds me with the old Hotel Indonesia elevators which I used to rode back in 1983!
With the arrival of a more modern competitor nearby, this hotel definitely had to be knocked down and replaced with newer building.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bagus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madiun
1.6 km away
Aston Madiun Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 km away
Hotel Setiabudi Madiun
2.8 km away
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
#6 of 6 in Madiun
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 km away
Amaris Hotel
Amaris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ponorogo
34 reviews
0.2 km away
Amaris Hotel Madiun
Amaris Hotel Madiun
#1 of 7 in Madiun
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merdeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merdeka

Address: Jl. Pahlawan 42, Madiun 63121, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Madiun
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Madiun
Price Range: RM76 - RM101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Merdeka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Merdeka Madiun is a two star heritage hotel that strategically located in downtown Madiun. Easily accessible by all vehicles and close to several shopping centers. With friendly service and the food is typical Hotel Merdeka Madiun, guaranteed you are happy to stay here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Merdeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing