We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jameson Inn Oakwood
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oakwood
Reviewed 2 June 2015

We were in between housing for one week and did not know how long we would be here. He stayed high on the price for what it was worth. The pool was tiny and not well kept. The rooms smelt disgusting. I felt uncomfortable letting any of my items or self touch anything in that room. We were fairly new to Oakwood and didn't know there was a Best Western Plus right down the road because we went to work and came right back. And naturally my husband was the one who picked the hotel thinking we would save money. We really didn't considering. Staff was extremely dull. Never helpful.

Room Tip: Definitely do not get a smoking room!!! It is definitely worth just stepping outside your room to sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cortney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2014

Stayed here 10/11/14. Prices had been increased because of special Olympics in town. Of all No other rooms available in the area so we were over a barrel. On to the room: spider webs hanging from the ceiling and light fixtures, looked like someone had thrown liquids on the wall, used wall as a backboard for the trash can. Beds had clean sheets , however covers over box springs had stains. carpet filthy. Woke up went to take a shower and 5 half inch size roaches ran across the bathroom floor. The list goes on with pictures to show!!! Was asked to call manager for some type of adjustment, Paul was ver rude and could cre less, foreign attitude just said go elsewhere, next time I will, and all future employees will also.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Calvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

When I called on the 31st of Aug to cancel my reservation for the 31st...it was because of an family emergency... My Mother got very ill suddenly, and my presence was needed!! even after I explained why I had to cancel, she said in a snotty attitude that "we do not cancel within the 24 hours prior of check in time" (which I do understand for normal circumstances, ).... I asked her if there was a Jameson near Marietta ?? I could put some of my relations in the room while they were here to see my Mom... she said (attitude again) "I don't know, you'll have to call Jameson 1-800 number to find out , didn't even offer to look herself (which I assumed should have been far easier for her than me)... guess not, it was simply too hard for her to do that !!! I said well, I guess I'm just out of luck, then she said " guess so"..... and that was the end of this conversation ... I hung up the phone... and I am STILL pissed off ....

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The staff were very nice, however the room is in need of updating--the a/c did not work or get the room cool, the smoke alarm had a mind of its own--and went off twice in the middle of the nite even with replaced batteries--they do have a continental breakfast which is passable but the decaf coffee sucked--we opted for dunkin donuts. Great price tho!

Room Tip: get an updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 67lindaj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is not worth the $80 a night they ask. More like $39-50. The breakfast is a sad display of cereal and make-your-own-waffles, the fitness center (an important aspect of why we chose the hotel) was closed and, I'm told, was loaded with furniture they were moving around, the sole ice maker was broken down, my coffee pot was broken and I had to reassemble it each time after I got the coffee grounds inside of it, and it just wasn't worth the money we paid (one week in advance). I feel like we should be at least refunded some of the price since they never bothered to notify us that the fitness center was and apparently had been closed down for a while. There is a reason at least 84% of hotels have those centers now, because people like to stay fit on the road, and if it's not available, it shouldn't be listed as such. Staff was nice but other than that we regret this stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelcakes108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakwood
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Lake Lanier Gainesville Hotel & Suites
8 km away
The Guest Lodge Gainesville
The Guest Lodge Gainesville
#3 of 12 in Gainesville
190 reviews
7.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Flowery Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
Hilton Garden Inn Gainesville
#1 of 12 in Gainesville
523 reviews
12.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jameson Inn Oakwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jameson Inn Oakwood

Address: 3530 Thurmon Tanner Pkwy, Oakwood, GA 30566-3435
Region: United States > Georgia > Oakwood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oakwood
Price Range: RM380 - RM429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jameson Inn Oakwood 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Jameson Inn Oakwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Jameson Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing