We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel that could”
Review of Grand Kampar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Kampar Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kampar
Reviewed 13 September 2016

My first visit to Malaysia. I stayed at Grand Kampar Hotel from where I traveled to Ipoh and Penang. Not very fancy, but has excellent staff, clean facilities and right in the middle of town. Bed was comfortable and shower was very clean. No bathtub in my room. The breakfast buffet was a combination of standard Malaysian fare ( Which I ate everyday, because I loved it) and some Western offerings. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The upper floors are naturally quieter, but the hallways are not air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amiso G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

My first time here for Malaysian standards this Hotel was quite good food was much much better than most hotels we have stayed in the past. Hope we can come here again, till next time thanks. Rooms were quite good AC was very strong meeting rooms were nice and cool with AC as well.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Wade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Clean, simple, and basic place to stay. Price is affordable. Nice scenery of the town can view from rooftop swimming pool. Love the view so much. Have a ping pong table. Breakfast is great. Will visit again.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Kalidevan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Actually i from ipoh..never think that i will have a change to stay here.due with some reason i past by here and stay a night.surprising this so call a 2 or 3star hotel with only 150 plus per night have a 5star quality..not becouse of the design or facilities..is the maintenance..how could a ten years old hotel get such a good maintenance???...give some like....keep it and i will be backwell done...

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank lourencechee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I've stayed here when visiting friends. There's not a whole lot to do in and around kampar except eating roti kari (curry bread), visit the tin mine museum (new) and the Guar Tempurung Caves. The town is nothing worth of memorizing but the hotel is excellent. That includes breakfast which is good done.

If you have to be in Kampar this is your choice.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampar
0.2 km away
M Boutique Kampar
M Boutique Kampar
#1 of 3 in Kampar
39 reviews
30.9 km away
Hotel De' La Ferns
Hotel De' La Ferns
#3 of 13 in Tanah Rata
525 reviews
25.6 km away
Symphony Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 km away
D Hotel Seri Iskandar
D Hotel Seri Iskandar
#2 of 2 in Bandar Seri Iskandar
41 reviews
32.3 km away
Hotel Titiwangsa
Hotel Titiwangsa
#5 of 9 in Brinchang
104 reviews
1.1 km away
Kampar Times Inn Hotel
Kampar Times Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kampar
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Kampar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Kampar Hotel

Address: 2188, Jalan Timah, Bandar Baru Kampar, Kampar 31900, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kampar District > Kampar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kampar
Price Range: RM149 - RM224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Kampar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Kampar Hotel, a 3 star deluxe hotel in Kampar, lies within Kinta Valley, close proximity to Cameron Highlands, Perak, Malaysia. Grand Kampar Hotel is an impressive Spanish architecture and situated in the heart of Taman Bandar Baru Kampar, which is the fastest growing township in the area. The town was a centre in the tin mine industry, founded in 1887. The name Kampar was derived from the Cantonese words "kam pou." It means 'precious gold' and refers to the town's previously large tin reserves. Located within the vicinity of this hotel is Kolej Tunku Abdul Rahman, University Tunku Abdul Rahman (Main Campus), banks, corporations and factories. A wide variety of restaurants and bistros are within walking distance. Eco-recreation activities such as bird watching, trekking, fishing, caving and white water rafting are within easy reach. Grand Kampar Hotel features 155 rooms in five categories: Standard Deluxe, Executive Deluxe, Triple Deluxe, Family Suite and Executive Suite. All the rooms are equipped with modern facilities for your comfortable accommodation in Kampar. Wi-Fi connection only available at lobby area. For good and cheap dining in Kampar, there is so much to offer. Guests can dine in under the cozy atmosphere of the in-house cafe which serves Asian and Western cuisines. We also cater for a wide variety of Chinese cuisines in our in-house Chinese restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Kampar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Kampar Hotel Perak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing