We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
35
28
22
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
28
22
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffles continental breakfast hard boiled eggs night stay room was clean chattanooga cereal exit pillows tub
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017

This is a comfortable small hotel and the price is reasonable. Nothing fancy but a solid place to stay. Nice little pool and decent free breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable. It's not right next to the highway so it's pretty quiet. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

We were taking a trip and prior to departing, we booked a room for 4 nights. They offered the best rates in the area for the dates we were staying, and they had a mini-fridge and microwave. When we checked in, the first question we asked was about the pool (part of the reason we chose this place is because they had a good looking pool). Hotel staff said we could not use the pool as the inspectors have not approved it for use yet. Mind. Blown. It is June... not sure why they still had not received approval. I was extremely disappointed and angry that I wasn't able to use the pool for which we paid as a part of our stay. Room was clean upon entering and there was a huge flat screen in there with DirecTV service. Probably the best part of the stay.... We went to put our clothes in the dresser provided and there we found a small amount of mouse feces. The bedspread had a cigarette burn on it and the desk provided in the room looked like it has been cobbled back to life from piece parts. On our second night, we came back from dinner and I commented to Hubs that the room felt damp. Maybe it was the air conditioner? There was also a musty smoky odor that was present intermittently during our stay. To boot, our room key stopped working daily. When we got home from our daily adventures, we had To go back to the lobby each time to get it re-keyed.

Breakfast is minimal - pre-packaged muffins, waffles, cereal, milk, juice, bagels, bread for toast. They did have hard boiled eggs, which was a huge plus for me. No real fruit options, which was disappointing. To wrap up: staff was friendly, showers worked well, and housekeeping was prompt.

Overall, if you need a roof over your head, this is a good place. Otherwise, if you're looking for better quality or amenities, stay elsewhere. We've stayed at much worse places, but for $70ish a night, our expectations weren't very high to start. I'm more bummed about the pool than anything.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TN_RN2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umesh p, Manager at Home Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Hello guests! We wanted to write to you our apologies for not having the pool open on time. Hotels must meet many safety and occupational requirements from the government in order to open our pool to customers. While we strive to exceed all requirements for the safety of our guests, we cannot make the wheels of the bureaucracy turn faster than they do. I'm sure you have experienced this frustration yourself. Thankfully, our pool is now OPEN to all guests for the duration of the summer, but we regret that you were not able to enjoy it during your stay.

Thanks for your visit with us,
Management, Hometown Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

We had to spend the night somewhere without a planned reservation, like we normally do, due to heavy traffic, numerous accidents and unforeseen road construction. I had taken off work early to be able to drive straight through to our destination.
What was planned for heavy traffic driving took several more hours and we had to stop somewhere.
We attempted to use one of the booking apps but we're having difficulty due to the signal strength in our area of driving so we called the hotel directly. Due to the holiday weekend they would not give us the app site rate of $72 but instead charged us $79.99. We guaranteed it with our credit card with the understanding we were paying cash when we got there, explaining the problem we have had in the past with identity theft etc. and we wanted to pay cash, they were fine with that, it was just to guarantee the room. That was fine we were 2 1/2 hours away still as long as no more road problems etc. and we needed someplace to sleep/rest and it would be really late when we got there.
An hour later they called us to make sue we were still coming... We told them before it would be at least 2 1/2 hours an hour before... Yes we were still on our way 1 hour plus away. We got there had to ring the button for the managers/owners to let us in, paid the cash, got in our room. It was ok but the refrigerator was hot and not running. They came in it was unplugged. All was fine.
We settled in, we finally got to sleep and got startled awake by a zapping noise. We couldn't hear it again so we tried to get back to sleep. It did it several times again. We checked to see if it was the buzzer at the door people trying to check in late (our room was by the entrance). We heard it again and found it was the refrigerator. It had a short.... It's 3:30am we're exhausted so we unplugged it and went back to bed. My spouse slept I couldn't.
A few hours later we got up to get ready to leave, the water pressure was EXTREMELY low so a shower took a half an hour for each of us and the toilet would not flush totally either... We went out to the front desk/continental breakfast area and the desk/breakfast attendant was told of what was going on in the room with the refrigerator, shower and toilet. She told the owners/managers and they refused to do anything about it or give us an adjustment or even come out to talk to us.
We needed some place to get some sleep and we had to drive a long way to get to this place that was shown as a 3.9 rating out of 5 and the friendliness of the staff and the hotel were high marks. The low marks were the continental breakfast. The only person, overall that ended up being nice was the morning desk/breakfast attendant who apologized several times telling us they were not going to do anything about the room or our rate and would not come out and talk to us. She was very pleasant and nice. We gave her a tip as we always do to attendants of hotel breakfast areas even though she refused we insisted. She earned it. The breakfast was continental. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE. Dated appliances, no concern for a possible hazardous issue, water pressure and also it would be nice to have more than two towels. Also they had plenty of rooms available.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 4finerthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umesh p, Manager at Home Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear customer,

We are regret any difficulties you had during your stay with us. Rest assured, we always strive to deliver the best possible customer service experience. To address several points in our letter, we cannot offer online rates except on that particular website. Also, we instruct our front desk personnel to call all reservations before the end of the shift. We do this as a courtesy to you and to avoid possible cancellations.

The Hometown Inn is currently undergoing major renovations to improve quality of service and provide a modern, yet affordable customer experience.

Again, we regret any difficulties you experienced during your stay with us.

Sincerely,
The Hometown Inn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

We're truck drivers who had the unfortunate need for a room with our truck at the shop. Freightliner recommended them because they allow pets and we drive with our dog. Called and could barely understand the woman at the desk. Another man gets on and gives us a rate of 69.99. We taxi over and check in and suddenly our total is $100! We have no choice. They accept NO discounts for AAA, AARP or CDL holders. They give us a double Queen smoking room that is old, stained and disgusting! Zero upgrades! Old bedspreads, old carpet, stained walls, cheap furniture covered in dust. I know smoking rooms aren't always picture perfect, but for $100 a night, you'd expect better! Would NEVER recommend to anyone! Horrible! Total ripoff. The woman at the front desk was rude and smug about the rates and our disappointment.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
4  Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

My reservation was changed without my permission then the AC didn't work and the clerk Carolyn was rude nasty and did not accommodate me at all she is the main reason I'm writing this I will tell every traveler not to stay there because of her and how she treats people ...BTW she also said website isn't updated

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
umesh p, Guest Relations Manager at Home Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2016

Darlene, we thank you for your feedback , your reservation was moved due to an emergency stay over and we are truly sorry for that inconvenience to you and your family. The a/c was set for you in the room but when you said it wasn't working we sent the maintenance man and it was working it was just set on low cool instead of high , Ms. Carolyn apologized for the situation , she tried to help and didn't charge full price for the pet fee to show that she was sorry that you were inconvenienced. We want all of our guest to have a pleasurable stay , if you are ever in the area again stop by and let our hotel and staff try to make it up to you and your family , we thank each and every guest that we have and we understand you cant make everyone happy but again we certainly would like to try, as your business is very important to us here at HOMETOWN INN .We certainly enjoyed having you and your family and pet staying with us .IF WE DONT SEE YOU BEFORE THANKSGIVING, WE ALL HERE AT HOMETOWN INN HOPE YOU HAVE A SAFE AND BLESSED HOLIDAY. SINCERELY, THANK YOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews