We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malihom Private Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balik Pulau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Unfortunately i felt that this place missed the opportunity to be really amazing. Its in a unique location, the general service staff are nice, food is nice. But the rooms were not clean and not maintained which is a big issue, also bathroom toiletries had not been properly replenished prior to our arrival. Felt quite let down unfortunately. The basics really need to be there. Do Take the time to enjoy the grounds - its the only partially redeeming factor.

Room Tip: face Georgetown for amazing sunrises - or the straits for sun setters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 5678pop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here as her birthday treat between 20-22 May 2016 and we weren't disappointed. The road up to the estate is narrow in parts and winds back and forth to ascend the hill but once you reach the summit you are there. The staff are professional and friendly and offer fantastic service. The food menu has a great range of options and is prepared fresh for you once you order. A perfect, relaxing retreat in amongst the local natural habitat. Yes there are bugs and lizards, but you are staying in the forest. What more do you expect? The views are amazing and I would definitely recommend booking a massage for your stay too. We went on a weekend where it mostly rained, but that added to the enjoyment of our stay.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

This place really exceeded my expectations. Living in Singapore, I'm always looking for weekends away that are easy to access. This resort manages to be totally away from it all and so serene, yet less than 30 mins drive from Penang airport.

Side note, advise you take the airport transfer. It's more than double the cost of a taxi, but the taxi will only drop you at the bottom of the steep hill, 2km from the resort.

We were warmly welcomed and looked after throughout. The staff ensured we had everything we needed and helped us plan our time, yet didn't overwhelm us. The place itself is fantastic. So well designed and with unique features that have clearly been thought about. There was only one other couple there as it was monsoon season, although it only rained the night we arrived so would definitely recommend this time still. However, even if the resort had been full, there are plenty of places for you to relax, the pool perhaps being the most pleasant.

Food is decent, if not a bit overpriced. Recommend the white fish in laksa. Steak was just ok. Breakfast was always great.

If given a choice of room, I would go for the sunset view, as you can sit in the common hammock it you also want a sunrise view.

Overall a fantastic break - we will be back!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

This is a very nice and relaxing resort. The resort is beautiful and the attention to detail with the creative building of the structures was fab. Any of the barns would be good as they all have fabulous views, some of the city and some of the ocean and islands. We stayed in a sunrise room and it was was gorgeous. There are also lots of private chill out places and a great pool with another stunning view. This would be a great place to celebrate a special holiday or anniversary. We didn't drive up the hill, and a car was sent to bring us up- which was more relaxing. All of the Burmese guys who work at the resort are just outstanding, friendly and very service orientated. We only stayed one night, but felt that we had had a relaxing get away at the end of our stay. The only recommendation I would make would be to improve the food. It was 120rm per person for the set dinner. We had a choice of fish, chicken or beef mains. It was just OK and we felt that 120rm per person was expensive for the quality of the appetizers and desserts. I've read other reviews that said the food was great, so maybe it was just bad luck. Overall, I really recommend staying here and I know we will be going back again!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KellyB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Our whole stay was arranged through emailing the manager who turned out to be our personal butler as well. He arranged for a private pickup at the airport followed by his staff picking us up at the foot of the hill. The same staff checked us into our so special accomodation. The manager then talked to us during dinner which is part of the package. He even instructed his staff to warm up my dinner plate after a hint. Just be prepared for a quiet stay with wifi only at the dining areas. A wonderful change to city living.

Room Tip: Choose accommodation near the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levi1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balik Pulau
15.6 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 88 in George Town
871 reviews
15.8 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 88 in George Town
3,697 reviews
17.3 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Lexis Suites Penang
Lexis Suites Penang
#2 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
260 reviews
16.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,769 reviews
16.1 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malihom Private Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malihom Private Estate

Address: 168 Kiri N/T, Balik Pulau, Penang Island 11000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Balik Pulau
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balik Pulau
Price Range: RM572 - RM793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malihom Private Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malihom, a private estate, perched on the crest of the southern end of Penang, offers a tranquil getaway. Our unique location offers stunning and uninterrupted panoramas from every room, providing all our guests with ever-changing but always immense and breathtaking views. The fresh air, myriad sounds of the birds and stunning views are a feast for your senses whilst delighting in our array of home cooked cuisine and carefully selected collection of wines. We are an intimate boutique Retreat offering a more personal style of service and an intimate atmosphere that is only found in boutique establishments. The estate comprises a cluster of traditional Thai rice barns which have been carefully converted with modern comforts while respecting traditional charms. There are generous indoor and outdoor seating areas to allow guests to soak in the views and the cool breeze from the horizon as well as yoga and holistic therapies offering an array of relaxing treatments. At the hub of the estate lies the main wing which centers the reception, dining and living areas. The barns are linked to the main wing by way of footpaths. Each barn, with its own unique character has a private garden or a deck. This arrangement provides guests with privacy and seclusion. Our unique picturesque settings will provide that unforgettable difference to any occasion whether a romantic stay for two, group vacation, a Conference venue with an edge or a unique Wedding reception to reminisce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Malihom Private Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malihom Private Estate Hotel Penang Island
Malihom Private Estate Penang, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing