We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene hilltop resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malihom Private Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balik Pulau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Maliholm is located hidden away on a hilltop in the Balik Pulau area of Penang and offers stunning views of the sea as well as the lights of Bayan Lepas and the Penang bridge at night. We thoroughly enjoyed the amazing scenery, the lush nature with plenty of fruit trees around the estate, as well as the rustic but well-maintained accommodation in tree-house style villas. Breakfaost was included (Western food), and there was the option of having lunch and dinner at the estate as well, which we only did on our last night, and thoroughly enjoyed.

The staff was amazing as well, always helpful and extremely friendly. I can't thank those guys enough for making our stay so comfortable.

A fair warning however, the road up the hill is not for the faint of heart. The road is steep and narrow, and with hindsight, we should have opted for the pickup service straight away instead of dricing a rental car up there.

Room Tip: Each villa is unique and offers different views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JanDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2016

The Malihom is definitely a gem. It is a little more pricey than your average Malaysian hotel, but it certainly is worth it.
You are high above the island on a hilltop and enjoy magnificent views, whether from your private deck or from the pool.
We stayed for three nights and had diner for two times. You sit on a deck and enjoy an all around view, while terribly friendly serve you a four meal menu that is simply magnificent.
I can only recommend it. And don't worry: The Malihom is amid a durian orchard, but you do not smell them. All you get is a constant refreshing breeze from the sea.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank André H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Well maintained facilities, clean room & bathtub. Excellent service, staff were friendly and attentive, amazing view and awesome pool! Have to try their coconut & lime cake warmly prepared by the owner. Thanks for giving us such a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natenuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

+ Remote
+ Amazing view
+ Helpful, accommodating staff
+ Relaxing
+ Option to go for a 3km rainforest walk around the grounds
+ Infinity pool
+ Detachment from city life
+ Great food
+ Highly attached to nature

- Not everyone can afford to go here
- Tonnes of mosquitos
- You could get bored of you need constant stimulation..

I've seen comments about the place being run down. I can see where these people are coming from. It could be more manicured but then it would not have the same charm it does.
You're not going to a pristine 5 star resort detached from everything. But that's not what this place wants to be.

You're staying in what feels like a very luxurious, very comfortable, beautiful series of cabins in the middle of a rainforest, perched on top of a hill that overlooks the whole of Penang.

You're in a place that has not lost touch with the nature and wildlife surrounding it.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We had a fantastic 4 night stay. Our converted rice barn accommodations were so lovely and very comfortable. We were totally pampered during our stay. James, the manager, made sure we had everything we needed. Joel and the rest of the staff couldn't have been nicer. Everything was extremely clean, including the pool. The food served was outstanding and varied. We did the walk around the estate and through the durian and rambutan orchards. Lots of beautiful birds and butterflies. Malihom is on our list for a return trip! Thank you, Malihom!

Room Tip: I can't imagine that any of their rooms would be bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balik Pulau
15.8 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 88 in George Town
3,704 reviews
15.6 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 88 in George Town
876 reviews
17.3 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Lexis Suites Penang
Lexis Suites Penang
#2 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
261 reviews
16.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,791 reviews
16.1 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malihom Private Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malihom Private Estate

Address: 168 Kiri N/T, Balik Pulau, Penang Island 11000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Balik Pulau
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balik Pulau
Price Range: RM572 - RM791 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malihom Private Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malihom, a private estate, perched on the crest of the southern end of Penang, offers a tranquil getaway. Our unique location offers stunning and uninterrupted panoramas from every room, providing all our guests with ever-changing but always immense and breathtaking views. The fresh air, myriad sounds of the birds and stunning views are a feast for your senses whilst delighting in our array of home cooked cuisine and carefully selected collection of wines. We are an intimate boutique Retreat offering a more personal style of service and an intimate atmosphere that is only found in boutique establishments. The estate comprises a cluster of traditional Thai rice barns which have been carefully converted with modern comforts while respecting traditional charms. There are generous indoor and outdoor seating areas to allow guests to soak in the views and the cool breeze from the horizon as well as yoga and holistic therapies offering an array of relaxing treatments. At the hub of the estate lies the main wing which centers the reception, dining and living areas. The barns are linked to the main wing by way of footpaths. Each barn, with its own unique character has a private garden or a deck. This arrangement provides guests with privacy and seclusion. Our unique picturesque settings will provide that unforgettable difference to any occasion whether a romantic stay for two, group vacation, a Conference venue with an edge or a unique Wedding reception to reminisce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Malihom Private Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malihom Private Estate Hotel Penang Island
Malihom Private Estate Penang, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing