We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malihom Private Estate
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Audi GuestHouse(Balik Pulau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
D'Pearl Hotel(Balik Pulau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
119
36
10
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
36
10
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolperfect retreatmain bathroomsunrise viewdurian seasonwindy roadjungle trailpenang bridgeideal place to relaxlower deckburmese foodspider websbooked directlyour stay was greatthe barnoutdoor bathtubairport pick
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2016

The Malihom is definitely a gem. It is a little more pricey than your average Malaysian hotel, but it certainly is worth it.
You are high above the island on a hilltop and enjoy magnificent views, whether from your private deck or from the pool.
We stayed for three nights and had diner for two times. You sit on a deck and enjoy an all around view, while terribly friendly serve you a four meal menu that is simply magnificent.
I can only recommend it. And don't worry: The Malihom is amid a durian orchard, but you do not smell them. All you get is a constant refreshing breeze from the sea.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank André H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Well maintained facilities, clean room & bathtub. Excellent service, staff were friendly and attentive, amazing view and awesome pool! Have to try their coconut & lime cake warmly prepared by the owner. Thanks for giving us such a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natenuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

+ Remote
+ Amazing view
+ Helpful, accommodating staff
+ Relaxing
+ Option to go for a 3km rainforest walk around the grounds
+ Infinity pool
+ Detachment from city life
+ Great food
+ Highly attached to nature

- Not everyone can afford to go here
- Tonnes of mosquitos
- You could get bored of you need constant stimulation..

I've seen comments about the place being run down. I can see where these people are coming from. It could be more manicured but then it would not have the same charm it does.
You're not going to a pristine 5 star resort detached from everything. But that's not what this place wants to be.

You're staying in what feels like a very luxurious, very comfortable, beautiful series of cabins in the middle of a rainforest, perched on top of a hill that overlooks the whole of Penang.

You're in a place that has not lost touch with the nature and wildlife surrounding it.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We had a fantastic 4 night stay. Our converted rice barn accommodations were so lovely and very comfortable. We were totally pampered during our stay. James, the manager, made sure we had everything we needed. Joel and the rest of the staff couldn't have been nicer. Everything was extremely clean, including the pool. The food served was outstanding and varied. We did the walk around the estate and through the durian and rambutan orchards. Lots of beautiful birds and butterflies. Malihom is on our list for a return trip! Thank you, Malihom!

Room Tip: I can't imagine that any of their rooms would be bad!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

I have to agree with a previous reviewer who said this place has so much potential.

We stayed here for only one night and regrettably, in the five weeks I have been in Malaysia, Singapore and Bali this was the hotel that offered the least value for money. It is in a beautiful location and it has echoes of being a special place in the past, but unfortunately for me it felt run down, in need of serious maintenance and it completely lacked atmosphere. For example, some background music at dinner would add some atmosphere and the only option for breakfast was eggs! Taking what we though was a nice walk round the complex before dinner just took us past empty barns and run down areas.

One thing I would say is that the staff on site were lovely, kind, accommodating and some of the nicest staff I have ever come across. We couldn't fault them, and if there is one redeeming feature about our stay it was them.

It's such a shame that this place seems to be existing on its good name as, for us, it came nowhere near our expectations and was ridiculously expensive compared to the far superior hotels elsewhere at a fraction of the cost. The reality is nothing like the impressive website. When we booked it I was sad we weren't staying a second night because we couldn't afford to but I'm glad we didn't in the end!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank msmackayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews