We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle resort stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malihom Private Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balik Pulau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Stayed here 2 nights from 24th january ,very steep interesting drive up to resort,nice accomidation in thai barn basic but good comfortable bed once you found the way out throught mosquito net ,food very good and nice lounge to sit in did jungle trail in morning very hot and quite hard going when path blocked by vegetation but all part of adventure fantasic views over city and penang bridge especially at night

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Arran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Malihom Private Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2017

Can't believe this place was opened since 11 years ago. The wooden barns are all well kept. The view of the city is just breath taking. We booked 3 barns, two with sunset view and one with sunrise view. Each barn has its own design and decoration. There is an 1-hour hiking trail. The manager and the workers here are really friendly, and helpful.

Room Tip: Depending on which view you like. You can choose the barn with sunset or sunrise view. You can find...
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leongaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

A well kept place. It is a hidden gem here in Penang. The view of the city here is breath taking and we had an amazing night view from our room.

The bed is soft and comfortable. The shower and hot water is to die for. The 2 things I ask for when I am away from home and they have it here.

The staffs here are attentive to our needs and the level of service is brilliant.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016

My wife and I stayed at Malihom for 3 nights and we were delighted by this place. It offers fantastic views to both sides of the island which provides great sunrise and sunset contemplation. The staff is amazingly friendly. The barns are in very good condition and the outdoor bathrooms are so nice (if you like being outside and close to nature).
The food is good but not amazing although the hotel Manager offered us one evening to have a special Burmese dinner which was really great.
The swimming pool area as well as the restaurant/bar area are so quiet and relaxing.

I would definitely recommend the place to anyone wishing to enjoy a peaceful jungle retreat. Note that the hotel is located on top of a hill, quiet far from Georgetown and that taxi rides are expensive! Expect 75 ringit for a ride to the airport, 90 ringit for a ride to Georgetown.
Important note: the Wifi connection offered in the hotel is VERY bad. Do not expect to be able to do some serious internet surfing...facebook barely loads.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

It was a getaway with my family and we were the only family on that day. Had the entire resort to ourselves and we loved the view from the resort. The staffs were attentive and helpful. The drive up to the resort was very narrow and steep. Would recommend guests to park at the bottom of the hill and get the resort to pick you. The resort is quite a distant from Penang town and the attractions. This place is purely for retreat.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrhcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balik Pulau
15.8 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 85 in George Town
3,621 reviews
3.9 km away
Lexis Suites Penang
Lexis Suites Penang
#2 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
242 reviews
15.6 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 85 in George Town
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
17.2 km away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
1,464 reviews
16.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malihom Private Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malihom Private Estate

Address: 168 Kiri N/T, Balik Pulau, Penang Island 11000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Balik Pulau
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balik Pulau
Price Range: RM570 - RM746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malihom Private Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malihom, a private estate, perched on the crest of the southern end of Penang, offers a tranquil getaway. Our unique location offers stunning and uninterrupted panoramas from every room, providing all our guests with ever-changing but always immense and breathtaking views. The fresh air, myriad sounds of the birds and stunning views are a feast for your senses whilst delighting in our array of home cooked cuisine and carefully selected collection of wines. We are an intimate boutique Retreat offering a more personal style of service and an intimate atmosphere that is only found in boutique establishments. The estate comprises a cluster of traditional Thai rice barns which have been carefully converted with modern comforts while respecting traditional charms. There are generous indoor and outdoor seating areas to allow guests to soak in the views and the cool breeze from the horizon as well as yoga and holistic therapies offering an array of relaxing treatments. At the hub of the estate lies the main wing which centers the reception, dining and living areas. The barns are linked to the main wing by way of footpaths. Each barn, with its own unique character has a private garden or a deck. This arrangement provides guests with privacy and seclusion. Our unique picturesque settings will provide that unforgettable difference to any occasion whether a romantic stay for two, group vacation, a Conference venue with an edge or a unique Wedding reception to reminisce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Malihom Private Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malihom Private Estate Hotel Penang Island
Malihom Private Estate Penang, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing