We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for rest in the midst of nature”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malihom Private Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balik Pulau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I have been to Malihom Private Estate twice - once as a couple and once with my family of adults. I have seen families with children during my stay there.

My favourite part of the trip has to be how Malihom had clean air, water, sounds, and sights for total relaxation. We can choose to lounge around, trek, swim, or watch movies, but little else.

It is a little challenging to go to Georgetown from here, but it can be arranged with the hotel staff's help with transport and tour booking.

The hotel staff are very professional and friendly - they pay attention to detail and really make our time there very pleasant and relaxing.

By the way, we happen to love plants and animals and insects, or can manage them easily. This place is not recommended for those who are very afraid of nature as Malihom has plenty.

Room Tip: Email or call the helpful staff to find out which barn is most suited for your needs. There are vari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank michellejane_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here in barn "Aloun" for 1 night with my husband. Better don't come here at night as the road is so small that only 1 car can pass but when we arrived "wowww....." so nice....the place is a retreat for everyone that feel suck with city life.

Plus :
Beautiful view to georgetown and sunrise (different barn different view)
Nice bathtub amazing view with really hot water (i mean reallly hottt)
Hammock
Walking trail to plantation, bird watching
Infinity pool with sunset view
Nice food
Helpful staff and manager (Ms. Siaw Fung)

Minus :
Pricey food (dinner at rm. 110++/person with full course menu
Old dvds and books from library but it's ok not major issues
Hard to get a taxi/grab/uber from here to georgetown/airport

Overall really enjoy trip to malihom and hope I'll be back at durian season as they serve durian in malihom.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Yanni K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

My family, including our 2.5 old daughter, stayed at Malihom for 2 nights. We would recommend this place to those who want a quiet base to explore the island. This isn't your typical hotel. Actually, I think Malihom calls itself a 4 star resort, which doesn't feel like an accurate description and actually sells it short, in my opinion. It's more like a 4 star retreat, a small estate with 7 renovated Thai rice barns. The barn we stayed in was Khanun and it provided excellent morning views. It had one large bed and one twin bed. The house itself was comfortable, but, like the rest of the grounds, not so manicured (and how I would think of "4 star resorts") that it loses its charm. And there's a lot of charm. The bathroom is partly open (privacy not an issue though) and the water you bath in comes from the estate's own natural spring. Bugs were not an issue for us. We had 4 meals at Malihom. The food was generally good, with some dishes more enjoyable than others. Surprisingly, we really liked the soups and the salmon with lemongrass and papaya salsa. We also enjoyed the Burmese dinner. There was a depth of flavors that I didn't expect. The staff who work on the grounds were so accommodating and kind. Myel (sp?), Jeff, etc were very warm. This not a cheap place, but it is one of those special places that, if you're looking for peace and quiet, may stay with you for a while after you leave. Logistically, we paid for airport pick up as we heard the steep hill was difficult with most cars. I'm glad we did airport pick up. On rainy days, that would not be a fun drive. Expenses can add up, of course, if you keep taking airport pick up. I heard some others saying that they take the free hill transfer and then order an Uber down the hill. My only suggestion for improvement would be to offer a few choices for kids meals. Just one or two. Staff were really kind and made sure my picky eater had something to eat. I was glad we brought her snacks to munch on throughout the day.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EthanandJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Stayed here 2 nights from 24th january ,very steep interesting drive up to resort,nice accomidation in thai barn basic but good comfortable bed once you found the way out throught mosquito net ,food very good and nice lounge to sit in did jungle trail in morning very hot and quite hard going when path blocked by vegetation but all part of adventure fantasic views over city and penang bridge especially at night

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Arran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Can't believe this place was opened since 11 years ago. The wooden barns are all well kept. The view of the city is just breath taking. We booked 3 barns, two with sunset view and one with sunrise view. Each barn has its own design and decoration. There is an 1-hour hiking trail. The manager and the workers here are really friendly, and helpful.

Room Tip: Depending on which view you like. You can choose the barn with sunset or sunrise view. You can find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leongaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balik Pulau
15.6 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 88 in George Town
871 reviews
15.8 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 88 in George Town
3,697 reviews
17.3 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Lexis Suites Penang
Lexis Suites Penang
#2 of 10 in Bayan Lepas
260 reviews
16.2 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,769 reviews
16.1 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malihom Private Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malihom Private Estate

Address: 168 Kiri N/T, Balik Pulau, Penang Island 11000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Balik Pulau
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balik Pulau
Price Range: RM572 - RM793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malihom Private Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malihom, a private estate, perched on the crest of the southern end of Penang, offers a tranquil getaway. Our unique location offers stunning and uninterrupted panoramas from every room, providing all our guests with ever-changing but always immense and breathtaking views. The fresh air, myriad sounds of the birds and stunning views are a feast for your senses whilst delighting in our array of home cooked cuisine and carefully selected collection of wines. We are an intimate boutique Retreat offering a more personal style of service and an intimate atmosphere that is only found in boutique establishments. The estate comprises a cluster of traditional Thai rice barns which have been carefully converted with modern comforts while respecting traditional charms. There are generous indoor and outdoor seating areas to allow guests to soak in the views and the cool breeze from the horizon as well as yoga and holistic therapies offering an array of relaxing treatments. At the hub of the estate lies the main wing which centers the reception, dining and living areas. The barns are linked to the main wing by way of footpaths. Each barn, with its own unique character has a private garden or a deck. This arrangement provides guests with privacy and seclusion. Our unique picturesque settings will provide that unforgettable difference to any occasion whether a romantic stay for two, group vacation, a Conference venue with an edge or a unique Wedding reception to reminisce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Malihom Private Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malihom Private Estate Hotel Penang Island
Malihom Private Estate Penang, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing