We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
StayForLong
Priceline
US$113
Fully refundable before 02/06/23
eDreamsUS$113
ZenHotels.com
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
129
44
11
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
129
44
11
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews durian season great weekend rice barns hill top retreat bugs fung privacy penang
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2022 via mobile

The place was Great, Quiet n Relaxing. I went with my daughter. We stayed there for 3days 2nights. The road up at certain point was winding but Don't Worry even an Amateur driver can handle it. It's really a Great place to Stress out n charge Ur Battery
I must say a Big Thank You to the Staffs n Manager Sheau Fung. Very Friendly n Helpful. The Breakfast n Dinner was Yummy. The portion is Big for both of us. If u guys wanna go stay for 3days 2nights is Best. 1 night stay is not enough.
Am going again this coming June as it's Durian season

Room tip: Don't Worry there's Spring Water n Mosquito coil for u. Bring some snacks if u want Ah.. just bring mosquito repellant if u want
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Camper636933
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Malihom Private Estate, Guest Services / Front Office at Malihom Private Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2022

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to leave this great feedback regarding your stay. We are grateful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, thank you for the kind words about our meal and staff service. We put a lot of thought into every dish we served and are proud of our excellent staff. Your kind words mean a lot to us.

Thank you for choosing Malihom as your retreat destination and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Zaki Zainol, Reservation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2020

It is a perfect getaway from the city, as Malihom is very close to Nature, Up the Hill with perfect sceneries. The Accomodation is well maintained for a place close to Nature, we are delighted with the swings and plenty of sitting spots to Enjoy the Serene Place and Tranquility. Most importantly, very very good service from RANA and team members, so thankful to them for being mindful in details and pre-inform us with the driving tips in advance. We decided to spent our dining moments at the dining area and enjoy the company of sounds in nature. If mosquitoes are one of your major concern, you may wanna bring along a repellent but all is well in the room as mosquito net is provided. Will be back again

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ShanAnjell89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Malihom Private Estate, Guest Services / Front Office at Malihom Private Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2022

Dear Shan,

Thank you for your kind and helpful feedback regarding your stay. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, thank you for the kind words about our maintenance and staff service. We put a lot of effort into maintaining our site and are proud of our excellent staff. Your kind words are highly appreciated.

Thank you for choosing Malihom as your retreat destination and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Zaki Zainol, Reservation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2020

Before I experienced Malihom myself, I've read multiple positive reviews on the service and place overall. In preparation to the estate, I packed some food and drinks, worried I might not have access to enough food due to the secluded location of Malihom. However, I cannot be more surprised by the generous servings of food (prepared so deliciously and healthy too!) and the service which was provided by the staff. Shoutout to Masud for going above and beyond to provide us assistance in any way possible, and the receptionist staff (did not get his name unfortunately) for being so helpful during our check-in process. The hospitality they've provided is truly mind blowing!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Climber469653
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Malihom Private Estate, Guest Services / Front Office at Malihom Private Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2022

Dear guest,

Your kind feedback regarding your stay with us is highly appreciated. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us among the nature. Also, thank you for the kind words about our meal and staff service. We put a lot of thought into every dish we served and are proud of our excellent staff.

Thank you for choosing Malihom as your retreat destination and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Zaki Zainol, Reservation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020 via mobile

Malihom offers a terrific way to experience the sheer beauty of this special part of the island.

Having read the reviews, we were prepared for the (very) steep drive up the hill, but felt comfortable with the ability of the driver - who was arranged by Malihom - to deliver us safely. In fact I would say that the journey there is part of the experience, marking the transition from the busy urban development of Georgetown and the main highway through to the airport, through to a uniquely imagined and realised escape.

We were lucky enough to be the only guests for the two nights we were there, and we revelled in the chance to soak up the many qualities of Malihom - its lovely rustic accomodation, the beautifully designed and maintained landscaping, the pure air and water, and the host of peaceful spaces in which to lounge, relax and dream.

The staff are special too. They clearly share a love and commitment to the place while also demonstrating warmth and professionalism. It was a privilege to be looked after by Rana in particular, who is a lovely person and did an excellent job of anticipating and looking after our needs.

The food was a perfect match for the surroundings - honest and healthy, homey but also refined, with large servings that were meticulously prepared and presented.

Thank you Malihom. This was a treasured part of our first trip to Penang.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rosalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 November 2019

Malihom was everything we hoped - private, peaceful, beautiful, even magical. Its buildings, traditional wooden rice barns, have character and charm. They involve steps, in most instances, and mosquito nets (we were actually not troubled by bugs of any kind), and some rooms - though not the bedrooms - are open-sided, so you need to be prepared for that degree of rusticity. You also need to be prepared for a very steep, very sharply zig-zagging drive to get there.
But what rewards await you! The air is cooler and fresher, because of the height, and the views are sensational. The pool is crystal clear and the gardens are meticulously kept, full of plants that are an absolute joy for any horticultural enthusiast. So even before you settle down to a meal in the lovely, open-sided restaurant, you feel relaxed and at home - and that feeling is only enhanced by the charm of the people looking after you.
We would go again in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank naturalCelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews