We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal”

Beachcomber BBQ & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Planning a family get-together or throwing a party with some friends? Choose from our menu for family-sized portions perfect for small parties or large to-go orders. (Up to 75 people) Anything from our menu will be sure to make your event a success."The food is smoking on the grill by the door and the outside porch is nice. They also have good potato salad and Brunswick Stew. Nothing fancy, just good food like it's supposed to be."It's not just the food that keeps people coming back for more. Our family friendly, laid back atmosphere makes sure you can fully enjoy your meal while taking in the surroundings.We are a block and a half from the beach. Visit us for a fun, family atmosphere.Share a rack of ribs with your pet! Our furry friends are welcome in our outdoor seating area."Beachcombers BBQ and Grill is the restaurant with the best beach vibe on the island."Beachcomber BBQ & Grill is a family-owned restaurant on St. Simons Island, GA.
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

We had a nice meal, and it was reasonably priced. The brunswick stew was not good. It was watery and didn’t have any flavor. The BBQ sauce was very good. Pulled pork was good, but it was not the best we’ve ever eaten. Macaroni, fried orca, fries, and coleslaw were good.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank TheDurhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

One of our "must have" restaurants on the Island. Love the laid back feel and excellent food. Great staff, great location.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Long time Golden Isle residents but first time visiting Beachcomber. My husband and I both had the chopped pork platter with different sides. Mixing the sweet and the hot BBQ sauce (on the table) combines to make the perfect sauce for the pork. No gristle or fatty pieces whatsoever. Our food was served quickly from the friendly staff. They were smoking meat in their smoker so the air around the place smelled divine! Only disappointment was that they no longer carry Cheesecake Factory cheesecake :( which knocked down their rating. They have tables both inside and out; inside being the preferred area during the summer.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

My kid ordered the BBQ sandwich and gobbled up every bite. As a vegetarian, I got the potato salad and fried okra. My husband got a burger, and my other (super picky) kid got a bowl of baked beans. I don't eat BBQ, so I can't vouch for whether it's the best on the island, but my 9 year-old thought it was fantastic. The rest of us were happy with our food too, so we'd definitely go back.

As others have mentioned, this place is a dive, so if you're looking for a nice sit-down meal with attentive service, this isn't for you. At Beachcomber, you order at the counter and the food is served on Styrofoam, but the place has character, and it's a quick and easy place to get a solid meal.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amtedrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Had a great pulled pork bbq sandwich. Was ready in five minutes, no lines and the service was great. Right by the beach and King and Prince. Quick in and quick out. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank michiganmanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beachcomber BBQ & Grill also viewed

Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Saint Simons Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Beachcomber BBQ & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing