We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
89
30
6
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
30
6
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rainforest camp insect repellent survival skills leeches borneo nature insects stream chalet moon protein pit environment chris bat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Lupa Masa Rainforest camp for one night and were the only ones there. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this unique experience for everyone.

The staff was very nice and kept us company.

The air is very humid so clothes doesn’t dry. I suggest you bring extra socks with you since your feet might get wet.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fannis412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2018

We had a fantastic time at Lupa Masa Camp. It totally exceeded my expectation. The location is wonderful, rainforest, jungle, water fall... We love the fact it is simple, basic, really hide-away from the busy world, a totally immersed with the nature. As a bird watcher myself, the camp does offer some interesting flying visitors. For me, sitting on the platform, facing to the jungle and just watch the run rises up was so enjoyable. The night walk was full of surprises - full of micro creatures and amphibians. We met a snake expert during our staying, there was fun to sharing our daily exploration. The staff work there are very nice and friendly, guides are quite enthusiastic and experienced, which is very important for jungle exploring. Food was basic yet tasty. Wish we could come back and stay longer days in the wild.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nannan_Li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopPeakTraveler, Marketing Manager at Lupa Masa Rainforest Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

We're glad you had such a great time! Hopefully we will see you again sometime. Thanks for visiting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

I spent a few nights at Lupa Masa and had a great time...the jungle is pristine and beautiful, and I really enjoyed swimming in the stream directly behind the camp. There are lots of trails around the camp but it's more fun to go on guided day and night treks. Terrance and the two staff members were super friendly, knowledgable and helpful. I was traveling alone so they were really great company and made my visit enjoyable. One of the highlights of my stay was foraging for jungle veggies and then enjoying the great lunch (wild, young bamboo shoot) cooked by the staff. The camp is basic but you will be well cared for by the staff. I would definitely recommend a visit to Lupa Masa if you want to escape the city to enjoy beautiful rainforest! Lupa Masa is not far from Mt. Kinabalu (or even Kota Kinabalu) and would be a great, unique side-trip.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank denisnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media T, Creative Content & Social Media Marketing Executive at Lupa Masa Rainforest Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Hi denisnyc!

Thank you for sharing your experience of staying in Lupa Masa Rainforest Camp! :)

We're so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and the activities at the camp. We will convey your appreciation to Terrance and the rest of camp staff. Hope to see you again for your next holiday getaway to Lupa Masa camp. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

After trying to get into other nearby, more famous, jungle reserves and being appalled by the price and forced participation in monopolies Lupa Masa was a very welcome treat. My girlfriend and I had the place to our selves with the 3 staff. One being our guide, Terrance, who was wonderful. If you’re looking for a real jungles experience at a sane price, then look no further. Yes, there are leeches, but there’s also glowing mushrooms and so much more.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 273chrisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media T, Creative Content and Social Media Marketing Executive at Lupa Masa Rainforest Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Hi Chris F,

First of all, thank you for sharing your experience of staying here in Lupa Masa Rainforest Camp! We're so glad that you've enjoyed your stay and we'll be sure to convey your compliment to Terrance. It is our duty to keep the amenities in Lupa Masa Rainforest Camp as eco-friendly as possible so our guest will always feel the real jungle experiences during their stay. We hope to see you again for your next holiday trip to Sabah Borneo! Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

If you want to experience the borneon jungle, visit Lupa Masa! We went on a Kinabatangan River tour just before, and were left with a feeling that we had not yet experienced the real rainforrest. But after visiting this camp we had satisfied our craving for the rainforrest.
The Camp is very back to basics, and there is little to do, but enjoy the environment. There is streams of water from Mount Kinabalu rippling down with waterfalls, around the camp, and you can take a bath in theese, which is amazing!

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank 405andreasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media T, Creative Content & Social Media Marketing Executive at Lupa Masa Rainforest Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi Andreas A!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of staying in Lupa Masa Rainforest Camp. We're glad to see that you had a wonderful time during your stay. This kind of review encouraged us to continuously strive to provide a meaningful experience to our guest in Lupa Masa Rainforest Camp. We hope to have you back here again for your next holiday to Sabah Borneo. Happy Travels! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews