We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for groups, and bucolic garden for summer”
Review of Roessli

Roessli
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biel-Benken
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roessli
Ranked #1 of 1 Biel-Benken B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2017

The restaurant has the typical rustic village-pub flair. It has been renovated and refurbished in recent times, but has maintained it's old-time look and ambiance. In the summer you can sit in the adjacent yard underneath the stately old chestnut trees, where a large salas bar and BarBQ are offered. The restaurant basically offers traditional Swiss fare. Anyhow, we were recently there for the AGM of our club. There is a small separate room downstairs apart from the main restaurant room for smaller groups, but larger groups can use the spacious upstairs room next to the breakfast room used for the hotel guests - there are a handful of simply guest rooms.
The service was very attentive and cheerful, as well as prompt. Being a group of almost 30 people, our meals had been determined beforehand, a choice between a meat dish and a vegetarian dish. Now, I'd eaten at the restaurant before, just with my husband of with friends, and the food had always been excellent. On this occasion however, it was just ok, a bit plain and unimaginative. The veggie burger didn't taste like much of anything, and my friends felt their meat was not particularly tasty either. The portions were ample. Now if this had been my first taste of the Roessli, I definitely wouldn't go back there after that food, but with numerous previous occasions with excellent food, I take this down to the 'mass production', which also had a per capita budget of course, since it was paid for my the club. The club will definitely use it again, and on the whole, I still give this four stars and would go there again privately if I wanted something in that area..

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esty666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2016

Friends from Basel invited us for dinner. A beautiful evening and the garden restaurant was open. Food and service were excellent.When it started raining they lowered a device and we stayed dry We highly recommend the place

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 127DieterL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night in a small bedroom with a balcony at the back of the building. This is advisable considering the rather busy road at the front. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included and was adequate - very good coffee machine. Good value for money and we'll stay there again.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank lonsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I stumbled upon this hotel after a bad experience trying to find a hotel in downtown Basel. We had a business meeting in Beil-Benken so we decided to try to find a hotel in or near there. We got to town late and randomly called Hotel Roessli's number after a Google search for hotels in the area. The owner (Walter) answered and kindly set us up with a room for two nights. This is the perfect "bed and breakfast" style hotel that we had been hoping to find during our trip through Europe. The food was excellent too! I highly recommend this hotel and it's restaurant!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Set in the coutryside 20 mins from Basel center, this family owned and run guest house is Swiss hospitality at its best. You immediately feel at home with careful attention to detaiil given by Annarosa & Walter Gertsch. The quiet countryside and the local chiming of the church bells soon lull you to sleep under comfy duvets. The 5 star retaurant caters for every need. The season specialities with local cuisine are a must. You will be surround by local clientel who discovered this restaurant and keep coming back for more. Book well in advance for room number 17, the best in the house.

Room Tip: Ask for a gardenside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Roessli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roessli

Address: Therwilerstrasse 6, Biel-Benken 4105, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Basel > Biel-Benken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Biel-Benken
Price Range: RM 252 - RM 547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely family owned Hotel, just 20 minutes from Basel. The Restaurant offers traditional swissfood. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing