We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
34
30
10
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
30
10
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam room ice room min treatment changing rooms facial massage lovely relaxing atmosphere complimentary tea and coffee facilities including quiet room exclusive use on arrival birthday treat hired bikes farmhouse grill hot tub therapist jets
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Treated to a Sun Down Spa experience, I enjoyed the variety of steam rooms and outdoor thermal pool. The staff were friendly and my daughter and I had a good time with champagne to make us feel thoroughly spoiled.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mog_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Being a local to area I've used the spa at bluestone several times in 2012 used for my hen party was hard work trying to get us all
In together and to use facilities all day so could spread treatments out this took lots of persuading but got there in the end they always had a lovely menu in the restaurant in the spa and served wonderful desserts anyway got excited on using the spa recently to see they had changed the spa day experiences to include full day use of facilities but lunch would be a bento box anyway asked to look at their full
Menu to be very very disappointed only bento boxes or afternoon tea!!! Bluestone what are you thinking yes have healthy things to choose from but seriously this is extreme a girly day at the spa surely should come with a nice lunch and dessert was so dissapointed! Also spa area not kept as nice as one would expect from such a resort. As for treatments had the pregnancy massage which was also dissapointing did not last the full 50 minutes more like 40 mins and therapist talked all the way through . Between previous communication issues and now these issues this is no longer going to be my first choice of spa days such a shame! Bluestone bring back the full menu especially the red velvet cheesecake!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank tinkerbelle2380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The thermal rooms are great; there are about 6 rooms plus the 'experience' showers. A couple of the rooms are saunas, one ice room, three steam rooms.

The outdoor hydrotherapy pool was great- it was really warm which was great as it was pretty cold outside.

I can't comment on the value of the treatments as mine was included as part of our inclusive package; I had a back, neck and shoulder massage which was great. The rooms were very relaxing and the staff helpful.

The cafe looked a bit naff; occasionally a member of staff walked through to ask if anyone wanted anything to eat or drink, but the kitchen seemed to be a tiny little area behind saloon-style doors- I wouldn't have eaten there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

12 of us came here for a hen party in the first week of December after seeing advertisements for hen party spa days, and upon booking we were looking forward to exclusive use of the spa for 2 hours, canapés, champagne and an express mani. Once we had agreed the booking we had numerous problems with actually getting hold of anybody to pay, they never answer the phone! When we did finally get through they told us we couldn't pay individually, as originally promised to us. After various phone calls and tracking down the "manager" they then agreed to let us pay and we had 2 days in which to do so or we would loose our booking. Once we arrived, we were not even greeted, and a member of the party had to actively seem someone to ask them o show us around - it seemed as though tidying know we were coming!!!
After being stood around like lemons for 10 mins, someone of which I can only describe as a child sheepishly came and ushered us ink the changing rooms, the changing rooms were fine.
After standing around for a few mins again someone came and Gav us some robes. We them headed to the spa of which found out that our exclusive use was not so exclusive!!! Although there wasn't loads of people there were halva dozen couples in there which we didn't expect. We were show the different rooms and the benefits to each and then left to our own devises.
We then headed downstairs for our canapés - which was considering this was a health spa day we were disgusted to be fried food (Iceland specials!!) as well as this we had no chairs to sit on!
We then had To ask for our champagne and water.
Although there were a number of bad points there were some nice parts I.e the facilities are good, treatments are ok, but unfortunately the management (or lack of) just didn't know what they were doing and as such led tow very disappointing day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lbsbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We got a great deal on last minute dot com for 2 course light lunch, glass of bubbly on arrival and access to the spa facilities for twenty pounds per person. We went on a friday and there was only 6 people including us there .... bliss!

Arrival - you have to park your car a bit of a walk away from the spa its self, not a problem as its set in a national park so the walk is lovely, but the map they gave us/sign posts aren't the best, spa users should get a complimentary golf buggy which are available on site, especially as the walk back to the car is up hill. (but thats if i am being ultra lazy :)

Lunch - Was a baguette or wrap with choice of filling and a desert of which i had lemon tart with clotted cream, courses were not out of this world but delicious nevertheless, the glass of bubbly was actually real champagne (couldn't believe this!) which i requested to have with the lunch instead of on arrival, i did have to remind the waitress of this but it wasn't a problem.

Spa Facilities - We were provided with an informed welcome, towel, robe and slippers and shown to the changing rooms which have fantastic showers with shampoo & conditioner, ample room to get changed and lockers that require a refundable £1, but they could do with a few more hairdryers/ straighteners as there is only one for each.
Once changed we were given a tour of the facilities, the thermal spa was a salt sauna, brick sauna, marine steam, herbal steam, another type of sauna, ice room and power showers, all of which are accessed off the same room. All the saunas and steam rooms were large in fact the largest I've ever been in i don't understand the other comments saying they are small?? all were clean and well maintained. The herbal steam does have a intermittent loud banging every so often not much of an issue, but could be looked at and maybe they could have music inside the rooms not just in the main bit. The hydrotherapy pool is located separately outside, but its heated & was warm enough for us, it is a bit weird having to walk through the cafe to get to it though maybe they could put up a screen. There was drinking water readily available throughout the facilities which was good.

The relaxation room (mainly used for people after treatments) wasn't the best, we went in after our time in the thermal rooms, the beds were comfortable but the CD player had stopped so no music, you could here delivery wagon outside and the lights were too bright, both things that could be easily fixed and obviously this isn't an integral part of the experience as we didn't have treatments so we weren't to fussed.

All in all i would go again, if you are just looking for some timeout it did the trick, a nice few hours relaxation with lunch, the place could do with a little TLC especially the cafe i.e wonky tables but not the worst ive seen and it served its purpose. The thermal rooms which is what we mainly went for however were excellent.

I would recommend and i would go again :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews