We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquility broken only by the sound of crashing...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Paul do Mar, Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Richard R
Wortham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquility broken only by the sound of crashing waves”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Sunny House is a delightful villa set in a really peaceful fishing village with excellent access to walks, local shops, cafes and bars. It sits right among the walled banana and fruit gardens, and one can walk though them to the village centre. The house is very well equipped, including beach towels, BBQ and a full range of patio furniture for use on the two beautiful sun terraces.

There are many places nearby to visit including Jardim do Mar, Calheta, levada walks and the surrounding hills. The exhilarating cliff walks at each end of the village are experiences not to be missed.

Paul and Iva are very welcoming and extremely helpful.

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Nov 2014
Dear Wortham UK TA member.
Thanks for a 5 star, excellent review and recommending Sunny House Paul do Mar!
We are sure that you will return to Madeira and we hope that you stay again on the sunniest warmest south west Calheta coast in Sunny House or another property that we manage.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Best wishes
Paul & Iva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Reviewed 10 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Date of stay: December 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Jan 2014
"2 weeks in a perfect surrounding."

"Very beautiful accomodation equipped with everything you need."

"You hear nothing else than the wave breaking in one of the sunniest places of Madeira. "

"To sum it up: we recommend the sunny house for those who don`t like party and action, but nature and privacy."

Dear Karsten and friends from Germany
thanks for the '5 Star' 'Excellent' Review for ‘Sunny House’ Paul do Mar.

Your review confims that:

-the House has “a perfect surrounding”
-"Very beautiful accomodation equipped with everything you need"
-"You hear nothing else than the wave breaking in one of the sunniest places of Madeira. "

We liked your conclusion:
“we recommend the sunny house for those who don`t like party and action, but nature and privacy."

Also, thanks for pointing out that:

“The kichen is completely arranged, so you are able to cook all you want.”

and how good the location is for services.

“Other villages with restaurants or a supermarket can be reached by car within a few minutes.”

We are happy that you valued our customer service from Enquiry to check in, during your stay until check out. You wrote:


“The owners Iva and Paul are very nice people an helpful with information, tips and other service”

We look forward to your return to Madeira and hope you choose Sunny House or another property we manage. Stay in touch with what is happening in Madeira through our blog!

Best wishes

Paul and Iva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Reviewed 28 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Date of stay: October 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Nov 2013
"Sunny House was great and was fully equipped with everything we needed"
"We didn't like: Nothing!"
"We only had time to stay one week, which was definitely too short. So, we'll try to return to Madeira in the future."


Dear B.F. from Germany
thanks for the '5 star' 'excellent' review for Sunny House, Paul do Mar and that you would recommend the house to your best friend.

We are over the moon that you wrote that:

"We didn't like: Nothing!"

Thanks for so many likes..particularly:

- Sunny House was great and was fully equipped with everything we needed.
- The ocean, the waves, the sun ... of Madeira
- The better known trails of Paul do Mar: Caminho Real and Vereda dos Zimbreiros
- The lesser known trails of Paul do Mar: along the beach to Jardim do Mar (only possible during low tide)
- The Sunday market in Prazeres with local fruits and vegetables

Also, you wrote:
"We only had time to stay one week, which was definitely too short. So, we'll try to return to Madeira in the future."

So, naturally, we look forward to your return to Madeira and hope that you will base yourself again at Sunny House for another activity and relax holiday!

Best wishes and plan your next stay in Madeira with our blog!

Paul & Iva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
glos. uk
Reviewed 16 May 2013 for a stay in December 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: December 2012
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 May 2013
"in a lovely position"
"has everything that you require"
"very clean" and
"tidy"
"nothing is too much trouble"
"Will be back in September 2013!"

Dear Whalen
thanks for a '5 star' excellent' review. Your review confirms that Sunny House's location is special: "in a lovely position"

Also that it is well-equipped: "has everything that you require"

and

"very clean" and
"tidy"

We are very happy too that you value our customer service from the enquiry stage to after checkout. You wrote:

"Paul & Iva are excellent peop[le and nothing is too much trouble for them"

We look forward to your return to Sunny House in September 2013. Let us know if you have any special requirements that we can manage for your check in and stay. Best wishes and keep following what is happening in Madeira through our blog.

Paul & Iva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KOPER
Reviewed 12 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 May 2013
"Very nice"
"comfortable house"
"quiet village"

Dear Valter and Family
thanks for another '5 star' 'excellent' review for Sunny House in Paul do Mar fishing village and surfspot. Your review confirms that the House was "Very nice" "comfortable" and that the location was "quiet" for a small family group. We hope that you will return to Madeira soon and will stay at Sunny House again. Follow what's happening in Madeira on our blog. We look forward to hearing from you.

Best wishes
Paul & Iva
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.