We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Chicago Museum”
Review of The Field Museum

The Field Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$24.00*
and up
Field Museum of Natural History Admission
Ranked #37 of 652 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of America's premier natural history museums, the Field's "Live over Time" exhibit now houses "Sue," the largest and most complete Tyrannosaurus rex ever discovered.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I love this place on so many levels (three to be exact). We got in quickly having purchased our tickets online ahead of time with the Go Card City App, which I also recommend. We didn't spend even five minutes in line.

As soon as we got in we were touring exhibits within minutes. We started with Birds and moved on to the South Pacific area. We enjoyed the gemstones and minerals area too. Of course the biggest hit is the dinosaurs area with lots of big skeletons and loads of great information on the evolution of the planet, going back billions of years. Lots of information, but always well summarized for those that just wanted to skim.
Sue the T-Rex is currently (March-April 2018) being moved to a new exhibit, but you can still see her (in pieces) in the new area they are constructing.

The cafe was way too crowded and busy so we braved the chill of the lake breeze to grab Chicago Hot Dogs outside from the food truck area. We got back into the museum without delay.

The Native American exhibit was also awesome, with a wide range of exhibits.

I first visited this museum to see the King Tut exhibit back in 1977. I look forward to my next visit. It's a classic, and well worth the price of admission. It is also close to the Art Institute and the hotel we stayed at in the Loop area near Michigan Avenue. The Aquarium is close by as well.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"t rex"
in 802 reviews
"natural history"
in 293 reviews
"terracotta warriors"
in 187 reviews
"ancient egypt"
in 167 reviews
"egyptian exhibit"
in 166 reviews
"evolving planet"
in 127 reviews
"underground adventure"
in 113 reviews
"stuffed animals"
in 100 reviews
"jurassic world"
in 95 reviews
"access pass"
in 88 reviews
"main hall"
in 74 reviews
"permanent exhibits"
in 75 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 169 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 160 reviews
"on display"
in 201 reviews
"shedd aquarium"
in 165 reviews
"general admission"
in 92 reviews
Filter

561 - 565 of 8,076 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

First advice: order tickets online so you can use the Will Call line and save time upon arrival. Parking is across the street, underneath Soldier Field. That short walk can be cold but there is a coat check in the lobby. Once you have entered, there are some good, special exhibits including 3D movies. The Sue skeleton is being relocated, so not currently on display. There are tons of other dinosaurs to see. It is pretty interesting to learn how many fossils have been found in the state of Illinois. The mummy exhibit is worthwhile but some of the details about how they are made can be a little much for younger kids.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank AndreaM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Come here early. What an inspiring museum. Building is gorgeous. Then the exhibits are diverse and world class.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Noeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Always a great visit. "Sue" the T-Rex is being relocated and is partially assembled so not as good a view as in the past but still excellent. (If the new Sue exhibit is in the room where it is being reassembled the new location seems far less dramatic than the very high ceiling main lobby however.

Better value to become a member if there are 4 or more in your family but be sure to enter via the South Side (facing Soldier field) as that entrance has a separate line for members. The North entrance (facing Shedd Aquarium) requires you to be in line with everyone else to become a member so it can take 'much' longer. We do 2 times a year and there seems to be new things to see each visit so seems to be a good job rotating some exhibits.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank patrickhS3831ZM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Loved it visit to the field museum. Unfortunately, Sue was disassembled for relocation. We loved the exhibits on ancient Egypt and on evolution.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank leojtracnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Field Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing