We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ambassador Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$168
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Chicago West Loop(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$110
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$157
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$285
US$266
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$147
US$133
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$229
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kinzie Hotel(Chicago)
US$160
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,720)
Filter reviews
1,720 results
Traveller rating
412
666
359
155
128
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
412
666
359
155
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are smallboutique hotelwhole foodssmall deskfew blockscloset spacemichigan averiver northfront desk staffbed was very comfortablelocation is greatdowntown chicagothe magnificent milecouple blocksmag milenavy pierlobby
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,720 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018

My first time in Chicago and this hotel was great, very clean and the bed comfy, the location is perfect, you can walk to Navy Pier in 30 Minutes or just 15 minutes to the Magnificent Mile. Around the corner you will find a Starbucks, a whole food supermarket where you can have even dinner (soups, salad, sandwiches etc). We always went to Eggsperience for breakfast, which is just two blocks away.
Our first room was ok, quite tiny, facing the huge construction work opposite the hotel - I asked for another room which was not a problem and I got one facing the other side, having a beautiful view on Chicago being much larger and much more silent.
Service was ok, I would stay here again.
What I did not like - we needed a cab to another hotel, they provided us with a car, which was not a real cab, but a black car, smelling totally like cigarettes inside, driver was friendly but it was not possible to get a receipt which I would have needed as I was on a business trip.

Room Tip: facing the backyard of Hotel, the higher floor the better
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Multi-Travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi Multi-Travelgirl - Thank you very much for posting your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you were able to visit neighboring restaurants and attractions. We are happy to learn that our helpful staff was able to assist you with a room change. Thank you again for visiting us and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

When in Chicago on business, I often stay at The Godfrey next door -- a great boutique hotel. This time, it was sold out, and our corporate travel agent put me next door at the Felix. The folks at The Godfrey said it was a "sister hotel," so we thought it would be of a similar standard. Nope. It is definitely not. The lobby is chic, but beyond that, it's pretty shabby. My tiny room straight up stank -- as in smelled terrible, like strong mildew. The carpet was actually damp, so something might have happened there. I called down to the front desk, but they were also sold out, so no other rooms. The shower smelled a bit icky as well. The AC/fan was ridiculously loud; good thing I always bring ear plugs. Couldn't get the wifi to work either.

The hotel boasts about its location, and it's cheap. Those are the only pluses. If you can afford it, stay at The Godfrey instead.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1211.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kebnabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Hi kebnabi - Thank you for your detailed review and for staying with us. We have shared your comments with our team and will conduct remedial training as appropriate. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Great location within walking distance many tourist, shopping and dining locations and within two blocks of two metro stations. Rooms have been recently refurbished. Unfortunately, they did not install double glazing which means you get significant street noise at times. The air conditioner can also be noisy and rattle annoyingly. Rooms are not large, but they are adequate, even when you have two singles with 3 suitcases in one room. No bath, but a good shower instead. A significant lack from my point of view, there is no tea or coffee making in the room, nor is there a bar fridge.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank LynetteJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Hi LynetteJB - Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you were able to visit neighboring restaurants and attractions. In keeping with our eco-friendly policies, we do not have coffee machines in our guests rooms. Household appliances like coffee machines continue to draw electricity when plugged in, even if turned off. We provide complimentary, fair-trade coffee and tea every morning. We also do not automatically equip guest rooms with refrigerators. We do provide guests with mini fridges upon request though, pending availability, with advance notice preferred. Thank you again for your time and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

“Boutique” hotel which was ok. Beds and pillows were fantastic. Functionality wise with two friends sharing a room, it was ok. Hard to find outlets. Could only find one. No fan in the shower and the room smelled musty. Not much for towel hooks or bars in the bathroom so finding room for our stuff was a bit of a challenge. Cute space. Nice staff. Great location.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mrstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Mrstewart - Thank you for your detailed review and for staying with us. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our urban location, and that our friendly staff was able to assist you. We have shared your comments with our team. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

I do not recommend staying in this hotel if you are on business. The ACs on the rooms are too noisy and the wifi is poor. We asked to be changed from room because the AC did not let us sleep (probably because they are old) and were moved the next day to another room as noisy as the previous one.
Others cons: the rooms are tiny which makes it uncomfortable if you are sharing the room with somebody else. The wifi hardly works. There is no closet which is inconvenient if you are traveling for business or need to take cloths out of the luggage. There is no breakfast and no fridge in the rooms either. And the staff is not friendly.
The only pro is the location.
But overall I don’t think this hotel could be categorised as a 4 star as shown online.
I will start travelling to Chicago a lot on business but will not choose Felix again unfortunately.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank Sofia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgejordan, General Manager at Hotel Felix, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Sofia G - Thank you very much for posting your review. While our rooms are cozy in nature, we find most guests appreciate our urban location, which is just steps away from Chicago’s landmarks, including the Magnificent Mile, museums, shopping and more. We appreciate your candid feedback about some items not being to standards in the room, such as the air conditioning. We will certainly ensure these types for things are checked daily so as not to occur again. In keeping with our eco-friendly policies, we do not automatically equip guest rooms with refrigerators. We do provide guests with mini fridges upon request though, pending availability, with advance notice preferred. Hotel Felix meets the standards of a four-star hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews