We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice variety” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Water Tower Place

Water Tower Place
Book In Advance
More Info
US$48.00*
and up
Chicago Grand Half-Day Tour
Ranked #45 of 631 things to do in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Where downtown Chicago comes to life.At the pinnacle of Chicago's famed Magnificent Mile, Water Tower Place is Chicago's premier shopping destination. Its stunning eight-level atrium features more than 100 of your favorite stores and restaurants plus a mix of distinctive specialty shops and boutiques. It offers a unique, high-energy urban shopping experience you simply won't find anywhere else in the city. In short, Water Tower Place is the place to shop.
Oakley, IL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice variety”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

It's nice to have a variety of stores in one building. The mall is nicely kept up.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank barbi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    228
    81
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Logansport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love to shop? Here is your heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

There is nearly every store you can think in here and if you can't find it there, you can find it on the streets surrounding Water Tower Place.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank dejimita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lots of good shops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

An attractive, centrally-located shopping venue, over seven floors. It includes a Macy's. Very youth-orientated.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank AdrianDelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A little piece of Chicago history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Water Tower on Michigan Ave is pretty hard to miss. It almost looks like a small chapel in the middle of all the trendy stores surrounding it, but take a visit during the day if you can. When I went, they had a photo collection of what old Chicago looked like prior to the fire. It's a quick and easy visit if you have 30 minutes to spare.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank 121star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice mall, wouldn't advise staying late on a Saturday night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

We travelled to Chicago for a gymnastics event and spent some time shopping. No question that Water Tower Place is a great place to shop. The only issue we had was about 5:45 on Saturday night the crowd significantly changed and we noticed a greater police presence along with a definite change in vibe of the place. There were swarms of young people that basically took over the whole mall and the language that we heard was not suitable for young children and kind of ruined the whole mood. We also witnessed a young mother discipline her two year old child by taking off her belt and beating her child with it. Not great for my kids to see and there was no one of authority on that floor to intervene. I have never experienced anything like it so I would never go back at night to shop.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Water Tower Place also viewed

 

Been to Water Tower Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing