We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Ranked #5 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Great rooms. The bathrooms are spacious and high quality toiletries. Towels are really nice (smell good) and the best are super comfortable!!
The lobby bar has an awesome bartender (Eddie) who is very friendly and pours great drinks.
Also front desk is super accmodating; they even offered to go to walgreeens and get me dental floss!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank MissMollyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2017

I spend a great deal of time staying in hotels, especially in Downtown Chicago.

I was AMAZED by the fabulous service at the Gwen! During the week I recently spent at the Gwen, the list of people who went out of their way to make me feel welcome is long. The Doormen are amazingly attentive. The front desk staff, especially a young lady who I believe was named Moira, were friendly and accommodating. The maid service is great, and they were willing to work around my odd schedule without complaint.

However, it was the service from the concierge (Frank and I believe Manny) that really sets the Gwen apart. The little details make a big difference, and these guys were true pros! I look forward to staying at this excellent hotel again soon!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Original_NJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

After an exhausting day, was met by an amicable personnel at the bar. The bar man - Ed/Eddie is excellent barman. Loved his Moscow Mules and some collection of beers recommended by him - non fussy, not working only for tips, just a genuine good bar man. Hope he is still there, since I'll be visiting again very soon!

The seating is great, both inside or outside. The outside has a nice view of the city's skyscrapers. The patio has a nice lighting, easy on the eye decor with some chairs/tables/sofas all pretty comfortable.

We ordered the drinks inside and then went out, and left a handsome tip which unfortunately didn't go to the staff inside, but was shared by the staff outside. I apologized then, and I apologize now for that. But such an arrangement is just beyond comprehension for me.

I recommend the place for its nice hotel rooms, lovely staff (right from the entrance to the building, at the reception, and of course the bar).

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indczr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

The circa Bar is outside the grand lobby area of the hotel. It is an outdoor patio with contemporary lighting and views. We got drinks and some appetizers at the bar. It is a perfect place to relax and enjoy company. Be aware of your surroundings when you leave the building late at night, you might get mistaken for "someone else!"

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LMK101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy D, Front Office Manager at The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear LMK101,

Thank you for staying at The Gwen, Michigan Avenue Hotel. We are thrilled you enjoyed our Circa Lounge and our newly renovated outdoor terrace. We appreciate your feedback and if you would like to reach out to me directly to share your experience, please email me at Jeremy.dasilva@thegwenhotel.com

Warm regards,

JEREMY DASILVA
DIRECTOR OF FRONT OFFICE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

I recently hosted a company event in the Luxe Suite on the 16th floor overlooking Michigan Avenue. Allie was a pleasure to work with. The event was well received by our guests and was intimate, classy and no detail was overlooked. The suite provided a great space to network and the outdoor terrace is a hidden gem! I would absolutely host another company event at The Gwen!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Gray Hotel
Kimpton Gray Hotel
#7 of 192 in Chicago
388 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#6 of 192 in Chicago
2,256 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 192 in Chicago
2,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 192 in Chicago
1,583 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago

Address: 521 North Rush Street, at Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3646 (Formerly Conrad Chicago)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#16 Business Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#19 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: RM614 - RM2,102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago 4.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing our newly transformed guestrooms, with splendid views of the Windy City, The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago is rooted in the history and heritage of the city's Magnificent Mile, paying homage to the 1930s in both its architecture and ethos. The newest member of Starwood Hotels and Resorts' prestigious group of Luxury Collection Hotels is an artistic icon that exudes timeless style and elegance. Housed within the landmark McGraw-Hill Building, The Gwen features an Art Deco aesthetic amplified by a sculptural façade, famously created by artist Gwen Lux in 1928. The idea of a female artisan making her mark in a predominantly male design city depicts an exciting atmosphere of change. The building has been home to many stories in its illustrious past, and today The Gwen provides the ideal canvas for guests to create their own distinct memories. This 311-room hotel includes 199 King accommodations with separate soaking tubs and showers, 54 Double/Double accommodations, as well as 34 luxurious suites, including some featuring beautiful terraces overlooking Michigan Avenue. The inventory, which averages 380 square feet per guest room, includes rooms that are ADA-accessible. Guests of The Gwen can enjoy the use of plush bathrobes and slippers to make their stay more comfortable, as well as complimentary in-room basic Internet access (wired and wireless), a 42-inch flat screen television with HD stations, a surround sound system, a Keurig brewing system, and an in-room safe. Offering the best of Chicago from right outside its doors, The Gwen is located on the Magnificent Mile, minutes away from premier shopping, world-class dining, and exciting cultural and entertainment hotspots, such as Navy Pier and Millennium Park. Connected to The Shops at North Bridge, The Gwen provides guests with enclosed access to upscale retailers, such as Nordstrom Michigan Avenue, and Stuart Weitzman. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Chicago Hotel Chicago
Chicago Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing