We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Buckingham Club
Ranked #133 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Selected this hotel based on my client's location (in the same building) and corporate rate. The room had a great view, but lacked some of the amenities I have come to expect (microwave, breakfast, etc.). Being in the financial district, most of the casual restaurants and sandwich shops are only open during the day, but the walk to the Skydeck and Millenium Park is reasonable. The best part of this hotel is the view and the staff, especially Yecenia. What an amazing person! Yecenia was friendly, extremely helpful, and very patient for this tourist's first trip to Chicago. I hope Yecenia is working the next time I visit, because I need really good directions in my wanderings.

Room Tip: The building is primarily office space in the heart of the financial district. Don't be surprise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julianne W, Public Relations Manager at The Buckingham Club, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Hello Sharon,

Thank you for staying with us! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your interactions with Yecenia, I'll be sure to share that information with our General Manager.

We are working on adding some amenities to our offerings, hopefully the next time you come and stay with us we'll have some of them implemented!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2017

The cab driver didn't believe this was a hotel and I wasn't sure either until I went in and asked the lone security guard. After a few minutes the front desk man came down and checked me in. You have to get a security badge for the office building and then change elevators to get to the 40th floor. Once you're there it's a nice room with great views, but no amenities like room service or a bar lounge. It was great for me because it connects directly to the CBOE where I had business, so I could avoid the 20 degree Chicago day! I've heard it has access to a great athletic club but I didn't have time to check it out.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Expatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julianne W, Public Relations Manager at The Buckingham Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Hello there, and Happy New Year!

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are actively working on improving our hotel signage in the vicinity and inside the building, we certainly want our guests to feel at home the second they step foot on property! Please come visit us again in the future to check out some of the amenity upgrades we're working on as well!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The hotel is on the 40th floor and you have to go through an office building to get to the hotel. The rooms were nice. There was a very basic breakfast (coffee, tea, cereal, some pastries) when we stayed there on the weekend. Great view from the room. Housekeeping staff were pretty rude. They came knocking mid morning and when I told them that I would be in the room for another hour or so, they got annoyed and told me that I needed to be out by noon for them to clean it. I liked having a full gym attached which was why we stayed there but I'm not sure would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portland_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julianne W, Guest Relations Manager at The Buckingham Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed the room and location, we are big fans of those items as well! That being said, we're extremely sorry for the interactions you experienced with our cleaning staff. While it's important that we get each room turned over in time for the next guest, we have been trained to treat each guest with respect and patience- I'm sorry that you were not afforded that privilege. We would love to have you again in the future, please don't let that experience deter you from staying with us again!

Julianne, Director of Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The room pictured is the one we had on the 40th floor with a free upgrade to a suite provided. We came for a three-night getaway in the Windy City. Wonderful view and the staff was top notch in all respects. The location of the hotel was great. If we could get the same deal we would be back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julianne W, Guest Relations Manager at The Buckingham Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we would love to have you back the next time you are celebrating a special occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This hotel is on the 40th fl of the Chicago Stock Exchange, so not your usual hotel. And you come and go through an office foyer. But the rooms are terrific and the views, in any direction are spectacular. Staff are there 24/7, but it is different from a typical hotel.

Room Tip: Anything overlooking Lake Michigan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phyllis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julianne W, Guest Relations Manager at The Buckingham Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi Phyllis!
We are very proud of our terrific rooms and views, thank you for taking the time to write a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Silversmith Hotel Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Hotel Blake Chicago
Hotel Blake Chicago
#37 of 191 in Chicago
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown
Downtown / The Loop
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago/North Loop
Downtown / The Loop
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buckingham Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buckingham Club

Address: 440 S La Salle St, 40th Floor, Chicago, IL 60605-1028
Region: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: RM 478 - RM 1,139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Buckingham Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckingham Club Hotel is the ultimate urban oasis for a romantic getaway right in the heart of downtown Chicago. The Buckingham Club Hotel provides an intimate and quiet stay complemented by high-end, modern amenities, such as a fully equipped fitness center, touting boutique classes, golf, boxing and yoga, along with a luxurious spa, pool and Jacuzzi to unwind after a busy day in the city. It truly is the best of both worlds and leaves the traveler with everything he or she might need to feel both at home and away. With only a select number of rooms and suites, guests can enjoy VIP service by welcoming and attentive staff members. The Buckingham Club, in its unconventional and unexpected design and amenities, allows travelers to experience the beauty and energy of Chicago from a luxurious, secluded and restorative Penthouse setting. Book your reservation today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Buckingham Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Athletic Club Hotel Chicago
Buckingham Athletic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing