We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Copy of London's Globe Theater” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier

Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier
Ranked #10 of 179 Concerts & Shows in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Recipient of the Regional Theatre Tony Award, Chicago Shakespeare Theater offers a broad spectrum of theatrical experiences year-round, engaging and entertaining audiences from all walks of life and from around the world.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
161 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Copy of London's Globe Theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Always well staged, and acted Shakespeare plays. The small size adds to the ambiance.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank smdyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    77
    18
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
174 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Laugh, laugh until I thought I would die!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Shakspeare a side splitter? In the case of this production of "A MidSummer Night's Dream", you betcha. The usual play within a play with Bottom and his friends took center stage. While the rest of the company was as good as it always is and the sets as equally stunnning, Gary Griffen outdid the company's high quality work by amplifying the comic roles with specially chosen comic actors. While every production won't get you laughing this way, I have not seen a funnier play anywhere than this excellent production. And after 7 seasons of tickets at this theater, it ranks as one of the best. Although the usually dominant confusion of lovers was played down and not played as well as the comic roles, the production is a can't miss. Like everything we have seen at CST on the Pier, you can trust that this theatre troupe will always give you a great theater experience.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I just saw A Midsummer Night's Dream and it was fantastic! The stage and theatre were were perfect and the actor's were fantastic. I can't wait to go back and see another play there.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LombardJess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mokena, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Theatre puts you right in the thick of the action.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We wnet to see Aladdin at the CST and it was amazing. First time there made me want to go back the next day to see another show. The actors use the entire theatre to tell the story, even running past you in the aisles. It was great to see a classic tale that the company made its own. Any play here would certainly be wonderful and I am looking forward the seeing one of the Bard's plays performed here as well. (oh and after the show, you are at Navy Pier. What a great venue!)

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank allstaranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion, MI 49224
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

All the performances I have seen there have been terrific and I am a Shakespeare fan.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tdoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier also viewed

 

Been to Chicago Shakespeare Theater on Navy Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing