We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gbpsf
San Francisco, California

Beautiful, Historic and Updated

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Mar 2021via mobile
We have stayed here many times over the years, and we chose The Knickerbocker again in March of 2021. These are Covid times travelers; things are not the same and won’t be for awhile. Enjoy the pricing while you can and know that you are sacrificing at the same time. You can’t have both. The staff is bare bones, but the hotel remains beautiful. True, there are no amenities available at this time, but strolling around the neighborhood offers all of the dining and drinking a visitor could hope for. We were lucky enough to be checked in by Anita (also working accounting as the staff is so sparse) at an awkward time of the mid morning. She went out of her way to find us one of our two rooms so we could store our luggage before going out on our tours. She saved our day and even upgraded us. Then, we were lucky to meet the Manager of Sales and Marketing Michael Wallace who allowed us a quick peak of the property’s incredible ballroom while providing a brief history of all the happenings there over many years. We won’t stay anywhere else in Chicago. Please understand The Knickerbocker, like much of the world, is just getting back on its feet. If you want normal service and amenities, wait a while and ride things out at home. But this remains a Chicago gem and deserves accolades regardless of the times.
Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 1,447
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,369
  • travelup.com
    RM 972
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Restaurant
Room service
RM 1,331
  • Official Website
    RM 1,330
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 1,137
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
RM 1,542
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    RM 1,540
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 1,424
  • Priceline
    RM 1,542
3.1 km from Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
RM 1,042
  • Hampton
  • Booking.com
    RM 1,043
  • Trip.com
1.2 km from Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Free Wifi
Pool
RM 830
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • travelup.com
    RM 647
  • Hotels.com
    RM 913
0.5 km from Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
RM 793
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 726
  • SpringHill Suites
    RM 792
19.6 km from Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Save with Hilton Honours Rewards
  • Booking.com
    RM 2,152
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 1,523
  • Hotels.com
    RM 2,149
1.3 km from Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Save with Hilton Honours Rewards
  • Booking.com
    RM 1,151
  • Skyscanner.com
    RM 818
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Chicago
Reviews (1,849)
Filter reviews
1,849 results
Traveller rating
746
617
245
122
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
746
617
245
122
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviews martini bar great location the magnificent mile rain shower hancock tower historic hotel the north end mag mile an older hotel michigan ave water tower place water pressure lobby area navy pier millennium park nix block
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 1,849 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2021

WORST GUEST SERVICES I've ever experienced.
Ive been trying to get through for days because a piece of luggage was left behind, they either ring me off, say that's not my department or are incredibly rude and unprofessional.
I stayed at YOUR hotel. I paid you for a clean room and some kind of hospitality.
Thank you for the blunt smoke at 7am, dried puke on the side of the toilet and overall lack of incompetency in guest services.

You can't just ride on the coat tails of a 'historic location' into 2021.
I also understand covid has taken it's toll but i seriously just need a bag that I know was left at the door and no one can be bothered to help because apparently once your payment clears and cards are give - you're dead to them.

**The only thing this place has going for it is an offsite reservation associate named Crystal. She was sympathetic but Knickerbocker doesn't even give her basic department phone numbers.

Room tip: check your bathroom for cleanliness and that there's an actual air filter.
Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicho1ea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2021 via mobile

We booked the hotel for two nights through Expedia , hotel is in bad shape , beds are small , rooms are dirty and have moldy smell , walls are thin , lot of noise in hallways . We called Expedia to check out one day early , they directed us to front desk who refused to give us refund , front desk and manager were extremely rude and declined to cancel the reservation . This is the worst experience I had in a hotel .
Stay away from this property and pay extra money and stay at a decent place .

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank amjad0297
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason Apolonio, Other at Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2021

Hello amjad0297,

Please accept my apologies for the experience you had during your recent stay with us. I will ensure that we look into the issues mentioned and address them with the urgency they demand. Once corrected I hope to be able to welcome you back again.


Best,

Jason Apolonio
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2021

My fiance and I booked a room at this hotel back in June of 2020 for February 2021. We specifically chose a room rate that allowed for free cancelation because we weren't sure what the COVID situation would be. In December 2020, we decided to cancel our trip, because the pandemic was still raging. It is now February 19, 2021, nearly two months since our cancelation confirmation went through, and we have yet to get our money back. Every time we call to inquire, we are told to call back between 10pm and 6am. When we do that, we are told that the money is on its way. After about 20 rounds of this game over the past two months, we still have not received the money back. At this point, the hotel is essentially robbing us blind. We are seriously considering legal action at this point!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eunderscorehernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jason Apolonio, Other at Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2021

Hello Eunderscorehernon,


Please accept my apologies for the experience you have had. This is not indicative to the type of service we are known for delivering. Please feel free to reach out to the hotel directly and ask to speak to the Manager on duty so this issue can be given the priority it demands. I look forward to making sure your refund is process immediately.


Best,

Jason Apolonio
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2021

THE ROOM had a HORRIBLE SMELL , the water was smelling like old poop. gross. and the heat was off upon arriving, i was given a DOWNGRADE , LIME PEEL underneath one of the mattresses. My god what a exp

Room tip: dont stay here, horrible smell coming from the pipes
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saavytraverler1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2021

A friend and I went for a weekend in the city and got a very good rate of $94 per night all in. We had stayed here before and had a nice stay. This stay was another story. The room we booked (a Superior King) was very small. The three pillows were very wimpy. There was only one coffee, one small bar of soap and one water glass in the room along with a scant roll of toilet paper. We were able to obtain the lacking items from the front desk but it was just not the same as previous experiences though the staff was friendly and accommodating. When we checked out there was no one at the desk - just a basket for you to return the keys. When we arrived home we checked our credit card bill and found they had overcharged by $110 over the confirmed rate on our reservation. When we called they explained that $100 ($50/night) was a deposit and would be reimbursed within 3-5 business days. I realize COVID has hurt the downtown hotels but the simple thing such as those mentioned above should not have been effected. Very disappointed.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I660KIsandram
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews