We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tick in my room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

BEWARE

Stayed at this hotel and woke up this morning with a tick attached to me. I was placed in an accessible room so guessing from a service animal. Picture attached. I went to the front desk to be assigned a new room as there was no chance I was staying in that same room a second night. There were three employees standing behind the desk who offered no apology or made any attempt to try and remedy the situation. (Especially as a Hilton Gold member!) Only when I asked did the employee offer to pick up breakfast for the next morning. No thanks. Owning up to the issue or at least asking if there was something they could do would have been nice. Don't get Lyme disease, stay somewhere else.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2016

Dear Matt M,

I am very sorry to hear that you had this experience at our property. We work very hard on a daily basis to provide all of our guests with an outstanding experience. I will work directly with the housekeeping and front desk staffs to ensure this situation is prevented in the future. I will be reaching out to you via telephone to discuss this issue in further detail. I thank you for your feedback and, should your travels bring you back to Evanston, hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 147 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2016

I was disappointed by my room at this hotel. The room stayed very humid and smelled musty each day I was there and the humidity would not go away no matter how long the air conditioner ran. Also, the room was not able to cool down to a comfortable temperature. When it rained in the morning, there was a large puddle on the carpet in front of the air conditioner.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Derrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Dear Derrick K

We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We planned a day in Chicago and this hotel was conveniently located to public transportation. We had a short walk to the el and a 45 minute ride to our destination in Chicago. Everyone at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Room was nice; and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Great location, welcoming reception and lobby area, professional staff, nicely appointed rooms that are well maintained. We stay at all levels of the Hilton chain and have always been comfortable in the Garden Inn properties and enjoy their price-performer rates. Near Northwestern University, the weekend rate was a bit more than expected. I am speculating that unlike "business travelers" hotels, this Garden Inn picks up on weekends with parent visits, football games, etc. OK. Than add to it that this Hilton Garden is distinctively a few notches above most Hilton Gardens I've stayed at.

If you are a Hilton member you may receive a free breakfast as I did. Good oatmeal, average, not bad, breakfast foods, friendly staff, updated and pleasant dining area.

Their pristine fitness room is a bit larger than expected. The pool is more for kids than adult laps. Is not very long. But if you have kids... you can see them all in one glance ;-)

Close to many LOCAL restaurants (skip the chains - they have wonderful restaurants nearby). A down-the-block 12-screen movie theater that shows both "new releases" and foreign films, AOK to bring in wine from their bar. And the neighborhood, especially going east toward the lake has beautiful large homes and lots, several small parks, making it a great walking location. Enjoy! I did!

Room Tip: Summer: No overnight parking FRIDAY night in the lot behind the hotel. Sat. Farmers' Market. Sig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We stayed 2 nights and the room was not only clean but it was very comfortable.

You'll be required to pay more for breakfast and it's not worth it when you have amazing breakfast options near by in Evanston.

We paid extra for the shuttle service which never came which was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank SaraElin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.4 km away
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
0.7 km away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
5.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
0.8 km away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 7 in Evanston
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston

Address: 1818 Maple Ave., Evanston, IL 60201-3136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range: RM481 - RM1,229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston hotel - a welcoming Chicago North Shore hotel. Adjacent to Northwestern University and minutes from multiple large corporations, our comfortable Evanston hotel is the perfect choice for students, families and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Evanston Hotel Evanston
Evanston Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing