We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful property in Evanston”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Normally we stay at other Hilton brands but this was close to where we were going to be for the weekend. It is a winner. It has a very "solid" feel about it. The location is easy walking distance to downtown Evanston. We were actually visiting our kids in Rodgers Park, just south, but it was convenient.

The lobby and the staff were very professional. We felt extremely safe in Evanston too.

The room was a good size and it was very quiet. Parking was conveniently located just steps away and it was very reasonably priced compared to many other Chicago area hotels (regardless of the brand).

While they had an on-site restaurant we ate our meals with family off site. There was a nice farmers market just behind the property on the Saturday we stayed there--check it out if you have time!

Room Tip: We asked to be away from the elevators but most rooms are by design anyway. We were on the 6th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohiocoalminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017

A solid choice all around, and a definite step up from our prior experience at one of the "quaint" hotels in Evanston. Good location, spacious rooms (two double beds, in our case), quiet, comfortable, extremely clean, good mattresses, well maintained bathroom, excellent wifi. Breakfast buffet, which we did not sample (given the multitude of nearby eateries), appeared to offer the usual spread. Note: Valet parking is not available, but there is a parking garage adjacent to the hotel with an overnight rate thru the hotel of $13; handy street parking is also generally available.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank 90Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Great resturaunt choices within walking distance from hotel. Nice, clean rooms typical of Hilton properties. Staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. Great breakfast. Plenty of parking at parking garage next to hotel $13 per night.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank jtwilliams1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

There were good and bad things about the hotel

In the public bathroom, there were flies and never soap for hand washing

The rooms were ok ...and quiet but there was something wet on the floor and stains on the walls
But a decent breakfast and a good suite layout for families
May or may not return

Limited choices in Evanston

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Opinioned_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Excellent accommodations. Staff is friendly and middle / upper Management is accessible and engaging. Great location, proximity to Northwestern University, Lake, Movies and Food/Bars is convenient. Not too close to University that makes it wild but close enough to enjoy evening safely. Public transportation available (between two train lines), hotel transportation is easy to arrange, and Lyft/Uber to/from airports is around $40. Interesting things to visit close by is the Lake shore during the day, Bahai temple in evening and bar/food/movies at night. Highly recommend and plan to stay at this location when in Evanston.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Franx_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evanston
0.4 km away
Hilton Orrington/Evanston
0.7 km away
Hyatt House Chicago/Evanston
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Chicago North Evanston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Margarita European Inn, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
5.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago North Shore
0.8 km away
The Homestead
The Homestead
#5 of 7 in Evanston
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston

Address: 1818 Maple Ave., Evanston, IL 60201-3136
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Evanston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Evanston
Price Range: RM478 - RM1,214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston hotel - a welcoming Chicago North Shore hotel. Adjacent to Northwestern University and minutes from multiple large corporations, our comfortable Evanston hotel is the perfect choice for students, families and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Chicago North Shore/Evanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Evanston Hotel Evanston
Evanston Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Evanston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing