We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Inn with all the details covered” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goldmoor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Goldmoor Inn
Ranked #7 of 33 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
“Lovely Inn with all the details covered”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The quality of rooms and service at the Goldmoor Inn are exquisite. We stayed for a couple nights in the Chef's Suite, and everything was fantastic. Tom, Patricia, and the rest of the staff are kind and approachable; everyone did a wonderful job making us feel at home. Right after we checked in, we wandered around the grounds to explore, and Tom gave us a tour of the suites that had not yet been checked in. All the rooms are spacious and gorgeous. The decor is elegant and not over-the-top. Tom grew up in the are and provided some good information of the caves and notable features in the area, as well as some Galena restaurant recommendations. Chestnut Mountain is just a mile down the road, and downtown Galena is about 5 miles away. For anything that we wanted that was not immediately in the room, the staff was very accommodating. (e.g. there was coffee and hot chocolate, but no tea in the room, but a quick request to the front desk remedied that. +10 for Mighty Leaf brand teas.)

Perfect for a romantic getaway or a family reunion. A wonderful balance of getting away and delightful divertissement.

Room Tip: Chef's Suite has an entrance from the kitchen, has a whirlpool bath that overlooks the Mississip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rptsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    46
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
30
381
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My wife & I stayed in the Gwenivere Suiteon a Fri-Sat night. All the staff was great, very pleasant. The suite was awesome, very clean with all the amenities we would need. Our meals were very tasty, the desserts fantastic. On the night we arrived, we both had the hot stone massage. This is a must for kicking off a stay here. The only thing is that while the water pressure was adequate, it could have been higher.

Room Tip: Save a few bucks with the Gwenivere Suite in the Winter time, when the view doesn't really matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I suprised my husband with a relaxing weekend getaway. We stayed in the Elizabeth suite, for a little extra I had requested a bottle of wine and strawberries. We had also had a massage. The Elizabeth suite was prefect, the massage was great and supper at the Inn was spectacular. Then in the morning we had breakfast served to us in our room, what a great way to end our stay. We WILL be back! The Innkeepers and staff were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Covington Suite for a romantic anniversary getaway. The owners and staff were very welcoming and were willing to help out with anything you would need. We had a great view of the river and enjoyed the two-person whirlpool, fireplace, and private bath. We also dined for dinner in the Inn's restaurant. My husband had the Beef Wellington and I had the Chicken and Dumplings. Both were wonderful. We also opted to have breakfast in our suite, which was wonderful as well. We definitely want to go back and would recommend the Goldmoor Inn to anyone for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galena, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Four of the rooms we blocked off during the weekend of my daughter's wedding were joined by a common area accessible only to us. This allowed us the freedom to privately go between rooms as we were preparing for the wedding ceremony. It was especially helpful since there were several children in the wedding party. The rooms are very spacious but cozy.....each has a fireplace, which was wonderful during our stay in February. The staff was extremely helpful and paid great attention to detail. Even the wedding cake was made at Goldmoor....best cake ever. We felt pampered in every way! A beautiful inn in a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galena hotels
12.5 km away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
12.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
10.6 km away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
9.3 km away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
7.4 km away
Worldmark Galena
Worldmark Galena
#8 of 11 in Galena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldmoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldmoor Inn

Property: Goldmoor Inn
Address: 9001 Sand Hill Road, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price range (per night): RM1,493 - RM1,790
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldmoor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand deluxe suites, elegant cottages and cabins overlooking the Mississippi River just south of Galena. All accommodations have king beds, private two person whirlpool, fireplace, full private bath. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Goldmoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldmoor Hotel Galena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing