We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Giant City Lodge(Makanda)(Great Value!)
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Econo Lodge(Carbondale)
US$85
US$75
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$62/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Saluki Inn(Carbondale)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Carbondale)(Great Value!)
US$69
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
192
13
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
192
13
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthern illinoisgiant city state parkwine trailfire pitsitting on the balconythe perfect home baserelaxing retreatstraw baledining tablebreakfast preparationboth morningsgreat hostsshawnee national forestbreakfast each morningwooded areaenjoyed our stayother guests
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

The inn and cottages are incredible, and hosts Loraine and Malcolm are wonderful, making feel more than welcome, more like friends! I highly recommend this outstanding property! Just be prepared to NOT want to leave.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakandaInn, General Manager at Makanda Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

It was great to meet you both and we appreciate the great review too! We hear your comment about "NOT wanting to leave" almost daily and "a 2-night stay is not enough time to see everything" for sure.
Come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here to do the Shawee Wine trail event. Beautifully appointed Inn and cabins! Nestled in the Shawnee National forest creates a relaxing and peaceful environment. The suites in the Inn were well maintained and roomy with a balcony over looking the forest. The breakfasts both days were made by the loving hands of the innkeepers. They provided delicious and well presented food. This place will not disappoint with its beautiful surroundings and friendly staff

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakandaInn, General Manager at Makanda Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Your 5* review and compliments are truly appreciated by us! We believe our future B & B Inn guests will get a real feel for a lodging experience with us by reading your well-written review. We hope to see you back with us again in the near future for another getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

From the moment we arrived onto the Makanda Inn property, we felt at home. Loraine and Malcolm were extremely welcoming and even had birthday cupcakes waiting for us in the Sienna Cottage, where we stayed for two nights! I "kidnapped" my boyfriend for his birthday and surprised him with a mini vacation to Southern Illinois, since he had never been to this area before. While I thought the hiking, birding, and other outdoor adventures would be the highlight, it was our stay here at the Inn that was the true gem. The entire property is meticulously kept, from the grounds to the main lodge to our little cottage. While we had so much fun exploring this amazing area of Illinois, we couldn't wait to get back to the cottage in the afternoon/evening! We spent hours sitting on the upper deck, which was so quiet, peaceful and private. It was mesmerizing to sit and listen to the sounds of the insects and birds; the breeze through the trees; and to watch the deer, rabbits and squirrels meander through the woods. This was the perfect escape from our hectic routines for a few days and we really appreciated the thoughtfulness of the innkeepers (and ALL staff!) and the pride they obviously put into this beautiful oasis. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Bring a fan or sound machine for "white noise" if you are bothered by hearing your neighbors move around.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShannonMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakandaInn, General Manager at Makanda Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

So happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! The property was designed for peaceful, natural, thoughtful stays for couples of all ages.
The many Eco-friendly and sustainable aspects of all the lodging buildings and accommodations also contribute to a low impact on the natural, wooded environment here.
The word "Gem" is used quite a lot by our guests in reviews, thank you we think it is too!
Come stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

My wife and I spent 3 days at the Inn to celebrate our anniversary. It was a great spot to use as home base to explore local wineries, State parks and Shawnee National Forest. Malcolm and Lorraine were awesome hosts. Our room in the Inn was meticulous and comfortable. Breakfast each morning was a gourmet delight.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakandaInn, General Manager at Makanda Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

It was nice to meet you both and thank you for taking the time to write a review about us for the TripAdvisor community. We do think we are conveniently located for exploring the unique Southern portion of IL. We strive to impress and feed our guests well, so glad you enjoyed the breakfasts! We enjoyed our conversations with you each morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We found this Inn on Tripadvisor and were happy with the beautiful, clean accommodations. The Inn is beautifully furnished, cozy and comfortable. The surroundings were in the middle of a quiet, peaceful forest. Our hosts were very welcoming and friendly. They served wonderful breakfasts and gave good recommendations for things to do in the area. We definately recommend the Inn if exploring the Shawnee National Forest.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnlynn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakandaInn, General Manager at Makanda Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Thank you for returning to TripAdvisor to share your lodging experience with our future guests. We appreciate your 5 Star review as well. So much to see in our area we hope to see you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews