We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
33
15
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
15
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bread free coffee and tea the owner free wifi rhubarb cake gas station one night yogurt collection guests guesthouse bathroom mountains drive
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

The actual accommodation was nice, clean and well priced. Little weird going to a living room as no tv's in room, but the strangest bit was we were taken to room, then didn't see another person all night, no one there to check us out... so left the key in the door and left. Overall a good night's sleep though and the room was good enough

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank millington101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights and used it as our base for exploring the east fjords. It’s in a very small town with nothing much except for the Petra stone collection.

The owner was very nice. The door was locked when we arrived but we called the number posted on the door and she arrived in a few minutes to check us in.
She showed us around the hotel and recommended places to eat and shop for groceries.
There is no kettle in the room but in the lounge area there is one with coffee and tea. And also some ramen noodles.
The rooms were very clean.
A little remote but a nice place to rest up for a day of traveling.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ronnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Saxa Guesthouse was okay for our two night stay during our road trip around Iceland. Too bad the cafe was closed, but the owner advised us to have dinner at Brekkan across the street and this was fine! Checkin was very good, she showed us around and explained everything. Didn’t receive fresh towels on the second day but this was quickly solved. Room was a bit small though, we couldn’t leave the suitcases open on the ground. Beds and shower are good. Unfortunately no breakfast included (possible, but you have to pay extra). Rooms are recently renewed!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Linny-NL-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

We did grand circle of Iceland and stayed here one night driving south to north. Clean newly renovated room and bathrooms. I felt more like hotel room with good cafeteria. Right by the guesthouse, there is a gas station and diy free car wash.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MeghaSandip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

It´s good to be there, but, before you confirm your booking just have it clear what you have to pay for your room.
Don´t allow owners to give you a story "it will be cheap, blah, blah".
Be safe and have "numbers" ahead...

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews