We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saxa Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Blafell(Breiddalsvik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fosshotel Eastfjords(Faskrudsfjordur)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Stadarborg(Breiddalsvik)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Askja(Eskifjordur)
View Hotel
Hotel Eskifjordur(Eskifjordur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Framtid(Djupivogur)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Hotel Apartments(Eskifjordur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hildibrand Hotel(Neskaupstadur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
29
15
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
15
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreadfree coffee and teafree wifithe ownerring roadone nightgas stationyogurtcollectionguestsguesthousebedsbathroomtvmountainsdrive
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

The actual accommodation was nice, clean and well priced. Little weird going to a living room as no tv's in room, but the strangest bit was we were taken to room, then didn't see another person all night, no one there to check us out... so left the key in the door and left. Overall a good night's sleep though and the room was good enough

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank millington101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights and used it as our base for exploring the east fjords. It’s in a very small town with nothing much except for the Petra stone collection.

The owner was very nice. The door was locked when we arrived but we called the number posted on the door and she arrived in a few minutes to check us in.
She showed us around the hotel and recommended places to eat and shop for groceries.
There is no kettle in the room but in the lounge area there is one with coffee and tea. And also some ramen noodles.
The rooms were very clean.
A little remote but a nice place to rest up for a day of traveling.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rhk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Saxa Guesthouse was okay for our two night stay during our road trip around Iceland. Too bad the cafe was closed, but the owner advised us to have dinner at Brekkan across the street and this was fine! Checkin was very good, she showed us around and explained everything. Didn’t receive fresh towels on the second day but this was quickly solved. Room was a bit small though, we couldn’t leave the suitcases open on the ground. Beds and shower are good. Unfortunately no breakfast included (possible, but you have to pay extra). Rooms are recently renewed!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Linny-NL-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

We did grand circle of Iceland and stayed here one night driving south to north. Clean newly renovated room and bathrooms. I felt more like hotel room with good cafeteria. Right by the guesthouse, there is a gas station and diy free car wash.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank MeghaSandip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

It´s good to be there, but, before you confirm your booking just have it clear what you have to pay for your room.
Don´t allow owners to give you a story "it will be cheap, blah, blah".
Be safe and have "numbers" ahead...

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews