We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dunes de Dovela eco-lodge(Inhambane Province)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$88
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mozambeat Motel(Tofo)(Great Value!)
US$26
US$25
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Archipelago Resort(Vilanculos)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$221
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila Do Paraiso(Vilanculos)
US$342
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$181
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$318
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$1,021
US$850
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$1,194
US$1,071
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
14
21
16
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
21
16
7
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I love the location of this bar overlooking the sea from the height of the dunes. Food was fine and the service was friendly and quick. It is nice to sit there, relax with a book and from time to time watch the people pass you by on the beach below. Burgers are great here and about one of the only places in Tofo which serves chips.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed the views complimented by the friendly staff and the burger & chips. We have an outstanding setting and am pleased you were able to enjoy the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

BEDBUGS. I woke up crying every night for the three nights that I stayed here, bites covering my legs and arms, and my boyfriend as well. The mosquito net had many holes. A rat lived in the ceiling of our hut. I understand that there is a certain amount of natural interaction here - but attention to cleanliness and simple preventative measures could help with rodents. The internet worked sometimes, the power worked sometimes, there was no drinking water unless you wanted to buy bottled water.

It is a shame - they've got prime beachfront property and ample space that is being ignored. When we couldn't take it anymore, we easily found cleaner, cheaper, and bug free accommodation elsewhere.

On the bright side - they do have an excellent view of the beach to look at while you are itching your bites.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

This was most unfortunate as the hygiene of the accommodation is of utmost importance. Rodents are common in the dune forest and they can and do sometimes slip into the chalets unannounced as was your experience.
The borehole water is of a poor quality being so close to the ocean and we do not encourage drinking it. There is no water laid on from the town thus we are only able to offer bottled drinking water.
The lodge does operate on a generator and does not run 24/7 and this can at times be a little inconvenient.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We got devoured. Bites everywhere. My girlfriend woke up in tears it was so bad.

And its insanely expensive for this run down neglected establishment. Plenty of competition in this town. You can easily find better accommodation and better prices.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We were devastated to hear of your experience and have taken immediate preventative action to ensure that this does not occur again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Been to this bar so many times and never tire of the view. Had perfect weather and can see for beautiful white beached that stretch for miles with crystal clear waters. The weather vane is a good laugh and the staff are very helpful, just December time, they run out of things, but their pizza was good this year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. Every review that we receive is appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the pizza and views. I think that we are in agreement that Bamboozi has an incredible view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Considering that Mozambique is a very expensive country in relation to its touristic facilities, I'd say that Bamboozi can be good if you're lucky. We've stayed in two different rooms there: one was awful and the other one was ok. And both of them were "ocean views" rooms, so they don't have any pattern among their rooms.
This said, if you're lucky to have a good room, spacious, with a great terrace and ocean view:
_the shower isn't good: their water is brought by trucks and is brown; no problem for your health but your clothes will remember that (especially your swimming suits)
_the water pressure isn't constant, so you'll be in the middle of the shower and suddenly water will disappear or get too cold or too hot. We decided to use a bucket to help us
_the place is clean, although is not well maintained
_their restaurant is good, but don't serve mozambican food. also, breakfast is more expensive than any other place (and worst). Go to Fatima's or Tofo Scuba for breakfast.
_their service is among the slowest one I've seen in my life (this is common in Mozambique, but there's amazingly slow)
_we've stayed there 6 days and in three times they made mistakes with our food. They pay no attention at all
All this said, Tofo beach is a nice place, great beach with more options to eat and stay than other places in Mozambican coast. I'll definitely come back to Tofo, but not to Bamboozi - there are other good options of accommodation in Tofo, although many of them aren't available to book at internet.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the #1 seaview chalet. The view is amazing. Also, check your room before you enter it - and make sure you have enough repellent.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarraResorts, Manager at Bamboozi Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

We consider, and review every piece of feedback that we get and appreciate the review that you have posted. Explaining a few areas of your concern is important however, without sounding defensive in any way. We have had some issues with water supply over the last few months as the area has had severe lack of rain, for this we humbly apologise and with the most recent rains in Mozambique, we are sure that the water supply will be back to normal. The service you received will be investigated as a matter of priority and this can be resolved. Our restaurant, which we usually receive many compliments about, will be investigated too. We hope that for certain you will be back again and will take note of the changes implemented and improvements made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews