We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy rooms..not a chain feeling”
Review of Mark Twain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mark Twain Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Peoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good and fast service. Only negative not much to do around the area in the evening. Also poor lighting in room, so not able to read in the comfy chair provided

Room Tip: quiet room, did not have a river view so if that is important ask ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gldieone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2017

Thank you for staying with us, and providing feedback so that we can better serve our future guest. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2017

So glad we chose this locally owned boutique hotel downtown Peoria, convenient from the interstate. Room decor nicely blends exposed brick with modern furnishings. The bathroom was adequate, and everything was clean. I give this place extra points for its friendly staff and a pretty great free breakfast, with made-to-order omelets and restaurant seating. We also enjoyed the hotel restaurant for dinner: upscale feel, but menu featured a range of price points and the food was good. My only critique is that the bed pillows were kinda small and felt ready or replacement. They should fix that.

Room Tip: River view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaylebgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time and telling us about your stay. We will look at pillows this coming week to see what needs to be replaced. I hope the next time your in Peoria you will stay with us and see the new services we will be offering. Thanks again and I will pass your comments on to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel has been nicely updated. Rooms are well-appointed with fabulous beds, flat screen tv, and good quality furniture. I did not appreciate the rain shower. It leaked so the water pressure wasn't very strong and rinsing the shampoo out of my hair took forever. The shower had a non- slip mat but could have used a grab bar for those who are less steady on their feet. I appreciated the Seattle's Best coffee in the room. Ask for a room on a top floor. Traffic can be noisy. The breakfast was wonderful. There was lots of choice from danish to omelets made to order. We stayed over the Memorial Day weekend and most restaurants near the hotel were not open. The hotel restaurant was closed also.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jennings306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time and telling us about your stay. I am sorry about the water pressure and will have maintenance look at this today. We look forward to you staying with us the next time your in Peoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Convenient location. Front desk staff and restaurant staff were amazing. Our room had a nice view overlooking the river. We also received 2 complimentary full breakfast (which was awesome - fresh cooked omelet), free parking and two complimentary drinks from the bar inside the restaurant. The room was modern and comfortable. Will definitely return to this location when in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 June 2017

Thank you for these kind words, we look forward to seeing you in the future. I will pass your comments on to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

So, we selected Mark Twain because of it looked well located and had a bar/restaurant. I paid more the larger rooms so we could have a view of the river and plenty of room to spread out while in the room checking emails etc. Unfortunately little went according to plan. I'll start with the good:

- The room was large and well appointed. Loved the wall mounted ironing board with light!
- The staff was very friendly.
- It was nicely located in town.
- The cookies and fruit were a nice touch at check out.

Not so good:

- Even though the hotel was mostly empty we were not given a room on the river view side of the hotel. We had a view of the parking lot and expressway. I really don't understand why any hotel wouldn't give guests the best rooms available when occupancy is so low (I'm guessing below 25%), especially when we paid the highest list price for that night.
- Again, even though the hotel was mostly empty, they still put someone in the room right next door to us. I could hear them talking and moving around most of the night. They weren't being loud, the rooms are just not well insulated. Why not stagger occupancy???
- The bar/restaurant was closed. It seems this is a regular occurance on Sundays. I wish they would post this on their website. We would have chosen to stay elsewhere.
- The internet was not working the whole time we were there.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank binkybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time and making me aware of your recent stay. We will take your ideas and implement them, facing the river and staging rooms are very good ideas. I recently joined the hotel here and these changes could impact the guests experience in a positive fashion. We are working on a small selection of food available for guests on Sundays with the hopes of implementation by July. I do appreciate your feedback and hope the next time you are in town you will stay with us and see the changes we are impilmenting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peoria
0.8 km away
Staybridge Suites Peoria Downtown
0.4 km away
Peoria Marriott Pere Marquette
1.1 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton East Peoria - Hotel & RiverFront Conf Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn Peoria-East At The River Boat Crossing
12.1 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Peoria at Grand Prairie
11.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Peoria North, IL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Twain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Twain Hotel

Address: 225 NE Adams St, Peoria, IL 61602-1239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Peoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Peoria
#8 Business Hotel in Peoria
Price Range: RM 417 - RM 577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Twain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peoria's Premier Boutique Hotel. Proud to be independent and locally owned. Guests receive complimentary Starbucks coffee and cocoa in the lobby, Seattle's Best in-room coffee, free parking, free drinks, free wi-fi, free smiles. Featuring a complimentary breakfast including made-to-order omelets and Belgian style waffles. Business or Pleasure - why not both? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mark Twain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mark Twain Peoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing