We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most respectful museum for local people I have ever seen”

Livingston County War Museum
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Pontiac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We are a hands-on, living history museum featuring displays, artifacts and uniforms of local soldiers from World War I, World War II, Korea, Vietnam, Desert Storm, Iraq and Afghanistan. Our staff is made up of military veterans who are present to share their experiences with you. We are located next to the Route 66 Museum. Visited by guests from over 75 countries since 2004. Free admission. Free parking. Open 7 days a week Mon-Sat 10 - 4, Sun 12 - 4. See you on Route 66!
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Was caught off guard with this one. Most amazing military museum I have seen. It targets the local soldier with their uniforms and stories. Very moving and definitely worth the look. Try to give yourself some time

Thank JudyandBillG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PontiacWarMuseum, Manager at Livingston County War Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Thank you for your positive review of our museum! Hope you will return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"military uniforms"
in 10 reviews
"livingston county"
in 10 reviews
"same building"
in 8 reviews
"war museum"
in 18 reviews
"donated items"
in 3 reviews
"well worth the stop"
in 4 reviews
"packed full"
in 2 reviews
"free parking across the street"
in 2 reviews
"donations accepted"
in 2 reviews
"hall of fame"
in 3 reviews
"in town"
in 3 reviews
"from chicago"
in 2 reviews
"veterans"
in 19 reviews
"mannequins"
in 9 reviews
"stories"
in 15 reviews
"volunteers"
in 11 reviews
"branch"
in 6 reviews
Filter

13 - 17 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

This is a great place to visit. It is a bit cramped, but that's only because there are so many artifacts of wars past and present. You could literally spend hours upon hours here. I live in town and visit here and there and always see something new and learn something new as well. And, it's free!!

Thank grampp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PontiacWarMuseum, Manager at Livingston County War Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Thanks for your positive review of our museum. Wish we had more room, but we love this old. building. Please come back often!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

A great place to learn and see various uniforms history. Extremely knowledgeable hosts. Free but donations accepted. Dont miss this one. Spend at least two hours , you will not be disappointed

Thank RonaldP1898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PontiacWarMuseum, Education Director at Livingston County War Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you very much for your positive review! I hope you will be back to visit us in the future.
David Estes
Education Director
Livingston County War Museum
Dal Estes Education center
Pontiac IL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

On the recommendation from my nephew we drove 3 1/2 hrs. to Pontiac to visit the Route 66 Museum and the Livingston County War Museum.
I've been to a lot of military museums and this museum per square inch has more information fit into it then any I have visited.
When you first walk in you are overwhelmed like a drill sergeant screaming in your ear at the crack of dawn. After making a quick pass through the various rooms I caught my breath and started over again wanting to take in as much information as possible.
The collection of history is amazing and the hour that I spent there does not do it justice. I could have easily spent three hours by myself taking it all in.
You will find items and testimonies from all different military campaigns and a lot of unique items which will make you scratch your head and wonder how the heck did somebody get this back to the states. The Japanese Machine gun is one such example.
A veteran offers his take and provides a lot of information on a short tour if you'd like.
This museum provides something for everyone from the serious military historian to average lay person. Excellent for students.
Interesting story in the small room at the top of the stairs before you enter the main room on the left.
In this room there is a lot of WW1 history items, take a look at the pictures on your left on the wall, there is an image of an eagle, statue of liberty and some other things, look closely at the pictures and see how they were created and the uniqueness of them.
There is also a long ribbon in a frame to the right of the window, ask the veteran tour guide about this. You will be amazed!

Thank Wings E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PontiacWarMuseum, Manager at Livingston County War Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Thank you for your lengthy and positive review of our museum. We hope you will be back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

This museum is part of the Route 66 museum and you won't miss it. Full of mannequins with military uniforms donated by local military veterans. Lots of other war info and memorabilia from all wars. So interesting, take some time to stop!

Thank Nita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PontiacWarMuseum, Manager at Livingston County War Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Thanks for your positive review of our museum. Hope you will come back to see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Livingston County War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing