We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty burritos!”

Pancheros Mexican Grill
Ranked #139 of 408 Restaurants in Rockford
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Fresh-pressed tortillas. The finest ingredients. Perfectly mixed bites. Better Built Burritos are in a league of their own. Standing tall as they are proud, tasty as they are sturdy. Standing boldly above their lesser-built burrito peers.
Restaurant details
Description: Fresh-pressed tortillas. The finest ingredients. Perfectly mixed bites. Better Built Burritos are in a league of their own. Standing tall as they are proud, tasty as they are sturdy. Standing boldly above their lesser-built burrito peers.
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I'm surprised at the other reviews for this place. Most of them are comparing Panchero's to Chipotle. Yeah they are very similar, but I'd happily go to either one. Panchero's has pleasant employees, quick service, and fresh-made tortillas. They also don't have lines like Chipotle normally does. Don't get me wrong, I like Chipotle- I appreciate their recent decision to decline any factory-farmed meat. I don't know what Panchero's stance is on that topic but I just go meat-free.
The burritos I've gotten at Panchero's are made with: rice, black beans/pinto beans, roasted veggies, pico de gallo, mild salsa, corn relish. Also available are hot salsas, jalapenos, guacamole, etc.
You have your choice of burritos, tacos, quesadillas, salads, or bowls.
The restaurant appears clean. The ONLY things I would change are to have the salsas warmed so that they don't cool down the burrito so fast, and also to have the roasted veggies cut up a bit smaller than what they are. The burritos seem a bit pricey at $6-$7 each but they are BIG! That's the most pricey item on the menu though.

Date of visit: January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LikeToExploreAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I went here at noon in a Thursday and was literally the only one in the place. The portions were much smaller than chipotle and pricing about the same. They also stated that they would do a meat and veggies mix, but then gave a half meat portion.

The food tasted ok at best. Save the frustration and go the chipotle!

Date of visit: August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The "homemade" tortillas have a horrible aftertaste. I feel that a tortilla should complement the burrito, however, this one took over. The portions are much smaller than expected in the burrito bowls after you have experienced the large amounts that Chipotle hands out.

The queso is semi-worthwhile though.

Date of visit: April 2013
Thank Stefanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

A beautifully decorated restaurant with friendly staff but very disappointing food. A variety of mix and match with Tacos,Burritos and Salads with fresh ingredients but the Beef was very chewy and tough. The flour tortillas are made as you order but they don't have corn tortillas.The prices are good but the portions were not so generous. Chipotle is a better choice.

Date of visit: December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sdollreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The same price structure, but inferior in almost every way. The bright spot are the tortillas. Homemade and delicious. But everything else is worse than Chipople.

Don't bother going there. There's a Chipotle right down the road. It's a much better experience.

Date of visit: September 2012
Thank SalfromIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pancheros Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pancheros Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing