We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Be Cautious Hilton Honors Memebers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wood Dale
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Be Cautious Hilton Honors Memebers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Although the rooms are tired, the facility has been one I have used for several years due in large part to the renovation of the main lobby space. Located in a quiet piece of town but the bar area and restaurant provide services enough to make this a positive stay. I have spent $12,000 there in the past two years for my company, clients and vendors but I will be moving my business in 2012. I have had repeated issue with incorrect folios and accreditation to my Hilton Honors account. Despite many attempts with the local staff and General Manager - my issues continue to be unresolved.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    166
    99
    69
    30
See reviews for
121
84
47
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

I have to hand it to these folks - they managed a hotel full of hockey teams attending the Bauer Invitational without a blip. Great customer service and very helpful all the way around. Their patience was exemplary. Rooms were a bit small however to be called "suites" but they were clean and well taken care of. A few small gripes:

1) change the sheets daily. Don't tell me you're going green.
2) this is a former Wyndham and apparently the fridges were taken out. A suite should have a microwave and a fridge. These had neither.
3) Offer free wireless for those who aren't Hilton members (fortunately I am one)
4) Breakfast charges for kids are outrageous.

Other than that - I would recommend this hotel. They're working hard to make people happy even if the rooms are a bit dated and without extra amenities.

Breakfast was good but really expensive for what you get. If i'm paying $11 with my kids, I want more than the usual buffet. Cook something fresh!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcusg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
295 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

I like this place a lot and have stayed several times, however, the rooms are in disrepair. Staff are great and very helpful. Restaurant dinners are good and the breakfast buffett's are excellent. But, it is high time they revamp their rooms.........here's a description of mine:
*I went through 3 rooms before I got one that had a working HVAC system
*The shower didn't drain so you get to stand in 2-3 inch's of water
*The rooms all smelled of cigarette smoke, even though I asked for a non-smoking room, apparently they allow smoking on the balconies so guess what? the smoke comes right into the room via the sliding screen door and stinks up the rooms.......all 3 rooms smelled of smoke.
*One of the rooms I was assigned had piles of cigarette butts in both corners of the balcony.....nice touch!
I wouldn't bring my wife here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmundo-de-ABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asd
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Loved this place -- in very quiet location once you get off the freeway (in warehouse area, but very green, with ponds, etc.). MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A CAR to get around. If you do, the eating spots, petrol spots and even churches are all within a few minutes.
The actual hotel was great: smiling staff, and very helpful (well, except for one lady who never smiled once, no matter how hard I tried to make her). The hotel was clean, the washrooms and front lobby were huge; the open restaurant was well-utilized, and had a good menu. We made good use of the exercise room, and the swimming pools were kept pretty busy by other patrons as well.
The corridors are looooonnnng -- took forever to get to our car and back.
Felt like home; we were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c4c4c4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APatenaude, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, 14 September 2011
c4c4c4-

We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Come back and see us again soon!

Adam Patenaude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

I loved everything about this hotel, except...no free wifi. I mean, really. Even McDonalds has free wifi

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gruber03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APatenaude, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Gruber03-

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us! I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel. With regards to the WiFi; we do offer it complimentary for those Hilton Honors members who qualify. It is also complementary in the lobby, business center and restaurant.

Adam Patenaude
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wood Dale
1.4 km away
Hyatt Place Itasca
Hyatt Place Itasca
#1 of 5 in Itasca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.6 km away
Westin Chicago Northwest
0.7 km away
Courtyard Chicago Wood Dale/Itasca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Wyndham Garden Elk Grove Village/O'Hare
Wyndham Garden Elk Grove Village...
#1 of 14 in Elk Grove Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
4.9 km away
Eaglewood Resort & Spa
5.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Addison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove
Address: 1200 N Mittel Blvd, Wood Dale, IL 60191-1021 (Formerly Wyndham Garden)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Wood Dale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wood Dale
Price range (per night): RM330 - RM732
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, AAE Travel Pte Ltd, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago Wood Dale - Elk Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Dale Doubletree
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Wood Dale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing