We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
78
31
6
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
31
6
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingcookiesbig woodsbed and breakfastindiana universityanniversary weekendfront porchwalking distanceiu football gameplace to staylocation is greatfamily reunionin townquafflobbycottageprivacy
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018

This Inn never disappoints! I look forward to every stay. The rooms are clean & comfortable, the breakfast buffet and afternoon cookies are spectacular, the location is ideal, and the staff is super friendly and accommodating. Such a treat to stay here. Do remember that at B&B's, you would not expect to find totally soundproof rooms - so there may be several rooms grouped together and may have some above/below with accompanying minor sounds - but that is not a concern for me. Regardless, the character, charm, location, accommodations, food and staff cannot be beat. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

Very comfortable. It’s four buildings and I loved walking over for tea and coffee. The afternoon treats and breakfast were delicious. Staff very friendly. Location amazing. Fun to walk everywhere. Hope to be back. Just need daughter to pick IU

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank xxxxxx13903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

I have stayed here four times. Never disappointed. Service is excellent. Walking distance to university and downtown. Great breakfasts. Homemade cookies every night. Good nights sleep. Recommend for business travelers or couples.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Harry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

There are many nice things one could say about this place. But if one can't get uninterrupted sleep or enjoy sitting on the lovely front porch because of the extreme amount and volume of noise from the hardy partying neighbors across the street (they started around 3 p.m., speakers cranked up to the max) and the neighbors (or others on their way home from the bars) yelling at each other in the street at 2:30 a.m., what does it matter? Stayed here 2 nights; both long, unreasonably loud parties and early-morning yelling in the streets both nights. Perhaps it might be better when bad weather keeps the partiers inside, but when I inquired at the desk about any local noise ordinances, the manager on duty seemed unfazed and said, "yeah, they've been known to party until 6 or 7 in the morning." So clearly this was not a rare occurrence.

Breakfast is a buffet - it was good one day and like a cheap chain hotel the other day. There were some cookies out at check-in time, and tea available any time. There is a decent little fitness room.

I thought it was kind of odd that the bathroom sink was out in the room instead of in the bathroom. There was plenty of room for a sink, or another sink, in our bathroom, so I don't know why they did this. We'd prefer more privacy - and not having to disturb the other person sleeping when needing to use the sink.

In spite of the convenient location, knowing this, I'd opt for better sleep and better value elsewhere.

Room Tip: A room in the back might be a bit quieter, but the neighbors' speakers were cranked up to the max, so don't count on any peace.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Explorer224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

I was here over the weekend for the IU/Georgia Southern game (9/23-9/24) with my boyfriend. I understand the stay was at a premium cost, however I heard such good things about Grant Street Inn and was very disappointed about my stay. When you pay such a high cost, you expect the basics as at the minimum. I've stayed at many B&B's and for less money for with a better experience. This was in total $312 for one night in a king size bedroom.

As a B&B, part of the experience is two-fold and this in my mind is where Grant street Inn FAILED

o Coffee/Tea is always available
o Breakfast is included in the cost and is really good/a specialty of the B&B

First, there was no coffee or tea available in either our house (main lobby) or the main house where you check-in. I checked on multiple occasions hoping it was specific to a certain time of day. I never saw expect during the breakfast rush. I also read previous reviews where some customers received candy/cookies as part of their stay. Perhaps those customers had ordered a package, but we received neither. At other B&B’s I’ve stayed at, cookies were included with the coffee/tea and accessible at anytime. Total miss on Grant Street Inn.

My second and maybe even bigger disappointment was the breakfast. It was neither good, or hot. At least have 1 or the other. I read some other reviews commenting on the mediocre breakfast and overlooked their comments. I wish I hadn’t, as they were right; this was less than mediocre.
The consensus between my boyfriend and I: OJ was very watered down, the eggs were gross (it’s hard to mess up eggs), the hashbrowns (?) were okay. The bacon was the best part, but unfortunately it was cold like the rest of the items. Additionally, there were no coffee mugs available, only plastic to-go cups. At every B&B I’ve stayed at, breakfast was served to you, but at Grant Street Inn, it is a buffet-in my mind this is another miss and takes away from the experience of a B&B and what you pay for.

My only other comment was that we only received 2 large towels in the bathroom. Even though we were staying for 1 night, women usually use 2 towels, and it is pretty standard to provide more than what is needed at a hotel. That is part of the luxury.

The only few pros I have was the following:

-Convenient location (not related to customer service) -was nice to walk to and from campus/Kirkwood
-Clean room
-Comfortable bed

Im very disappointed Grant Street didn’t provide a good experience because I love B&B’s. They have a lot of changes to make in order to make the B&B stay authentic and of value for their customers. $300/night for the experience we received it outrageous and I will not recommend this Inn to others in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gsikeeper, General Manager at Grant Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

I was so saddened to read your review after your stay with us. I do know that you were visiting during a premium weekend and our rates are higher, as is all of Bloomington. In fact we are $200-300 less a night than most of the big hotels. Our typical weekend rate are less than $200/night.

My biggest concern was your comments regarding coffee, tea and cookies/candy. We do have ALL of these items in our main lobby 24 hours a day. Coffee is right in the center of the lobby and 24 hour tea service is right next to the dining room. A candy dish in on a table near the front door of the main house and fresh baked cookies are provided at 3pm everyday next to the coffee in the lobby. Those cookies are not in endless supply so I hope it was not just that they had been eaten up before you realized you were there.

We are known for our complimentary breakfast. On a football weekend when 80-100 people hit the dining room so quickly, it is often hard to keep up, thus there is no way we can serve breakfast like a 8-10 room B&B. We simply have too many people.

Once again, I am sorry to hear of your less than happy stay with us but some of the items were sadly just missed that were, indeed, here all along. I remember checking you out and so wish you had spoken with myself or my staff during your visit.

So sorry,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews