We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
222
22
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
22
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagespaul's placebedroom cottagekangaroo islandyour doorsteplocal honeyamazing viewsrockpool cafestayed for nightsrock tunnelbring foodcooking utensilsself containedphone receptionlate afternoonthe cliffstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 249 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2017

The whole 5 days we spent here was totally amazing ,the cottage was everything we expected ,surrounded by sweet kangaroos ,beautiful views and under starry skies, a magical experience . Stokes bay was worthwhile clamouring through grotto type rocks onto one of the most amazing bays tully recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank Francine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

I travel a lot and seen many many beautiful places but maybe this is my new favourite. There are three amazing things: Stokes Bay which is simply stunnig and picture postcard perfect, from sbove the hill as below on the beach. Turquoise water, white sand, lave, red stone, rock tunnel , tide pools , views - can it be better, anywhere ?? Second, the kangaroos. Its such a pleasure to watch them every evenig around your cottage, with the sun painting a golden light over the scene. There are about 30 of them being around each evening and they do come very close and are not shy. I already miss them. For children this must be hesven. Third, the cottages. Just what it needs, high quality beds, everything fine and in vey fine condition. Even on the hottest days - we had 37 degrees - it was never too hot in the cottage and there was always a nice night breeze. I am much more positve about this place than about KI in general, which I fin a bit overhyped. Sure Admirals Arch and Remarkbale Rocks are mindblowing, but the rest ? But there is Stokes Bay and these cottages which would be the reason to return for me - just staying at the place and chilling at the beach and waiting till the golden hour and the roos are back again. I would even go so far as to say : this is definetely the best quality-prize relation in Australia (for a good dinner on KI you pay more per person than for the sleep). 6 stars.

Room Tip: All are good
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stefandreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

I'm still amazed as I consider how wonderful this place was! Surrounded by cute kangaroos that love to be hand-fed carrots or grain. In the evening the wallabies and brush-tailed possums show up and can also be hand-fed.

Cottages are clean, comfortable, spacious, and include full kitchens. We were given a complimentary bottle of wine, jar of honey, and some chocolate. The owners, Paul and Katja, are just a phone call away, but otherwise left us alone to enjoy the tranquility of the area. The view from the porch, beyond the wildlife, is out to the Stokes' Bay and glorious sunsets.

Just a 10-minute walk down the hill are eucalyptus trees where we spotted red parrots, rainbow lorikeets, and were delighted to find three koalas! Five minutes walk further is the rock tunnel to the beautiful beach. The rock tunnel is actually a passageway through large boulders and a fun access to this beach that has a protected area for swimming and open surf to play in the waves or fish.

The owners still own the Paul's Place Wildlife Park. Though it's not open to the public, Paul will welcome guests who prearrange to see and hold his birds, python, and adorable koalas at no extra charge(though donations are accepted).

Though we've stayed at places more extravagant and fancy, no place has ever been better than Waves & Wildlife for such a spectacular experience of wildlife, beach, and very comfortable lodgings all for a very reasonable price of around $100(American) per night. In my opinion, it's worth double what they charge!

Room Tip: The cottages are offset so the one below you won't block your view.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MtRainierDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

This location was perfect for our visit to KI. We stayed for 2 nights and found our cottage was exactly what we wanted. It is 5 minutes walk away from the gorgeous Stokes Bay beach and i cant even tell you how many kangaroos we saw at dusk! One morning we woke up to about 6 kangaroos outside our decking, it was amazing. Paul let us check in early at no extra cost and left us a lovely welcome note with a bottle of wine, some KI honey and milk and eggs in the fridge. Had a great stay and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nikki2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We have just had our 4th visit to these wonderful cottages at beautiful Stokes Bay. It is such a quiet and beautiful place with amazing views from the front deck in the evening across to the sea and with the numerous kangaroos around the place. The cottages are basic but very comfortable and the beach at Stokes Bay is stunning.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenmG1774UC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews