We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I only regret not having stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waves and Wildlife Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Sometimes on vacation, it feels nice to feel home. After staying in hotels for a while, it felt just like home to stay in that cottage. everything we needed was there, we just brought our food and we could just lounge around, take it easy. From the balcony, you can see the ocean, directly in front of the cottage. If you want to see wildlife, you'll be the happiest person on earth. Thought the photo on the site was staged, with the kangaroos around. In fact, you'd have to work hard to have a photo without them! And at night, the very shy wallabies also visit. Our hosts were simply charming.

Room Tip: All cottages are side by side and very similar. Only the number of rooms vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leGrandMechantLoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2017

The whole 5 days we spent here was totally amazing ,the cottage was everything we expected ,surrounded by sweet kangaroos ,beautiful views and under starry skies, a magical experience . Stokes bay was worthwhile clamouring through grotto type rocks onto one of the most amazing bays tully recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank Francine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

I travel a lot and seen many many beautiful places but maybe this is my new favourite. There are three amazing things: Stokes Bay which is simply stunnig and picture postcard perfect, from sbove the hill as below on the beach. Turquoise water, white sand, lave, red stone, rock tunnel , tide pools , views - can it be better, anywhere ?? Second, the kangaroos. Its such a pleasure to watch them every evenig around your cottage, with the sun painting a golden light over the scene. There are about 30 of them being around each evening and they do come very close and are not shy. I already miss them. For children this must be hesven. Third, the cottages. Just what it needs, high quality beds, everything fine and in vey fine condition. Even on the hottest days - we had 37 degrees - it was never too hot in the cottage and there was always a nice night breeze. I am much more positve about this place than about KI in general, which I fin a bit overhyped. Sure Admirals Arch and Remarkbale Rocks are mindblowing, but the rest ? But there is Stokes Bay and these cottages which would be the reason to return for me - just staying at the place and chilling at the beach and waiting till the golden hour and the roos are back again. I would even go so far as to say : this is definetely the best quality-prize relation in Australia (for a good dinner on KI you pay more per person than for the sleep). 6 stars.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stefandreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

I'm still amazed as I consider how wonderful this place was! Surrounded by cute kangaroos that love to be hand-fed carrots or grain. In the evening the wallabies and brush-tailed possums show up and can also be hand-fed.

Cottages are clean, comfortable, spacious, and include full kitchens. We were given a complimentary bottle of wine, jar of honey, and some chocolate. The owners, Paul and Katja, are just a phone call away, but otherwise left us alone to enjoy the tranquility of the area. The view from the porch, beyond the wildlife, is out to the Stokes' Bay and glorious sunsets.

Just a 10-minute walk down the hill are eucalyptus trees where we spotted red parrots, rainbow lorikeets, and were delighted to find three koalas! Five minutes walk further is the rock tunnel to the beautiful beach. The rock tunnel is actually a passageway through large boulders and a fun access to this beach that has a protected area for swimming and open surf to play in the waves or fish.

The owners still own the Paul's Place Wildlife Park. Though it's not open to the public, Paul will welcome guests who prearrange to see and hold his birds, python, and adorable koalas at no extra charge(though donations are accepted).

Though we've stayed at places more extravagant and fancy, no place has ever been better than Waves & Wildlife for such a spectacular experience of wildlife, beach, and very comfortable lodgings all for a very reasonable price of around $100(American) per night. In my opinion, it's worth double what they charge!

Room Tip: The cottages are offset so the one below you won't block your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MtRainierDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

This location was perfect for our visit to KI. We stayed for 2 nights and found our cottage was exactly what we wanted. It is 5 minutes walk away from the gorgeous Stokes Bay beach and i cant even tell you how many kangaroos we saw at dusk! One morning we woke up to about 6 kangaroos outside our decking, it was amazing. Paul let us check in early at no extra cost and left us a lovely welcome note with a bottle of wine, some KI honey and milk and eggs in the fridge. Had a great stay and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nikki2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokes Bay
53.1 km away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
39 km away
Aurora Ozone Hotel
Aurora Ozone Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kingscote
919 reviews
53.9 km away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.6 km away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
411 reviews
53.9 km away
Casuarina Coastal Units
Casuarina Coastal Units
#2 of 2 in American River
36 reviews
38.9 km away
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves and Wildlife Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves and Wildlife Cottages

Address: 1-8 North Coast Road, Stokes Bay, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Stokes Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Stokes Bay
Price Range: RM 413 - RM 565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waves and Wildlife Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully self contained one and three bedroom Seaside Cottages on the north coast of Kangaroo Island. If you are planning a holiday to Kangaroo Island, please contact us anytime, Paul has lived here all his life and we are more than happy to help you plan an itinerary to make the most of your stay. Cottages are set on 80 acres bordering Stokes Bay beach and being revegetated, providing sanctuary to abundant wildlife including kangaroos, wallabies, birds, echidnas, and the occasional koala discovering our newly planted gums. Pods of dolphins and resident pelicans are also sighted often at Stokes Bay. Property features· Great swimming beach with safe natural rockpool for children· Central location· Neighbours Lathami National Park – home to the rare Glossy Black Cockatoo· Boatramp – 500 meters away Each Cottage features· Magnificent ocean views· Fully equipped kitchen· Queen beds· Gas heating and Ceiling fans· BBQ· TV, DVD, Video· Phone· DVDs, Toys and Games available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Waves and Wildlife Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing