We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper thin walls...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in South Bend
Reviewed 17 September 2017

If you are looking for a good nights sleep...stay somewhere else. How this hotel has 3 star rating is beyond me. I guess you can buy it. Maybe because it has a open toilet for a swimming pool? Remember that this is a college town and those millennials don't give a hoot about slamming doors or blasting the TVs until 5:00 AM. Worst hotel I have stayed at in a long time. A real 3 star DUMP. Oh - the breakfast included - continental on Styrofoam plates. Pathetic.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

5 - 9 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

Many folks stay here during football games or because they are visiting the university. I was visiting during a Cheer Team championship. Surprisingly, not noisy! Maybe the girls were too tired to run around the halls after their tryouts. But, this was an average room with a noisy A/C unit, in a rundown looking hotel. Way too expensive for what you got. The staff was really nice and helpful. Other than that, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpal4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We checked into the hotel in the late afternoon after driving from Chicago - the front desk clerk seemed put-out to check us in. After 15 minutes we headed around back to Building 7 to get into the room. The room was dirty - stained carpets, musty smell and stains in the bathroom. There was no way we could stay in the room. I went back to the front desk and spoke to the clerk - this is the dialogue,
"Checking in?"
"No, already did that"
"Your key won't work?"
"No, it worked fine."
"What can I help you with?"
I explained that the room was disgusting and that we were checking out. He gave me two business cards, one for the GM, and one for the head of cleaning. He then told me the property was for sale and asked if I wanted to buy it. He continued and told me the bank owned the property and the staff members were working for the bank.
He told me to call the GM and ask for a refund - in that my wife booked it through Hotels.com he wouldn't be able to refund any money at that moment. We packed all of our stuff and checked into the hotel that shares and adjacent parking lot with Waterford.
After yelling at a manager for Hotels.com we were able to get half of the money refunded.
Avoid this place at all costs and don't book through Hotels.com - call the hotels directly.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We stayed here for a lacrosse tournament and I will not stay here again. The bathroom in our room was dirty, there were stains on the toilet. The hotel decor was seriously outdated and the carpet looked dirty. We just got the feeling we were staying in a hotel that was not worth the money we had to pay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P246YRmichaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for a hockey tournament with children and was thoroughly disgusted. Most of our team left after one night. Stains everywhere. Women felt unsafe because outside doors to the rooms were unlocked or would not lock. I can go on and on. It was that bad.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank bcohen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Bend hotels
12.9 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 31 in South Bend
118 reviews
1.4 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham South Bend / At Notre Dame
1 km away
Holiday Inn Express  South Bend / Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Staybridge Suites South Bend - University Area
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites University Area
5.9 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#14 of 31 in South Bend
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend

Address: 52890 SR 933 North, South Bend, IN 46637 (Formerly Ramada Inn - South Bend)
Region: United States > Indiana > South Bend
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in South Bend
Price Range: RM 286 - RM 755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the airport, in South Bend, this hotel is close to St. Mary's College, Hesburgh Library, and University of Notre Dame. Also nearby are Snite Museum and Basilica of the Sacred Heart. PLEASE NOTE: The indoor pool will be closed from July 27- August 7. Waterford Estates Lodge features an indoor/outdoor pool(seasonal) and spa. Other amenities include a complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary wireless Internet access. The Bend Pub & Grill is open for dinner Wednesday-Saturday starting at 4pm. Guestrooms have refrigerators,microwaves,air conditioning,and complimentary wireless Internet access. Minimum check-in age is 21. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterford Estates Lodge South Bend Hotel South Bend
Waterford Estate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing