We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was treated like a criminal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport
Ranked #39 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Was treated like a criminal”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Drove in from Houston then thru Chicago to pick up my mother on a family emergency in Des Moines. Stop at Motel 6 on Fleur Drive, looking for a place comfortable for me and my family to stay. Upon check-in the clerk had a short delay in assisting me but later explained she was having pc problems, by the am the staff changed and became really rude. I sent my son up to get towels and he was questioned about the purpose of our trip and who was with us?!!! thats not the end ... i just dont feel like telling the whole story .its alot to type and explain.. but i was told by the office that I called them out of their names.They was plenty of racial profiling was going on from the staff there. But it ended with the stafff Nanette, kicking me and my kids out and as she said Gladly giving me my money back. Nanette, I never cussed you, but you cant talk to smart people how you want too. Motel 6 is all you will every have sweetie.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoustonKia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    8
    8
    16
    26
See reviews for
16
11
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Efficient and friendly staff, clean rooms, and the staff was right on the ball getting the driveway salted after an early-morning freezing rain. Typical Motel 6, great place to stay if traveling with dogs. Close to the IA state fairgrounds.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSKALOOSA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

So I know Motel 6 is a cheap motel, but there are certain standards that should be in place. The Airport Motel 6 in Des Moines was dirty and the walls were paper thin. I was kept up most of the night by neighbors next to me and above me. The front desk worker was sick. She was sneezing in her hands and then touching stuff without washing first. I was glad to get out of there. I'm not normally one to complain much. I tend to stay in cheap places like this, so I know what I'm up against. However, this place was just bad.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbohlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed with friends there for a night on the town. The place was clean hot water. Just what we needed.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I drove in from Houston and immediately drove around the hotel to check it out. I then went inside and asked if I could see the room I would be staying in. The clerk, Katie, had absolutely no problem showing me the room. It was immaculate. I also asked two different guests if they were happy with their rooms, they said yes. (I check all the hotels I stay in very well for bugs, hair, and unsanitary issues. My room was great! Clean, cable works, internet connection was good, and the hotel is within walking distance of a huge grocery store, a sit down family restaurant, gas station, Walgreens, and a small plaza of other stores and other places to eat.

For the price it was perfect. I will definitely stay here again on my way back to Texas from Minneapolis.

Room Tip: Room 206 is perfect for a couple or a single person or two friends (one bed).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mymarvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
0.4 km away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#33 of 48 in Des Moines
146 reviews
0.2 km away
Days Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
0.2 km away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Airport
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn - Airport Conference Center
1.7 km away
Ramada Des Moines Airport
Ramada Des Moines Airport
#15 of 48 in Des Moines
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport

Property: Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport
Address: 4817 Fleur Dr, Des Moines, IA 50321-2825
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 48 Hotels in Des Moines
Price range (per night): RM239 - RM346
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 Des Moines South - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Moines Motel 6
Des Moines Motel Six
Motel 6 Des Moines
Motel Six Des Moines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing