We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Travel Inn Hotel(Simpson Bay)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turquoise Shell Inn(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$145
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$278
US$128
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

L'Esperance Hotel(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azure Hotel & Art Studio(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Divi Little Bay Beach Resort(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$70
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (963)
Filter reviews
963 results
Traveller rating
427
375
93
34
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
375
93
34
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barwithin walking distancesimpson baycabana restaurantgrocery storefull kitchenliving roomst maartenyacht clubmega yachtspineapplerented a carskip jackstime shareclose to the airporton site restaurantsmall pool
Filter
Updating list...
747 - 752 of 963 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Overall the resort is kept up and rooms are large and clean. However, the owners, Diamond Resorts, now rent out the lounge space to outside concerns and they have regular entertainment almost every night and karoke is always on the agenda. It is extremely loud and goes on past midnight. If you have a room near the center of the resort the noise will definitely keep you awake. The management moved us to another room which was very nice of them. We have been owners of Diamond Resort points and have always gone to either Royal Palm or Flamingo because they are the only resorts they own in St Maarten. We recently purchased a 3 bedroom condo on Dawn Beach and will be relinquishing our points which we are thrilled about since the maintenance is extremely high. If you like noise and busy streets and not a very nice beach (Royal Palm's is manmade with lots of rocks in the water) then it isn't a bad place but after staying at Dawn Beach it is so much nicer!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandCNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My boyfriend and I spent a week at Royal Palm Beach Resort on Simpson Bay in Saint Martin and had a lovely time. The rooms were nicer than we expected and the staff was pleasant. Given that we visited in May, the resort wasn't too busy and the majority of the guests were between 35 and 65 years old. There are plenty of restaurants, clubs, a supermarket, attractions within walking distance of the hotel for those who like to get out. The views were stunning and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We just returned from 7 days at the Royal Palm. Overall we were happy with the resort. We had a 3 BR/BA unit for 4 nights and a 2BR for 3. The 3BR was nicer overall, larger TVs, more spacious living area. Everything needed was within easy walking distance but we did rent a car for a few days from the agent in the lobby. The pool was small as others have noted, and often was over-run with children. The lobby is very non-descript - this is not a luxurious place but it was clean and comfortable. The full kitchen was well-equipped for basic cooking, with granite counters. The sleeper sofa had a thin, uncomfortable mattress, the bedroom beds/bedding were good. There were some maintenance issues - patio doors in both units were difficult to open, dishwashers needed minor repairs, external roof/sheathing visible from rooms had unrepaired damage.

The island is small with few major roads. Traffic was terrible on occasion but most of the tme not too bad. Roads are narrow and poorly marked, we saw no traffic lights at all, drivers are fearless in pulling in front of other cars in traffic. Make sure to document the dents on your rental car, we had 3 and all had body damage. The Royal Palms is very close to the airport and a short drive to Phillipsburg.

This was our 1st time to St Maarten, we enjoyed Orient Beach and Captain Alan's snorkel trip the most. The beaches were nice but in general the island was pretty trashy, poorly kept properties, run down and abandoned buildings. We never felt unsafe but were very careful about ensuring our car was locked and that nothing of value was left unattended. The french side seemed to be marginally better than the dutch - less populated and crowded. As has been noted elsewhere, there were a lot of mosquitos. We bought spray the first afternoon we were there and used it often but still came home with bites.

We've been to a few places in the caribbean, it's unlikely we would return here any time soon. The locals seemed friendly enough but service was very lackluster. Prices for food/drink were reasonable. There were some very pretty views on the island but nothing spectacular. Snorkeling was pretty good, we saw rays, turtles and some fish - but again not awesome. There were roamers on the beaches selling massages, sarongs, hats, trips and the multiple solicitations became annoying over time. The infrastructure seemed in poor condition, there were multiple power outages while we were there, poor drainage on the roads, graffiti. That said, we loved just hanging out at the beach - we did enjoy ourselves and have no regrets over the visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IMDamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

This was a great spot, with a great location. Just got backed and booked for next year for 10 days. Very clean, great pool and beach, and many great places to eat all within walking distance. Need a car to get around island.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgsu1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We stayed at the Royal Palm for the past 10 days and literally just got off the plane back home. Our stay was very pleasant, not too much to complain or brag about. Our check-in went seamlessly, the staff were courteous but not warm and fuzzy (that seems the way of this Island) I did find the rooms to be clean except for the little things like light switches, door handles ( I am a bit of a clean freak) and our shower had a bit of a musty smell, but nothing that would ruin my holiday. The 2 bedroom space was spacious and came equipped with just about everything we needed. We are not the type to make our own meals on a holiday so the kitchen was used for blender drinks and coffee and toast in the morning. The views and the beach are spectacular, and it is fun to watch the million dollar yachts go by the resort everyday, just taunting us with their lifestyle :)
We used our timeshare points and would say that it is a great place to stay, situated among many restaurants and beach bars and great access to the airport. If I were to visit St Maarten again, we would not hesitate to book the Royal Palm.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank houndcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews