We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse 8602”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Just returned from 8 days in Paradise with 4 girlfriends. Rented Penthouse 8602 (6th floor middle). It was awesome, so much room and beautifully decorated, even washer and dryer. Right across street from restaurants (favorite Skip Jack's). Also went to Zee Best for breakfast three times. Took GB Express ferry to Anguilla and picked it up right across bridge at Police Station. Will return to St. Maarten and will rent from Rene Tringali again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathyYoung49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 750 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2011

Overall the resort is kept up and rooms are large and clean. However, the owners, Diamond Resorts, now rent out the lounge space to outside concerns and they have regular entertainment almost every night and karoke is always on the agenda. It is extremely loud and goes on past midnight. If you have a room near the center of the resort the noise will definitely keep you awake. The management moved us to another room which was very nice of them. We have been owners of Diamond Resort points and have always gone to either Royal Palm or Flamingo because they are the only resorts they own in St Maarten. We recently purchased a 3 bedroom condo on Dawn Beach and will be relinquishing our points which we are thrilled about since the maintenance is extremely high. If you like noise and busy streets and not a very nice beach (Royal Palm's is manmade with lots of rocks in the water) then it isn't a bad place but after staying at Dawn Beach it is so much nicer!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandCNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My boyfriend and I spent a week at Royal Palm Beach Resort on Simpson Bay in Saint Martin and had a lovely time. The rooms were nicer than we expected and the staff was pleasant. Given that we visited in May, the resort wasn't too busy and the majority of the guests were between 35 and 65 years old. There are plenty of restaurants, clubs, a supermarket, attractions within walking distance of the hotel for those who like to get out. The views were stunning and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We just returned from 7 days at the Royal Palm. Overall we were happy with the resort. We had a 3 BR/BA unit for 4 nights and a 2BR for 3. The 3BR was nicer overall, larger TVs, more spacious living area. Everything needed was within easy walking distance but we did rent a car for a few days from the agent in the lobby. The pool was small as others have noted, and often was over-run with children. The lobby is very non-descript - this is not a luxurious place but it was clean and comfortable. The full kitchen was well-equipped for basic cooking, with granite counters. The sleeper sofa had a thin, uncomfortable mattress, the bedroom beds/bedding were good. There were some maintenance issues - patio doors in both units were difficult to open, dishwashers needed minor repairs, external roof/sheathing visible from rooms had unrepaired damage.

The island is small with few major roads. Traffic was terrible on occasion but most of the tme not too bad. Roads are narrow and poorly marked, we saw no traffic lights at all, drivers are fearless in pulling in front of other cars in traffic. Make sure to document the dents on your rental car, we had 3 and all had body damage. The Royal Palms is very close to the airport and a short drive to Phillipsburg.

This was our 1st time to St Maarten, we enjoyed Orient Beach and Captain Alan's snorkel trip the most. The beaches were nice but in general the island was pretty trashy, poorly kept properties, run down and abandoned buildings. We never felt unsafe but were very careful about ensuring our car was locked and that nothing of value was left unattended. The french side seemed to be marginally better than the dutch - less populated and crowded. As has been noted elsewhere, there were a lot of mosquitos. We bought spray the first afternoon we were there and used it often but still came home with bites.

We've been to a few places in the caribbean, it's unlikely we would return here any time soon. The locals seemed friendly enough but service was very lackluster. Prices for food/drink were reasonable. There were some very pretty views on the island but nothing spectacular. Snorkeling was pretty good, we saw rays, turtles and some fish - but again not awesome. There were roamers on the beaches selling massages, sarongs, hats, trips and the multiple solicitations became annoying over time. The infrastructure seemed in poor condition, there were multiple power outages while we were there, poor drainage on the roads, graffiti. That said, we loved just hanging out at the beach - we did enjoy ourselves and have no regrets over the visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IMDamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

This was a great spot, with a great location. Just got backed and booked for next year for 10 days. Very clean, great pool and beach, and many great places to eat all within walking distance. Need a car to get around island.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgsu1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cole Bay
0.4 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
8.2 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.3 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
9.3 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,816 reviews
4.0 km away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range: RM608 - RM1,717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing