We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VACATION!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband, daughter (age 9) and myself had a wonderful stay at the Royal Palm. Everyone who worked there was very friendly and very helpful. Our room was really nice. Everything was in working order....I think maybe one light bulb was out in the master bedroom. No big deal. The shower head is small and not much pressure, so if you have long hair, plan on spending a few more minutes in the shower. Again, no big deal. We had a 2 bed, 2 bath and felt it was very spacious. Third floor was wonderful with a spectacular view. The hotel is in a prime spot. You can walk to plenty of restaurants if you wanted. We experienced some really nice ones....Izi, Tutta Pasta, Saratoga,and Skipjack's. Pizza Galley had really good pizza and we all loved The Carousel for ice cream. The Market Garden grocery store was a stone's throw and had everything I needed.....even Organic Lactaid milk! It's very lively in Simpson Bay and that's what we liked. There are so many restaurants tucked away behind other things, so ask around. If we hadn't met other people who had gone there numerous times, we wouldn't have ever found these hidden treasures. Rent a car and go to other beaches. We loved Orient Bay and Mullet Bay. Go to Sunset Beach Bar and watch the planes come in and land. If you have the chance, go over to Pinel Island for a day. We can't wait to go back. There is plenty to do and see on this little island!

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. Best views are from the 3rd floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 695 of 963 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

We (7 adults) stayed at the Royal Palm Beach for the 2nd week of April. All of the staff was helpfull and friendly, except the bartender at the pool, he was a bit of a stick in the mud. Pool was good, beach was great, water was a bit rocky, bring water shoes. I rented a phone from the shop attached to the hotel, although it was a good deal the woman who worked there obviously hated her job. Lot's of local restaurants, try Skip Jacks and the Mexican place over the bridge. Be careful, the locals will try to take your money if they think they can get away with it. A bus driver told us we owed $5 per person when the bus fairs are $1.50. When you go to eat don't be in a hurry, local service is very slow. Beaches are great.
The hotel room was very nice, we will go back again and stay at the Royal Palm.

Room Tip: Higher floors don't allow people to look into your room from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank richpaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We are 55+ years of age and spent 2 weeks at Royal Palm. Loved our holiday on Saint-Martin. The condo is well equipped to cook; the bathrooms have all the toiletries. You get maid service every 3-4 days which is more than enough. We loved the fact that the WiFi was only in the lobby - we got out to enjoy the island every day.
The clientele are mostly timeshare owners, 70+ years old and people on their 20th ++ stay at this resort. The timeshare offers a few activities for adults which are not well attended ie. aqua-aerobics, salsa lessons. It is usually quiet and relaxing at the pool and the beach. One BIG relief for us was that there is NO towel game here. People use their loungers or free them up for others to use. Thank You !!!
Also, keep your windows closed to avoid bugs. If you move into a unit with bugs, ask management to spray. There is a free shuttle van to Flamingo Resort, on Pelican Point, upon request. It is not advertised. There has to be a restaurant and entertainment to suit everyone within walking distance of the Royal Palm. We tried many & were never disappointed. We would highly recommend " The Taste Factory" for french pastries and excellent coffees, the Aqua-Mania Monday night 1 1/2 hour sunset cruise for $15 which leaves from the Pelican Marina.
We used the public vans (the bus system) most of the time. Ask someone local to explain the system and use it. $2 gets you into Philipsburg. $1.50 got us to Mullet Beach, our absolute favourite beach !!! We went to Marigot on market day (Wednesday or Saturday) using the bus ($1 to the KFC roundabout + $1.50 to Marigot)
We also rented a small car for 3 days to visit the nice French restaurants and their beaches. I'm not sure about seasonal rates for car rentals nor what others paid, but we paid $44 US/day including liability insurance as it is not covered by credit cards.
We did not have to pay a $30 departure tax, nor did we pay a $5 airport facility fee.
OK, the truth : We only got consistent hot water in our condo 2 of the 14 days. The whole east wing of the building was affected. Management did all they could to ease the inconvenience so they still are worth 4 out of 5. We would return to this island and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: The first floor gives you direct access to the pool, the charcoal BBQs and beach, but no rear view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank belleamie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Our unit overlooked the bay, it appears that they all do. It was a spacious 2 bed on the fourth floor with two good bathrooms and a very well equipped kitchen. The beds were comfortable and the room clean even if the decor looked a little tired (but this did not detract from our holiday). Plenty of towels and a free pool towel system operated - much appreciated. The grounds are well maintained and beautifully planted. The people are welcoming, friendly and attentive. There appeared to be no Concierge and the advice given on local activities sometimes lacked the accuracy that we would have liked but we cannot fault their attention to our needs.
We chose not to eat on site but made use of the many restaurants in the neighbourhood (the resort is on the 'tourist strip'). Trip Advisor guided us well - in short for breakfasts/light lunches we heartily recommend 'A Piece of Cake' and for evening meals 'Karakter' on Simpson Bay (we used several other places and always ate well). There is a large supermarket a short walk from the resort and lots of other shops in the locality.
We did not hire a car choosing to walk, use taxis and the local bus system (very cheap). This worked well for us but we are all reasonably fit and used to walking. It can be done!
We had a relaxing holiday using the lovely pool on site (never crowded) and swimming in the sea. We also went snorkelling with Octopus Diving, visited Marigot, Phillipsburg and Loterie Farm (a wonderful day and lovely food!). ALL worth doing and recommended.
In short this was a wonderful holiday and lived up to our expectations.

Room Tip: Suggest a room on the third or fourth floor to benefit from the view over the bay. Although some gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WaltonSmiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our family of four (My husband and I, my son Alex age 23, and our daughter Kait age 17 just spent a week in HEAVEN on Simpson Bay, St. Maarten!!! I am usually not crazy about staying in condos on vaca, as it turns into too much like home (i.e. cooking and cleaning up after everyone!!) but this experience was WONDERFUL!!! All of the units at Royal Palm are full ocean view, and out the front door, off that hallway, is Lagoon View. We requested a unit as high as possible based on other's reviews, and we were so thrilled with our 5th floor, 2 BR, 2 BA condo... This is truly a condo that could have COMFORTABLY slept 6 -- when we return we will probably either bring another couple or let the kids each bring a friend. The kitchen had granite countertops, up-to-date appliances, and all the utensils, glassware, cookware, etc that we could have ever needed! Happy Hours from 4-6 pm were lovely, that is when we splurged on drinks for $3 each, the rest of the time we had our own "bar" set up in our kitchen. We could walk to tons of restaurants in all price ranges; shopping; deli; grocery; excursion planning, etc. We did rent a car for the week which was fairly cheap and nice to have, but on a future trip I feel we would only rent for 2 or 3 days to "beach hop" and see the French side of the island. We felt safe everywhere we went day and night and didn't run into more than two rude people the entire trip!!!

Room Tip: All suites DO truly have great ocean views, but my recommendation is ask for 4th floor or above, tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naomi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cole Bay
0.4 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.4 km away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
8.2 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
9.3 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
8.1 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Beach Resort

Address: 115 Welfare Road, Cole Bay 3035, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Cole Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cole Bay
Price Range: RM864 - RM2,117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palm Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Royal Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Beach Hotel Simpson Bay
Royal Palm St Maarten
Royal Palm Beach Club St Maarten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing