We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Travel Inn Hotel(Simpson Bay)
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turquoise Shell Inn(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Esperance Hotel(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$70
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (963)
Filter reviews
963 results
Traveller rating
427
375
93
34
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
375
93
34
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barwithin walking distancesimpson baycabana restaurantgrocery storefull kitchenliving roomst maartenmega yachtsrented a carskip jacksclose to the airporttime sharesmall poolfrench bakerywater aerobicspool area is
Filter
Updating list...
691 - 696 of 963 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We (7 adults) stayed at the Royal Palm Beach for the 2nd week of April. All of the staff was helpfull and friendly, except the bartender at the pool, he was a bit of a stick in the mud. Pool was good, beach was great, water was a bit rocky, bring water shoes. I rented a phone from the shop attached to the hotel, although it was a good deal the woman who worked there obviously hated her job. Lot's of local restaurants, try Skip Jacks and the Mexican place over the bridge. Be careful, the locals will try to take your money if they think they can get away with it. A bus driver told us we owed $5 per person when the bus fairs are $1.50. When you go to eat don't be in a hurry, local service is very slow. Beaches are great.
The hotel room was very nice, we will go back again and stay at the Royal Palm.

Room Tip: Higher floors don't allow people to look into your room from the beach.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank richpaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We are 55+ years of age and spent 2 weeks at Royal Palm. Loved our holiday on Saint-Martin. The condo is well equipped to cook; the bathrooms have all the toiletries. You get maid service every 3-4 days which is more than enough. We loved the fact that the WiFi was only in the lobby - we got out to enjoy the island every day.
The clientele are mostly timeshare owners, 70+ years old and people on their 20th ++ stay at this resort. The timeshare offers a few activities for adults which are not well attended ie. aqua-aerobics, salsa lessons. It is usually quiet and relaxing at the pool and the beach. One BIG relief for us was that there is NO towel game here. People use their loungers or free them up for others to use. Thank You !!!
Also, keep your windows closed to avoid bugs. If you move into a unit with bugs, ask management to spray. There is a free shuttle van to Flamingo Resort, on Pelican Point, upon request. It is not advertised. There has to be a restaurant and entertainment to suit everyone within walking distance of the Royal Palm. We tried many & were never disappointed. We would highly recommend " The Taste Factory" for french pastries and excellent coffees, the Aqua-Mania Monday night 1 1/2 hour sunset cruise for $15 which leaves from the Pelican Marina.
We used the public vans (the bus system) most of the time. Ask someone local to explain the system and use it. $2 gets you into Philipsburg. $1.50 got us to Mullet Beach, our absolute favourite beach !!! We went to Marigot on market day (Wednesday or Saturday) using the bus ($1 to the KFC roundabout + $1.50 to Marigot)
We also rented a small car for 3 days to visit the nice French restaurants and their beaches. I'm not sure about seasonal rates for car rentals nor what others paid, but we paid $44 US/day including liability insurance as it is not covered by credit cards.
We did not have to pay a $30 departure tax, nor did we pay a $5 airport facility fee.
OK, the truth : We only got consistent hot water in our condo 2 of the 14 days. The whole east wing of the building was affected. Management did all they could to ease the inconvenience so they still are worth 4 out of 5. We would return to this island and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: The first floor gives you direct access to the pool, the charcoal BBQs and beach, but no rear view at all, only a cement wall.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank belleamie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Our unit overlooked the bay, it appears that they all do. It was a spacious 2 bed on the fourth floor with two good bathrooms and a very well equipped kitchen. The beds were comfortable and the room clean even if the decor looked a little tired (but this did not detract from our holiday). Plenty of towels and a free pool towel system operated - much appreciated. The grounds are well maintained and beautifully planted. The people are welcoming, friendly and attentive. There appeared to be no Concierge and the advice given on local activities sometimes lacked the accuracy that we would have liked but we cannot fault their attention to our needs.
We chose not to eat on site but made use of the many restaurants in the neighbourhood (the resort is on the 'tourist strip'). Trip Advisor guided us well - in short for breakfasts/light lunches we heartily recommend 'A Piece of Cake' and for evening meals 'Karakter' on Simpson Bay (we used several other places and always ate well). There is a large supermarket a short walk from the resort and lots of other shops in the locality.
We did not hire a car choosing to walk, use taxis and the local bus system (very cheap). This worked well for us but we are all reasonably fit and used to walking. It can be done!
We had a relaxing holiday using the lovely pool on site (never crowded) and swimming in the sea. We also went snorkelling with Octopus Diving, visited Marigot, Phillipsburg and Loterie Farm (a wonderful day and lovely food!). ALL worth doing and recommended.
In short this was a wonderful holiday and lived up to our expectations.

Room Tip: Suggest a room on the third or fourth floor to benefit from the view over the bay. Although some ground (first) floor rooms away from the reception area appear to have good views too.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WaltonSmiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Our family of four (My husband and I, my son Alex age 23, and our daughter Kait age 17 just spent a week in HEAVEN on Simpson Bay, St. Maarten!!! I am usually not crazy about staying in condos on vaca, as it turns into too much like home (i.e. cooking and cleaning up after everyone!!) but this experience was WONDERFUL!!! All of the units at Royal Palm are full ocean view, and out the front door, off that hallway, is Lagoon View. We requested a unit as high as possible based on other's reviews, and we were so thrilled with our 5th floor, 2 BR, 2 BA condo... This is truly a condo that could have COMFORTABLY slept 6 -- when we return we will probably either bring another couple or let the kids each bring a friend. The kitchen had granite countertops, up-to-date appliances, and all the utensils, glassware, cookware, etc that we could have ever needed! Happy Hours from 4-6 pm were lovely, that is when we splurged on drinks for $3 each, the rest of the time we had our own "bar" set up in our kitchen. We could walk to tons of restaurants in all price ranges; shopping; deli; grocery; excursion planning, etc. We did rent a car for the week which was fairly cheap and nice to have, but on a future trip I feel we would only rent for 2 or 3 days to "beach hop" and see the French side of the island. We felt safe everywhere we went day and night and didn't run into more than two rude people the entire trip!!!

Room Tip: All suites DO truly have great ocean views, but my recommendation is ask for 4th floor or above, towards the west end of the wing to enjoy the fabulous sunsets every night!!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naomi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

If you are looking for a RESORT, this is NOT the place you want to stay at. If you want a place to stay, that is on the BEACH with a decent pool then this is it. We booked a 2/2 oceanview and we got rm 116, that is a mostly pool/a peek of the ocean view room. It was convenient for us bc we hv 2 small children and we could bascially watch them from the balcony. The pool restaurant/ bar is expensive to eat at. A chicken sandwich with fries is $10. Theres a subway within walking distance but be careful bc there arent any sidewalks. Drivers are not very friendly towards pedestrians. Back to the room, you may want to bring a pair of house slippers to wear bc the tiles were dirty when we arrived there. The mosquitos are VICIOUS so bring bug spray. Try not to leave the slider back door open bc they will come in at all times of the day and eat you alive. The beach is very small but it was never crowded. WIFI is only available in the lobby. Other than those little things, my family and I had a great time. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: The smaller the number the closer it is to the lobby. The lobby isnt noisy though. Also the closer you are to the lobby the further away you are from the beach.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boridorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews