We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Thornton House Bed and Breakfast(Lansing)(Great Value!)
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brisbois Motor Inn(Prairie du Chien)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$49
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Prairie Du Chien(Prairie du Chien)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Midway Motel(Viroqua)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
River District Hotel(Prairie du Chien)
US$145
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hari Holiday Motel(Prairie du Chien)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
5
2
2
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
2
2
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We just stayed at the River View Inn over the Labor Day weekend when we were on a motorcycle trip with a small group. It worked perfectly for us. We took over the entire inn and had the option of using two nice sized decks, both overlooking the Mississippi with a beautiful view of the bridge joining the IA side to the Wisconsin side. The rooms were all spacious and clean. The Penthouse worked perfectly as a gathering spot for meals. I dealt with the River Inn staff only via email. They were available should they be needed but were never seen...you really felt like you owned the place while you were there. They just added a nice parking lot next to the Inn. You may hear a train go by and likely a barge or two on the river, but it only added to the charm. The town of Lansing is charming with fun little shops and some great dining. Mcheckmout The Safe House Saloon for great pizza and entertaining staff and do not miss exploring Horsfalls variety stores..two store a block or less apart. If one store doesn't have what you are looking for, the other one will..

Room Tip: Penthouse had the best views, but all rooms had acces to a deck overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wolfedjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Someone below complained about the train. It is true the train track runs right along front street, which is just a few feet from the Inn. You want to make sure your car is parked off the white line that shows how wide the train will be, some guy with a long bed truck wasn't that smart while we were there. Because I knew the train tracks were there, the noise from them did not bother us. The scenic back deck (great to eat bakery goodies from the local bakery in the morning) the reasonable rates, the HUGE bathroom. I would definitely stay again and recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the train, pick Dock Suite or Hunters.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Azona50036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

We rented the penthouse room 9-2015. The view of the river was amazing. It was probably too big but the other rooms were rented. However can you complain about too much space? I think not. I had read some complaints about the trains. True the trains are right on top of you and blow their horn but the 3 nights we were there we counted 3 trains each night. One time you can get up and use the bathroom. Next time ...well your on a romantic getaway and you are both awake you might as well..... The third train just go back to sleep. Unless you are both awake again :) The town was nice. Some very nice places to eat. Just don't go to the Rivers Edge. That place was terrible and bad service. Go to Milty's. Ate there several times. Very good and very good service. A few too many loud motorcycles go through town. Nice park to walk to with a river view. It's a hike to get up the hill but a great way to get into shape. If the hike is tough on you take the car. Great views at the top. I would for sure go back again. WIFI did not work. Did I mention the river view?? Very nice!

Room Tip: Penthouse is great
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Troy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We rented some rooms (Hunters Lodge and Dock Suite) for our grown kids at the River View Inn. We didn't know what to expect and were pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. We had children, babies and dogs with us and it worked well for all. The rooms are comfortable and roomy. Hardwood floors and large windows were so nice. I would classify this as a unique and eclectic place to stay for those who love adventure. With Lansing being a little fishing town, the Inn is a great addition that fits the vibe.

It was right on the Mississippi - the sunrise was spectacular. You can also see the Blackhawk Bridge, as everyone has access to the iron balcony at the back of the Inn. Be prepared to hear trains at night as the track in just feet from the front of the motel but my kids assured me it added to the charm. We thought there should be some kind of "door" to the 2 bedrooms in Hunters Lodge but we made it work. Would stay there again!

Room Tip: Accessibility is limited as there are no ground floor rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Zoekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2014

The Riverview Inn has a very unique history and accommodations. It was originally a grain elevator that is on the historic registry. The entire inn is clean and has vast amounts of character.The penthouse is two levels and can accommodate 6+ guests. Has very large kitchen and dining room. There are decks on both levels. The other rooms are also nice and all have access to beautiful decks overlooking the Majestic Mississippi. Free Wi-Fi. Great exercise with the steps. Great shopping & restaurants nearby. The view.....priceless.

Room Tip: Penthouse has it all!
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Victory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews