We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River View Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brisbois Motor Inn(Prairie du Chien)
US$54
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Prairie Du Chien(Prairie du Chien)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Midway Motel(Viroqua)(Great Value!)
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$122
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hari Holiday Motel(Prairie du Chien)
US$85
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
River District Hotel(Prairie du Chien)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
5
2
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
2
2
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2017

The lights worked intermittently in kitchen; either the switch or the ballast was going. Floors were dirty.
Carpet was dirty and stained. One lamp on one of the night stands did not work.
The sheets had multiple hairs on them and were stained.
Soap dispenser in the bath did not work. The little danby/Walmart room size ac could hardly cool the west facing room.
The furniture looked like something they pulled out of grandma's basement after 20 years (wobbly, chipped, dirty, etc.)
Overall it was dirty and dingy. If you are looking for a biker flop house or a hunting/fishing shed than this works.
(by the way my hunting cabin in the U.P. is cleaner than this)
Should have got a clue when there were multiple warnings on the wall about cleaning you fish and game in the room.
We sat there for 15 minutes huddled in front of the little room ac trying to cool ourselves and decided to go somewhere else.
It was just too dirty and dingy and there was no way we were going to sleep on those sheets.
To their credit the owner/manager let us leave and did not charge us.

View is great. Location right downtown if you want to be in the middle of things but increased noise (bikers, dump trucks, etc.)
and parking is a challenge especially with the bait shop downstairs. Staff was very nice and issued our no charge promptly.
Price was nice. Historical.

Room Tip: Stay Away form this place please
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We have been staying here for several years now, best place to stay with best prices in town!! Beautiful views, sport/bait shop downstairs and walking distance to all restaurants and shopping!! I love the town and people in this picturesque city!! Summertime it's a hopping city with so many local events and things to do, winter is my favorite time of the year there! Ice fishing, ice climbing, cross country skiing or just enjoying the beautiful white covered landscape!

We stayed in the Hunters lodge last weekend. 2 bedrooms, large family room with cable TV, free internet, microwave, fridge, silverware, plates and cups. Large bathroom with plenty of towels provided! Also a 3rd room off the 2nd bedroom! Best of all the Views!!!

Yes there is a set of tracks through town, however, this place was built in the 1800's solid brick! We only heard one train during the night and just barely!

The River View now has a Bait/sports shop downstairs!! A BIG plus for us fisher/hunter people!!

With everything walking distance, you can park for the weekend and never start the car again! Or spend the day driving around and taking in the sights!

We love ice fishing!! Some of the best ice fishing spots right there near town! Stay for the comfort and beautiful views, get out and walk around town to visit great people and great shopping!

Room Tip: The Penthouse suite has the most room for large groups and is farthest from the tracks, but all rooms have a great view!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Skimmer2065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We just stayed at the River View Inn over the Labor Day weekend when we were on a motorcycle trip with a small group. It worked perfectly for us. We took over the entire inn and had the option of using two nice sized decks, both overlooking the Mississippi with a beautiful view of the bridge joining the IA side to the Wisconsin side. The rooms were all spacious and clean. The Penthouse worked perfectly as a gathering spot for meals. I dealt with the River Inn staff only via email. They were available should they be needed but were never seen...you really felt like you owned the place while you were there. They just added a nice parking lot next to the Inn. You may hear a train go by and likely a barge or two on the river, but it only added to the charm. The town of Lansing is charming with fun little shops and some great dining. Mcheckmout The Safe House Saloon for great pizza and entertaining staff and do not miss exploring Horsfalls variety stores..two store a block or less apart. If one store doesn't have what you are looking for, the other one will..

Room Tip: Penthouse had the best views, but all rooms had acces to a deck overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank wolfedjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Someone below complained about the train. It is true the train track runs right along front street, which is just a few feet from the Inn. You want to make sure your car is parked off the white line that shows how wide the train will be, some guy with a long bed truck wasn't that smart while we were there. Because I knew the train tracks were there, the noise from them did not bother us. The scenic back deck (great to eat bakery goodies from the local bakery in the morning) the reasonable rates, the HUGE bathroom. I would definitely stay again and recommend to everyone!

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the train, pick Dock Suite or Hunters.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Azona50036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

We rented the penthouse room 9-2015. The view of the river was amazing. It was probably too big but the other rooms were rented. However can you complain about too much space? I think not. I had read some complaints about the trains. True the trains are right on top of you and blow their horn but the 3 nights we were there we counted 3 trains each night. One time you can get up and use the bathroom. Next time ...well your on a romantic getaway and you are both awake you might as well..... The third train just go back to sleep. Unless you are both awake again :) The town was nice. Some very nice places to eat. Just don't go to the Rivers Edge. That place was terrible and bad service. Go to Milty's. Ate there several times. Very good and very good service. A few too many loud motorcycles go through town. Nice park to walk to with a river view. It's a hike to get up the hill but a great way to get into shape. If the hike is tough on you take the car. Great views at the top. I would for sure go back again. WIFI did not work. Did I mention the river view?? Very nice!

Room Tip: Penthouse is great
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Troy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews